We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay during low season”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Thavorn Palm Beach Resort
Ranked #27 of 137 Hotels in Karon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 August 2014

We had a great stay at Thavorn Palm Beach Resort. It is certainly worth its 4.5 star rating.

PROS:
- Excellent location on Karon Beach. It is literally across the street from the middle area of the beach. However, during low season Karon Beach is not really swimmable, so take that into consideration.
- 15-20 minute walk to Kata Beach. Karon-Kata Beach is easily walkable. There are sidewalks for most of the way, the hill is very small and it is lined with shops.
- Cute rabbits, chickens and lizards wander around the resort.
- Resort provides you with large beach towels, which you can take to the beach (not just the pool!)
- A good breakfast buffet that is open from 6-10.
- 3 very large pools and a fourth kid pool. The pools are very well done, but we were sad that they closed at 7 PM, just after sunset.
- The staff was very friendly and accommodating. We needed to check in late (1 AM) and we had a late flight on our last day, and they allowed us to use their facilities even after we checked out, which was nice.

CONS:
- Hard beds and pillows.
- No toothbrushes or toothpaste provided.
- The resort is not close to many restaurants, food stalls or any of the good shopping areas. There are a few good food stalls along the back road leading up to the lobby, but the area in front of the Thavorn-Hilton resorts is a dead zone.
- Shuttle Service to Patong was nice, but the bus only ran twice a day, back-and-forth.


Overall I had a great experience at the resort. There are a lot of negative things I can say about our experiences in Phuket, but the resort was perfectly fine. We wanted a beach vacation after having gone to Pattaya in the past. If you want to spend more than one night partying in Patong however, I would suggest staying in Patong itself, as it is obnoxious trying to get honest transportation in Phuket.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank miphun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RogerGibson, Manager at Thavorn Palm Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for your 5 Star Review of our resort, I am pleased we were able to provide a friendly and accommodating stay.

We hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to our resort on your next visit to Phuket

Kind Regards,

Roger Gibson
Director of Marketing Communications

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,115)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

331 - 337 of 1,115 reviews

Reviewed 30 July 2014

This was my 6th stay at this resort, we keep coming back for the amazing gardens and pools. Also the staff are so friendly and helpful. The location is away from all the hustle and bustle, yet lots of food and shopping just a short walk.

The recent room upgrades makes this one of the best resorts in Phuket!

I will be back soon!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brad C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RogerGibson, Manager at Thavorn Palm Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for your 5 Star Review and for your continued support of our resort. I am delighted you enjoyed your 6th visit and that we continue to meet your expectations with a friendly and helpful service

I am pleased that you enjoyed the warm colonial style of our recently renovated rooms and we will strive to surpass your expectations for your next visit. With further service improvements on the way, we trust we will continue to be your number one resort in Phuket

Kind Regards

Roger Gibson
Director of Marketing Communications

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2014

Thavorn Palm Beach Resort was a spectacular and eye-opening experience. While most hotels tend to provide man-made elegance, Thavorn Palm Beach Resort offered an integrated hotel where man meets nature. With a beautiful garden full of different kinds of flowers (especially orchids), the hotel itself is truly breathtaking. At the same time, there are many animals such as rabbits and chickens that run around the outdoor grounds of the hotel. They are all very friendly so one can feed them, play with them, and even pick them up. On top of the natural integration, the hotel also offered friendly staff, great services and amenities, and an amazing location as well. Situated next to Karon Beach, there are many small shops and restaurants (Dino Park, a mini-golf center and restaurant was especially great) within a 2 minute walking distance of the resort. As a result, the resort offered a serene and peaceful atmosphere while providing convenience as well. Lastly, the resort itself has many restaurants and a coffee shop next to the beach that I absolutely loved and would recommend to anyone. All in all, Thavorn Palm Beach Resort was definitely worth the money and then some.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RogerGibson, Manager at Thavorn Palm Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for your 5 Star Review of our resort and for your appreciation or the natural and sustainable concept we are striving to achieve at our resort.

It is true that many hotels adopt a more "man-made elegance" when choosing their design, so it is rewarding to read your comments about our gardens and wildlife. I am pleased to hear we welcomed you with friendly service, great amenities and that you enjoyed the convenience of our location within easy walking distance of local shops and restaurants.

Our Coffee Talk beach side coffee shop is really becoming the talk of the town, so thank you also for your kind recommendation.

We hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to our resort in the near future as well as your friends and family. To keep up to date with resort news and special promotions, please visit our website and social media pages.

Kind Regards,

Roger Gibson
Director of Marketing Communications

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2014

This is the first time for my wife and me to visit this Resort. It was recommanded by friends who went before. The hotel's staff are very friendly who are always full of smiling and helpful. We stayed most of time in the Resort. It was because the envirnoment is very good, relax and clean. By the way, the Spa is much better than the nearest small community. The resort has three swimming pools and we spent a lot of time there. The feeling staying in the Resort just like having the second time of honeymoon. The most important is that the price is not expensive with 5 stars service.

Room Tip: If you want to have a great and far view then you can choose the room in second floor. If you just...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Ricky L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

As soon as I arrived the hotel, I was impressed by the hotel's beautiful garden, in which there were numerous cool-looking Chinese and Thai bonsais. The hotel is very peaceful and quiet, and the room is clean and has nice views of the beach as well as the garden. The food was really good too!
We saw chickens, rabbits,and many small kinds of animals in the resort. Will definitely stay here next time!!!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lscmaxwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

I was impressed to be there in this hotel. It is a beautiful place where I can enjoy nature and culture in the same place and same time. Thavorn Palm Beach resorts to be super quiet & peaceful. Beautiful grounds with lots of frangipani trees and some really cute residents, the rabbits & chickens. Rooms are beautifully decorated to match the surrounding gardens.
Wish to be there again soon.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Nokie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014

After the crowds of people in Macau, we found the Thavorn Palm Beach resorts to be super quiet & peaceful. Beautiful grounds with lots of frangipani trees (my favourite flowers) and some really cute residents, the rabbits & chickens. Rooms are beautifully decorated to match the surrounding gardens. Bed very comfortable with firm mattresses & pillows, although I found the room to have a humid mouldy smell. Buffet breakfast was OK with a fair selection of Western & Asian foods but quality was pretty average. Free shuttle to Patong area but you have to book at reception and it's only at 11:20am or 4:20pm. Pick up from Patong was supposed to be 4:20pm but didn't get there till 4:50pm. 5 or 10 mins walk will take you to a number of restaurants along the streets in front or back of the resort.

We were there at low season so there was hardly anyone around. Restaurants, bar, pool, lobby area were pretty much empty. Other resorts we had stayed in have organised activities each day for adults/kids & themed buffet dinner each night to keep guests from leaving resort to find other & cheaper alternatives. Thavorn didn't have any of these during our stay. Unused grand piano & unused billiard room. Because of their vast gardens there were lots of mozzies around. I'm a light sleeper so found the air con quite noisy at night. For our own safety there was no iron or ironing board in room so had to wear wrinkle clothes from suitcase. I would think I know how to use an iron!

Overall it was an OK stay but I don't think we'll stay there again as there are many many different resorts & hotels to chose from in Phuket. We like to try different places each time we visits.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank prawndumplings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Karon
1.4 mi away
Mandarava Resort and Spa
Mandarava Resort and Spa
#2 of 11 in Karon Beach
2,262 reviews
1.2 mi away
Novotel Phuket Karon Beach Resort & Spa
1.5 mi away
Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hilton Phuket Arcadia Resort & Spa
6.3 mi away
Thavorn Beach Village Resort & Spa
0.5 mi away
Horizon Karon Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thavorn Palm Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thavorn Palm Beach Resort

Address: 311 Patak Road | Karon Beach, Karon, Phuket 83100, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Karon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Top resorts Hotel in Karon
#18 Family Hotel in Karon
#25 Luxury Hotel in Karon
#27 Romantic Hotel in Karon
Price Range: £62 - £260 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Thavorn Palm Beach Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are one of the best Karon Beach Resort in Phuket. Being located right on the beachfront, we are only a few steps from Karon Beach. Relax amidst the spacious, tropical surroundings at an unrivalled beachfront location only 40 minutes from Phuket Airport. We are also 15-minute drive away from the iconic Patong Beach. Having dedicated most of the extensive grounds to green areas, this Karon beach resort feels secluded, yet with local bars, restaurants and amenities within easy walking distance, you are never isolated and enjoy the best of both worlds. Lose yourself exploring the magnificent splendour of the tropical orchid gardens, find your own peaceful, uncrowded space at one of our four swimming pools or relax in the comfort of our elegant, colonial style public spaces. Our Karon beach resort will truly give you a memorable Phuket holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Thavorn Palm Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thavorn Palm Beach Hotel Karon
Thavorn Palm Beach Karon
Thavorn Palm Beach Resort Phuket/Karon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing