We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautful scenery and very quiet place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Centara Villas Phuket
Ranked #32 of 134 Hotels in Karon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 April 2014

We just got back from Thailand where we stayed in Centara Villas for 10 nights - very fresh review - might bit long, but I hope it will be helpful, at least to some.
When we arrived we were greeted with fresh coconut and cold fresh towel, really nice touch. We arrived at around 11.30 and unfortunately our room was not ready - checking in time is 2 pm. But room was ready much sooner than that, so really no problem there.

Room Location and surrounding
We had Ocean facing Villa 106 and views were stunning. Room was very clean, specious, same for bathroom/toilet. Room is cleaned daily and maid did really good job - only sometimes we did not get fresh hand towels. Yes, there are steps almost everywhere you go - not an issue for us and there really not that many. Any moderate fit person should cope without a problem. We never used transportation service - I think it can only do good to you.
Lots of vegetation around and we felt like almost in the jungle. We walked everyday to the beach and town, very really took Tuk tuk - only after 6 pm when beach passage was locked (we assume it was, never really checked). Swimming pools are clean and maybe not that big, but they are just right and scenery around them is just amazing.

Service.
I have really mixed feelings here. On some aspect service was slow and just to slow, when on other occasions was great. But it was always polite and always they try to be helpful.
Few examples to shed some light.
Room service - leaflet in room says you can order food all day to your room. The person who took order barely speak English and than said food can only be ordered after 6 pm. Few minutes later called us back and said we can order all day - I guess after some consultation. But we had to wait more than an hour for the food to arrive. That has happened on two occasions. Mini fridge was not restocked, unless we call and ask for it.
On other occasion we needed maintenance person to come to our room, and he showed up just after few minutes - and was very quick and fixed hour problem. Generally I would say there is need for improvement and maybe staff could improve their English

Restaurants.
Food in restaurants is much more expensive than in Karon town - even if you include return cost of Tuk Tuk (always go to the gate to get it, taxi service from the hotel is more expensive). It is more less double what you would paid elsewhere and sometimes there is quite delay in getting your food - from what I heard they are short staffed in the kitchen. But the food is really good and tasty.
We had breakfast included in the price of the room (I think it is standard service but not sure). Maybe it was not as reach as in some all inclusive hotels we stayed before, but there is plenty to choose from. You can have scrambled, pouched, fried egg made to your order, there are always fresh fruits, bread, cheese tomatoes and so on - really big range of choice

To summarise I would say the hotel is great for place to stay,as it is clean and it has stunning location. I would not choose it to have all meals in there. I would definitely return and recommend it to anyone (unless you have problem with walking)

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CahirUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Centaravillasphuket, Manager at Centara Villas Phuket, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2014

Dear Guest,
Thanks for staying at Centara Villas Phuket.
We appreciate your feedback and take on board all your comments constructively.
I am sorry we did not deliver per your expectations.
Your feedback will be shared with the team and issues addressed accordingly.
kind regards
from the Centara Villas Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,121)
There are newer reviews for Centara Villas Phuket
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

355 - 361 of 1,121 reviews

Reviewed 17 April 2014

Have just returned after spending 2 weeks at this hotel. The villa was lovely and not far from the pool, The 188 steps up to breakfast did not deter us and we could always jump on the courtesy Tuk Tuk. All the staff from bar, restaurant, lobby etc. went out of their way to make our stay special, they were all so friendly. Would definitely stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Centaravillasphuket, Manager at Centara Villas Phuket, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2014

Dear Guest,
Thanks for your positive rating and kind comments.
We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future!
Safe Travels
from the Centara Villas Team!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014

We spent 5 nights here after spending 3 in Bangkok and 5 in Krabi. It was a welcome retreat, set on a hill in lovely landscaped gardens, so very peaceful.
Our villa had a great view of some trees and the sea, with a nice balcony for sitting out on. A king sized bed, air con and fan, and a huge bathroom and a fridge. We stayed in villa number 210 which is about halfway down the hill and our friends had a villa further down. It is a bit of a trek up to the restaurant, bar and reception. Think we had about 130 steps to climb but there is tuk tuk u can call to drive you up there. They also lay on a taxi (one way) to either Karon or Patong. There is a walk way down to Karon Beach from the swimming pool, the path closes about 7pm as it is quite a few steps and would probably be unsafe in the dark.
The pool is lovely, there are 2, both with sun beds around them and they provide beach towels. There was a bit of a problem with the pool while we were there and it had to be closed for a day or 2 but, as its not too far from the beach, this wasn't a problem and you can also use the other Centara resort which is set on the beach.
The breakfast was delicious every day, they made fresh Omelette, Scrambled/fried/poached or boiled eggs at your request and there was a huge variety of other dishes. The staff came a round with tea and coffee as often as you liked.
The staff were extremely friendly and always had a smile for you. I cant remember all their names, except Vee who is a young lad but very helpful and chatty and Pok who would greet every guest by name (how he remembered everyone I dont know) and check that we were all happy.
I would recommend a stay here.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joandlee1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Centaravillasphuket, Manager at Centara Villas Phuket, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2014

Dear Guest,
Thanks for your positive rating and kind comments.
We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future!
Safe Travels
from the Centara Villas Team!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2014

We loved staying at the Villas and yes we knew about how many steps up to the restaurant and how many down to the pool (having read all the reviews on TA), this was okay with us as we were able to work off the holiday eating and lounging!

Personally I don't think it would be suitable for families with children (due to the many steps and heat), but saying that you could always phone for the tuk tuk to pick you up outside your villa.

We stayed in villa 303 which was the largest villa/hotel room we had ever stayed in in Asia, the view was excellent, the peace and quiet was heavenly. We walked down the path onto Karon Beach where we had (on numerous occasions) lunch and/or dinner at the beach restaurants. It is great that you can use the facilities at the sister hotel next to the beach restaurants if you want to or use their beach beds with umbrellas if you fancy time on the beach.

I must mention that the restaurant manager (Pok) did an excellent job, he greeted everyone by their first name each morning, which is no mean feat. He made sure that you were accommodated in every way, he is a credit to this hotel and the organisation.

All in all we were very pleased with the overall experience and would definitely stay at Centara Villas again.

PS-Try Red Onion restaurant in Karon, great meals!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AndiKeith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Centaravillasphuket, Manager at Centara Villas Phuket, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2014

Dear Guest,
Thanks for staying at Centara Villas Phuket.
We appreciate your feedback and will be shared with the team .
kind regards
from the Centara Villas Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2014

The Resort stay was really good. We stayed for 5 days in a Pool Villa and they offered very good privacy with excellent views to the Karon beach. The house keeping team turned up everyday, therefore the rooms and the pool were kept clean. As it was located downhill, walk to the main restaurant that serves breakfast which was uphill got a little tiresome but you could call the Resort Van and they would arrive within 5-10 minutes to pick you up from the Villa. The breakfast was excellent with wide variety (although I was surprised to find Thai dishes like rice and noodles) included for breakfast. Lunch and Dinner was served in another restaurant downhill where the food did not taste all that great. There were better and tastier restaurants along the Karon and Patong beach which we later discovered. The massage centre at the resort was fully booked (you'll have to book well in advance). We found good massage centres along the Karon beach for cheaper price. The forest-like setting within the resort looks mesmerizing and one can truly enjoy the views. and the stay. Pool Villa highly recommended! :)

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank SMG30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Centaravillasphuket, Manager at Centara Villas Phuket, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2014

Dear Guest,
Thanks for staying at Centara Villas Phuket.
We appreciate your feedback and take on board all your comments constructively.
I am sorry we did not deliver per your expectations.
Your feedback will be shared with the team and issues addressed accordingly.
kind regards
from the Centara Villas Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2014

This was our second stay at the villas, the first time being 3 years ago, and we both agreed that we enjoyed it just as much as before. As with the first time, we stayed in a pool villa, and I really think this is the way to go, judging by other reviews.

We arrived early, at 11 am and were pleased to find that as we had notified them of this we were in our villa by 11.30 which was much appreciated after such a long journey. The reception staff speak fairly good English and were very efficient.

We had villa 409, I think this is the only one with an open sided pool, we had a partial view to the lower main pool. We also overlooked the spa, however the villa offered a commanding view of almost the entire bay which was wonderful. We sat out at dusk, drink in hand and watched the first lanterns floating up and the lights slowly come on, with big Buddha at the top of the hill.

The villas have been refurbished since we last stayed, and they are now much more contemporary and brighter, there are more power sockets and a flat screen tv. The bathroom was big, with dual vanity areas, although only one sink, and unless the sun shone directly overhead, were rather dark, I think they missed a trick by omitting a window. The pool area could do with a bit of a tidy up though, it was a bit stained on the walls and a of the pool tiles on the edge were broken or loose.

The villa was cleaned daily, our main cleaner was Pat and she was lovely and very thorough, each visit lasted approx 40 minutes. She used to leave us little messages and flowers on the bed!

The men who came to check and clean the pool were also very good, this happened every couple of days.

We never walked up the numerous steps, only down. We called for the buggy every time and service was always very prompt part from one time we waited 15 minutes, think it was just a busy time that time. Most of the time it was just the two of us, but on one visit to breakfast we had 7 guests in the buggy with another one hanging on the back, thought it was going to start rolling backwards at one point, it was an experience! The guys who drive are always very polite and friendly as well.

We didn't have breakfast every day, but when we did there was plenty of choice and they have added a make your own pancake machine now. The egg man always delivered pretty quickly once ordered and was probably the friendliest of all the staff here, some of the waiting staff looked as though they would rather be elsewhere. Can't comment on dinner as we always went out.

They have also added a taxi service in reception but it was a bit random, sometimes we paid here and got a receipt to give the driver, other times we paid the driver directly, it was confusing. One night we walked past reception and jumped in a tuk tuk that had just dropped off and she came after us and shouted something at the guard, I think, for letting us get in. I don't think they like people using any other transport than the hotels! You really don't have a choice in the evening as the pathway to the beach closes at 6 as I think it would be dangerous in the dark.

I must mention Kai's restaurant on the beach at the end of the pathway, the food here is excellent and reasonable and the staff are so friendly. We ate at Bay View a few times, but preferred Kai's for authenticity.

The grounds are well maintained and the trees and flowers offer a peaceful oasis from the busy main road, you can't hear a thing. We couldn't even hear the buggy going past our villa when we were in it.

I would definitely recommend a stay here, but only in a pool villa, avoid villa 112 as it offers no privacy being on the pathway through.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Supersmithy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Centaravillasphuket, Manager at Centara Villas Phuket, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2014

Dear Guest,
Thanks for your positive rating and kind comments.
We are delighted you enjoyed your stay again and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future!
Safe Travels
from the Centara Villas Team!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2014

Hidden away....top of a cliff and therefore views were wonderful. However, the rooms were dated and needed painting.
The food was good at the restaurant within the hotel, although a little pricey. We ate out in Patong and Karon beach and a Thai curry would cost around £2.00.
In hindsight, this was a first time to Thailand with a stop over at Dubai outbound and return, wished we had spent more time in Dubai, 13 nights in these villas was a little too much.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kazeebabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Centaravillasphuket, Manager at Centara Villas Phuket, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2014

Dear Guest,
Thanks for staying at Centara Villas Phuket.
We appreciate your feedback and take on board all your comments constructively.
I am sorry we did not deliver per your expectations.
Your feedback will be shared with the team and issues addressed accordingly.
kind regards
from the Centara Villas Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Karon hotels
0.2 mi away
Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket
0.5 mi away
Novotel Phuket Karon Beach Resort & Spa
0.7 mi away
Mandarava Resort and Spa
Mandarava Resort and Spa
#2 of 8 in Karon Beach
2,021 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Secret Cliff Resort
Secret Cliff Resort
#108 of 134 in Karon
590 reviews
1.0 mi away
Waterfront Suites Phuket by Centara
0.9 mi away
Centara Karon Resort Phuket
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Centara Villas Phuket? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Centara Villas Phuket

Address: 701 Patak Rd | Karon Beach, Karon, Phuket 83130, Thailand (Formerly Central Karon Village)
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Karon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Top resorts Hotel in Karon
#21 Spa Hotel in Karon
#24 Romantic Hotel in Karon
#30 Luxury Hotel in Karon
#32 Family Hotel in Karon
Price Range: £47 - £178 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Centara Villas Phuket 4*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in lush tropical greenery and overlooking Karon Beach and the Andaman Sea, the four-star Centara Villas Phuket is a romantic hideaway located steps away from the sweeping expanse of Phuket’s Karon Beach. Each romantic, private villa, nestled within its own screen of green, directly faces the sea from a dramatic inclined perch, ensuring that views are endless and the quiet all-pervading. The minimum villa size is a generous 46 square metres and some come with the option of a plunge pool or a Jacuzzi. The large two-tiered swimming pool, with its fabulous ocean views and shady spots, is the epicentre of relaxation. For another form of relaxation, Spa Cenvaree is a refuge for the senses offering a choice of therapeutic treatments including traditional Ayurvedic methods and Thai foot and body massages. The resort also offers hands-on Thai cooking classes, and two restaurants and a bar that boast sublime ocean views. For those who wish to venture out of its oasis of serenity and tranquillity, the tour information desk will be delighted to arrange activities such as island-hopping, bungee jumping, and family treks. For a change of pace, a complimentary scheduled shuttle service connects the resort with the fabled nightspots of Patong and Karon. Centara Villas Phuket is just one hour's drive away from Phuket International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Travel Republic (UK), Fastbooking, Travelbag, Southall Travel, Expedia, Holiday Gems, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Centara Villas Phuket reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Centara Hotel Phuket
Centara Resort Phuket
Centara Villas Phuket Karon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing