We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,293)
Filter reviews
1,294 results
Traveller rating
679
374
123
60
58
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
679
374
123
60
58
Show reviews that mention
All reviews old siam orchid garden windsong restaurant ciao bistro coffee talk five pools magnificent gardens pool bar beautiful hotel traditional thai duty manager low season reception desk beach road pools are great pool view great holiday
Filter
Updating list...
438 - 443 of 1,294 reviews
Reviewed 15 October 2013

We just spent 2 wonderful weeks at the Thavorn Palm Beach Resort in Thailand, this is a lovely comfortable hotel set in the most beautiful gardens with several large swimming pools and a pool bar. Rooms have been recently renovated in cool attractive colours and have good air con,the new bathrooms are well appointed and there was a lovely large patio to sit on and admire the gardens. Morning breakfast really does have something for everyone. Staff were helpful and a pleasure to deal with. The hotel is situated close to Beaches and shops, we really could not have asked for more. We hope to return to this lovely hotel again.

Room Tip: Corner suites are larger.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank dave g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2013 via mobile


Do your self a favor, don't book this hotel. Old, not so clean, the staff is not kind. For sure not a 4 star hotel.
To get to the beach, u have to go out of the hotel and to cross the road.

And one last thing... Be careful from the rats next to the pool !!

Tzafrir & Carine

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
8  Thank Tzafrir Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RogerGibson, Manager at Thavorn Palm Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review our resort on TripAdvisor and I am disappointed to learn that your stay with us did not meet your expectations.

We pride ourselves on providing friendly, traditional Thai hospitality in a clean and natural beach front environment, so I am surprised to read your comments. However, I will mention these at our daily management meeting to ensure our normal high standard of service is maintained at all times.

Kind Regards,

Roger Gibson
Director of Marketing and Communications.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2013

Returned after many years following the improved reviews from guests. The refurbished rooms were very nice. The décor in our room was as shown on the website, a cross between French Provincial and English Country Garden. Might be a bit fussy for some but we enjoyed it.
Our room was very clean when we arrived with all amenities included. Serviced on the first day to the same standard but the following days fell away somewhat. One day it seemed that all we got was the bed made. None of the bins were emptied and nothing replaced or cleaned. The next was a hit and miss mix. Not consistent and not expected for the standard that the Resort rates itself, especially when not at full capacity.
Public areas at the front of the property are well maintained. Gardens and pools great . Swim-up Pool bar was closed during our stay.
The breakfast was good, but the Restaurant area needs to be the next to get attention. Fittings are old and we were put off by the dirty chairs and chipped and stained counter and table tops. Backs and arms of the dining chairs all need a good clean as they are sticky and dirty.
We ate one evening meal at Windsong Terrace and were the only sit down customers for the time we were there ,though there did seem to be room service orders going out. Plenty off staff around could have been cleaning ready for the morning breakfast service .Instead, they were setting tables , which given the open air nature of the premises and the wildlife we saw , which is able to crawl all over anything left out at night, may not be best practice. We certainly got ourselves clean cutlery each day.
The resort seems to be trying very hard to impress but just misses in too many areas.
Refurbished rooms will soon deteriorate if not cleaned.
Gardens are good but don't neglect the other areas. We used the stairs to access our room and the visible areas behind the buildings were awfull. Black rubbish bags piled high, broken tile and glass strewn in neglected garden beds, more rats running around in daylight, not surprisingly. (we did see traps).
For the 3 days we were there, water was running from under the door of a ground floor room opposite the lift, and the solution was to roll up towels to mop-up/channel it away. Great trip hazard when you got out of the elevator!
Overall impression ; that even a good make-up job needs to be backed up by a great soul, and though trying hard, there needs to be more done here.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank famwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2013 via mobile

Good quiet resort with upgrade rooms!
Good service from all staffs!
Good location with many small restaurants,massages, minimarket....etc !!!
Good pools that were loved by my small babies!
Good free shuttle bus to Patdong beach!
Beautiful sunset over the beach!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JoeL3748
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2013

We chose the Thavorn Palm Beach Resort after reading reviews and a suggestion from a friend was recommended by my friend. From the movement we checked in we felt welcomed and experienced the friendliness of the staff. The moment we entered our Premier Deluxe, we were wowed by the size of the place as well as the lovely sea facing view. The interior decor is a combination of traditional Thai & Colonials and very well designed. Personally, we have always loved such combination in architecture and interior decor. It makes the place look contemporary while retaining the warmth and beauty of designs.

The pools are excellent, the 5 pools provide to people with different preference and so every pool is not crowded. we enjoy the Chaba pool with a swim up bar the most, it is just what we need.

There are about 4 restaurant/cafe options to choose from. But we especially liked the authentic Thai restaurant with the "Thai-style" seating. Great views of the ocean as you feast on some spicy yellow curry.

Especially the breakfast, There was so much to choose from that we struggled to decide each morning.

The staff are friendly and greet you every time yoy walk past (typical Thai hospitality). It was a thoroughly enjoyable experience. The service from the staff was simply exceptional. They made a commendable effort in making sure that you are feeling comfortable throughout the stay at the resort.

The perfectly maintained gardens gave a sense of tranquility and offered many paces to sit away from the crowds relax and enjoy, a lot of greenery and frangipani trees, blossoms of colorful bougainvillea are falling from the balcony of the building, lovely rabbits and cockerels running around the garden creating paradise atmosphere. As a result, the resort has a lovely feeling of seclusion within the greenery surrounding.

This resort is an absolute pleasure to stay and is spacious, quiet and beautifully manicured.

This is an excellent resort and I would thoroughly recommend to all age groups.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bundit S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews