We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Complete Tranquility” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Centara Villas Phuket

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Centara Villas Phuket
Ranked #30 of 132 Hotels in Karon
Certificate of Excellence
Mississauga, Canada
Level Contributor
264 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Complete Tranquility”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2014

Stayed at the Centara Villas after a few days in Bangkok as we knew the down time would be much needed. We had a pool villa (which I think is a must) and spent much of our days just sitting by or swimming in our own pool. Having the evening cocktails and canapes was a nice touch. Everything is incredibly affordable, including room service. Food was great, staff were INCREDIBLY friendly. Loved this hotel. The only downside was that there seemed be a mouse that kept getting into our bathroom and it was difficult to translate what the problem was to the staff. Slight disappointment in the overall experience but we did have the very last villa on the bottom row, so were very secluded and apart from everyone else. Views were breathtaking, quick walk to the beach. Relaxation at its best.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Slavik84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Centaravillasphuket, Manager at Centara Villas Phuket, responded to this review, 6 March 2014
Dear Guest,
Thanks for staying at Centara Villas Phuket.
We appreciate your feedback and take on board all your comments constructively.
I am delighted you enjoyed your overall stay and will work on our improvements.
Your feedback will be shared with the team.
kind regards
from the Centara Villas Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,060 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    513
    354
    117
    49
    27
See reviews for
109
700
32
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (225)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2014

We loved our stay! The villa was very private, we never heard other guests at any time and woke to a beautiful view from the veranda each morning. Comfortably furnished bedroom with large bathroom and walk-in shower. Breakfast taken on the hotel terrace was always a relaxing start to the day and we were well looked after by Pok the F&B manager who is a real asset to the hotel. Likewise, in the evenings we'd join other guests for happy hour to enjoy a cocktail and watch the sun go down followed by dinner on the terrace with that fabulous view, or venture into Karon to eat at one of the many restaurants. The position of the hotel suited us as we liked being on the hill and away from the noise of Karon but may not suit everyone - 200TB cab ride and you were in the centre. Both pools were lovely however, we did experience noise from building work to the pool cabin on a couple of occasions - in fact the manager visited the pool and we did mention to her that the timing of the work could have been carried out in a different period ie: not high season! The work did inconvenience guests as all sunbeds were empty. We visited the beach, a 5 minute walk through a tropical garden path. Finally, a mention for the spa run by Nang where we had the couples massage - brilliant! We'd recommend the hotel to all ages but especially adults, it's romantic and peaceful - just what you want from a holiday. We'll be back.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ClemmieUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Centaravillasphuket, Manager at Centara Villas Phuket, responded to this review, 6 March 2014
Dear Guest,
Thanks for staying at Centara Villas Phuket.
We appreciate your feedback and take on board all your comments constructively.
I am delighted you enjoyed your overall stay and will work on our improvements.
Your feedback will be shared with the team.
kind regards
from the Centara Villas Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2014 via mobile

Horrific place given that it is rated as a four and half star hotel
First rooms are furnished wih a two star furniture and the beds are like being in a dormitory!
Food was average and the service by staff was geared to other races other than Indians
For the amount of money spent on booking at this place , would recommend. Hilton over this one.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
4 Thank Aneeta P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Centaravillasphuket, Manager at Centara Villas Phuket, responded to this review, 5 March 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for staying with us at Centara Villas.
I am sorry to read of your disappointment.
We will work harder as a team to improve and hope one day you would return.
Safe Travels and thank you for your feedback
from the Centara Villas Phuket Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2014

We stayed in this hotel for a week after three days in Bangkok. What a relief after the ever busy Bangkok. Very decent villas sank in tropical greenery. Breathtaking sea views from every point of the hotel. Polite and helpful personal. There are two very exotic pools where you can have nice cocktails and even double them during the happy hour and enjoy the view above the bay and Karon beach. Would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank George T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Centaravillasphuket, Manager at Centara Villas Phuket, responded to this review, 5 March 2014
Dear Guest,
Thanks for your positive rating and kind comments.
We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future!
Safe Travels
from the Centara Villas Team!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2014

The end of a nice trip of mothers and daughters was topped off with our last stay in the villas. We had asked for nice place to stay at a beach in Phuket, money not really being too much of an object. Our agent booked us here. Looked ok on internet, however, beds were the worst I've ever stayed in, a thin mattress on platform, linens soiled and front desk staff the most unhelpful and condescending I've ever encountered in a resort hotel. We had traveled for 2 weeks in Thailand and Cambodia and had wonderful breakfast, but here it was less than average. I am 64 and could handle all the steps, though anyone with any physical issues might have a problem. I have to say that this last stay sort of left a bad taste in our mouths for our whole trip.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank crs332014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Centaravillasphuket, Manager at Centara Villas Phuket, responded to this review, 5 March 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for staying with us at Centara Villas.
I am sorry to read of your disappointment.
We will work harder as a team to improve and hope one day you would return.
Safe Travels and thank you for your feedback
from the Centara Villas Phuket Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2014

Yes I know, on a hill/cliff, steep steps to the lobby Edmund Hilary would of been proud to conquer, a long walk to Karon via the cliff path and in reality one way. Some of the staff haven't the best grasp of English. These aspects you can easily accept and live with, you can see by the website and reviews this is the case and of course it is Thailand. No issues there.
Moving on. If you read the reviews closely you will obviously no doubt deduce there two levels of rooms, shame I didn't endeavour to ascertain this prior to booking. The spa and pool rooms would appear to be quite nice, however ours and the majority are dated and desperately in need of renovation. The linen was marked and stained, clearly very old, a hard and uncomfortable bed, no duvet, just sheets. No a/c in bathroom, the shower, toilet, sink were badly stained, grubby and dated. The shower had no power and in general the bathroom was grubby with clear signs of leaking, not pleasant to use. Don't look behind the blinds!!
The décor is very old, the cupboards and wardrobe poor quality and dated, similar to residing in a 1950's prefabricated chalet. The view from the veranda was obscured by overgrown Palm leaves, which I cut down, although gardening is not my speciality.
The lock on room flimsy, doesnt fill you with confidence, leakage marks in wardrobes etc. and the a/c not particularly effective, god help you in August.
Very old buggies to foyer that had to wait on occasions 15 mins for, although 4 mins was a record and only having two, they will of course be busy.
We had building work in the lower pool area for the duration if our stay, they were knocking down the bar and replacing it. Unbelievable, complained about it and we were offered transport to go to other Centara in Karon, but essentially booked this for the view not to be shipped off elsewhere on a daily basis. It really Should of been carried out not in peak pool hours, but late afternoon and early evening. I know it has to be done, but when the pool area is full? Just bad timing I guess on our part.
Only two transport runs into patong/karon at much too early a time in the evening, 17:30, no return transport. One trip was on a truck, enjoy!!!!!
Breakfast offering very average, mainly warm not hot and a limited choice.
Lunch food by the pool, very poor, cold Panini's and the club sandwich was a joke.
No staff came round to enquire about orders whilst you lay by the pool, we had to go up to the bar each time and there is no information regarding the happy hours at the bar or pool and no clock at the bar doesn't help. Very dated pool bar, take a look at the old buffet area behind the bar, cant understand why they still don't use it, must of been great in the 70's and also not overly keen on the cockroach in my cocktail glass, which the staff didn't seem to understand my concern.
Most staff very good, but some are quite sullen, very unusual for Thais! Pok is a great guy, really tries to help, felt for him, an uphill struggle here in more ways than one.
The bell boys, wow, those guys deserve a medal and certainly a large tip, did a magnificent job with the luggage, smiled too, amazing, good guys.
There is no atmosphere in the hotel, most guests look so disappointed they are staying there and I guess mentally calculating how much they paid for a supposed 4* hotel, that wipes the smile off anyone's face.
I can only presume the spa villas are much better, didn't take a look, but judging by the positive reviews, they must be quite nice.
The week prior to this we stayed at the Westin in Siray Bay, that was a fantastic hotel, very nice, a fantastic start to the holiday and amazingly it was cheaper!!!
I've been to Thailand over 50 times and this was the first time I have ever been disappointed with a hotel here, so no I am not naïve and do have a grasp of the standards of hotels in Thailand and indeed the Far East, so I base my comments on quite an extensive experience of the Thai market.
For the amount we paid it was shocking, I really wouldn't pay half of what we paid, have a stay in the Westin or the Holiday inn resort Patong, these are both miles better and cheaper.
I will certainly not return here under any circumstance, a real waste of money, made worse by the building work.
Took some explaining to my partner, her first visit to Thailand and couldn't comprehend the difference between this and the Westin, especially as this was the more expensive. If you are not too concerned about the views and want a good, clean, basic hotel , try the Holiday Inn Express in Patong
Next year we shall return, it certainly doesn't put me off Phuket, the people, food, views, weather and atmosphere are great, but just to any other hotel, not this. Needs totally renovating but sold as a top class hotel which it certainly isn't.
Reality is, I doubt many would return at half the price to the standard rooms, totally ruined the holiday after a fabulous week at the Westin. Had we not prepaid we would not of stayed more than one night.
No gym(aware of this prior to arrival) , ancient sunbeds, took a picture of a broken one by the pool, a collapsed one, along with another broken one that a maintenance guy spent an hour repairing at 2 o'clock, more banging etc, not a place to unwind. 50% of the loungers had comfortable mattresses the others were thin, plastic covered old uncomfortable ones that people constantly tried to swop!
The towel situation also needs addressing, this is meant to be a top hotel, paranoid about people making off with their yellow towels, some quite tatty. Plastic tickets with your room numbers that you have to hand in for your one towel, don't ask for two, that would appear to be in the same category as treason!! Really, is this in a "top" hotel 2014 or in infant school, maybe they should sew the hotels name in!!
This hotel really needs money spending on, but won't be back to see the result!
If you are considering staying here, please choose a spa room, or alternatively bring a stiff upper lip or big shoes, a red nose, a squirty plastic flower, braces and some red make up!!

Room Tip: A spa room or another hotel?
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Sabqi62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Centaravillasphuket, Manager at Centara Villas Phuket, responded to this review, 5 March 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for staying with us at Centara Villas.
I am sorry to read of your disappointment.
We will work harder as a team to improve and hope one day you would return.
Safe Travels and thank you for your feedback
from the Centara Villas Phuket Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Longfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2014

Arrived here on the 27th December after 4 days in Bangkok. What a change in pace, and what a place. Booking in at reception was a breeze where we were given a complimentary drink in a coconut! A little while later we were then escorted to a little Tuk Tuk to transport us down to our villa. It took us down a narrow winding road with about three hairpin bends before stopping right outside our villa. Our cases were already there. Our apartment or villa was very nice. Tastefully decorated, spacious with a very large and comfortable bed and on suite bathroom with plenty of storage space, flat screen TV, over head fan, air conditioning and coffee & tea making facilities etc perfect!
It had been dark when we arrived and so didn't get to appreciate the wonderful setting of the place until the next morning when we woke to the sound of birds singing in the trees and we wandered out on to the balcony and discovered we were in the midst of what looked like a sub tropical rain forest such was the luxuriant vegetation all around us! The sea not far away visible through the trees. A quick phone call to reception and the Tuk Tuk promptly arrived to whisk us back up the hill to breakfast. There was a huge buffet style spread on offer for breakfast which catered for all tastes. Eating fresh fruit, cereals and egg and bacon whilst looking across at the splendid view of Karon Beach and feeding bits of bread to the local Myna birds was an experience I wont forget.
The Centara Villas are situated on the side of a hill between Patong and Karon. To get to Patong by Taxi or Tuk Tuk costs you 300 Baht, Karon 200 Baht. Karon takes about 5 minutes, Patong 10 - 15 minutes depending on the traffic. We often strolled from our villa along a pathway down to Karon beach which takes about 10 -15 minutes. The beach is golden sand with the sea temperature a very agreeable 29 degrees! We had a full body massage one day on the beach which I thoroughly recommend you do while your here, very relaxing. We tried to hire a car shortly after arriving and was told there were none left, fully booked. As it was nearly new year when a lot of Thai people have a break and come to the Island they were all gone. We had to wait until after the new year the second of Jan before one became available! So if you want to hire a car, book early!
There are two small swimming pools in the grounds, which were both really nice. Only once around the upper pool were all the sunbeds taken. You can order drinks and snacks which are brought down to you by the pool. After 2.30pm its happy hour so double Cosmopolitans by the pool - very nice! Our stay at the Centara Villas was on a bed and breakfast basis, but on some evenings when we couldn't be bothered to go into town we ate in the restaurant. The choice is good and the food was excellent, the price was pretty good as well although unlike when we ate in town they added tax and a 10% service charge to the bill which pushed it up a bit, but figured we would be paying an extra 400 - 600 baht on the taxi had we gone into town anyway. Some nights the service in the restaurant was excellent, other nights a bit slow, I think it depended on which staff were on that evening. Again this wasn't a massive issue as we were in holiday mode and time spent drinking a cold beer watching the squid boats fishing out in the bay wasn't a hassle.
Our time at the Centara Villas was very memorable, a tranquil oasis which I would recommend to anyone. However, having said that it probably would not suit people who dislike walking up steps or who are a little infirm! This was our first time in Phuket it will definitely not be the last.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JustinHarris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Centaravillasphuket, Manager at Centara Villas Phuket, responded to this review, 5 March 2014
Dear Guest,
Thanks for your positive rating and kind comments.
We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future!
Safe Travels
from the Centara Villas Team!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Karon hotels
0.2 mi away
Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket
0.5 mi away
Novotel Phuket Karon Beach Resort & Spa
0.6 mi away
Mandarava Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Centara Karon Resort Phuket
0.6 mi away
Pacific Club Resort
Pacific Club Resort
#1 of 5 in Karon Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,450 reviews
2.1 mi away
Horizon Karon Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Centara Villas Phuket? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Centara Villas Phuket

Property: Centara Villas Phuket
Address: 701 Patak Rd | Karon Beach, Karon, Phuket 83130, Thailand (Formerly Central Karon Village)
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Karon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Top resorts Hotel in Karon
#20 Spa Hotel in Karon
#24 Romantic Hotel in Karon
#27 Luxury Hotel in Karon
#32 Family Hotel in Karon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Centara Villas Phuket 4*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Fastbooking, Agoda, Travelbag, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Holiday Gems and Southall Travel so you can book your Centara Villas Phuket reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Centara Hotel Phuket
Centara Resort Phuket
Centara Villas Phuket Karon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing