We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel, poor restaurant”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ramada Phuket Southsea
Ranked #101 of 132 Hotels in Karon
Write a Review

316 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    71
    124
    68
    30
    23
See reviews for
64
142
13
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014

This is a beautiful hotel and for its price its really worth the money. The staff have the typical thai hospitatlity. Its located along the beach road which means you would still have to cross a road to get to the sea (which is really nothing, theres a guard who would stop traffic for you to cross)

The room is beautiful and big, the deco was simple and tasteful I really liked it. I didn't have a view of the ocean but who needs it if you can walk along it all day? The interior is cool and quiet and the pool and lounge area is amazing.

The food around that area is very "tourist friendly" not as local as I would have preferred. The beach is much more quieter and emptier than the main beach which is great. If you want a quiet beach vacation away from all the booze and night life this place is perfect. Its still accessible by scooter (rent one its cheaper) or their bargain a ride to the main town with the locals.

Room Tip: Eat outside of the hotel its cheaper. Rent a scooter to see phuket (bring license)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank airydreamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jailak, ผู้จัดการทั่วไป at Ramada Phuket Southsea, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
Dear our valued guest,

Warm Greetings from Ramada Phuket Southsea!
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review regarding your stay.

It delights me to hear we have managed to service excellence, in addition to having beach location, and stylish design of rooms. I will be sharing your comments with the rest of my team.

Thank you once again for placing your trust into our service, we are indeed looking forward to pampering you in the future! Should there be anything we can do for you on your next visit to Phuket, I would be more than happy to personally assist you with any particular arrangements you may require.

Best Regards,
SJ
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portals Nous, Spain
Level Contributor
254 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2014

This hotel reminds me more of a hostel or hospital with its cement floors and walls and lack of decor. The location is good, right on the beach, but that's all which can be positive about this hotel. The breakfast was terrible to say the least. For me this was a 'first and last' time visit and I have been visiting Thailand for almost 30 years, but normally staying in 5 star hotels and this one would struggle to get 3 stars at best. Left after 3 days.

Room Tip: Refurbish the complete hotel and train your staff.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ola Peter T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jailak, ผู้จัดการทั่วไป at Ramada Phuket Southsea, responded to this review, 3 April 2014
Dear our valued guest,

Thank you very much for your stay in January 2014 and for taking the time to share your comments with us.

Please allow me to apologize as we unfortunately have not managed to deliver an experience in line with your expectations. The particular breakfast issue that you experienced has been already improved in order to fulfil our guest's expectation.

Thank you again for your feedback. I do hope you will allow us another opportunity in the future to restore your faith in Ramada Phuket Southsea.

Warm regards,
SJ
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 20 March 2014 via mobile

Good hotel, especially for the agoda.com deal we got for 5 nights. We tried to stay another night but it was too expensive at late notice. Rooms were clean and bed was large and comfortable. Breakfast was fine as long as you were awake early as it did not appear to get replenished. Staff were great, especially the front desk and entrance security men helping you safely cross the road to the lovely beach. WiFi access sadly ran out too quickly but new passwords were supplied without complaint. The town is much quieter and cleaner than nearby sleazy Patong, good fun.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Psbenjamin2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jailak, ผู้จัดการทั่วไป at Ramada Phuket Southsea, responded to this review, 20 March 2014
Dear our valued guest,

Thank you for taking your time to share your thoughts with other travelers here. I am so pleased to hear that you had a relaxing stay at Ramada Phuket Southsea.

It is wonderful to hear that you were so happy with our room, location & services. Your comment regarding our associates is gratefully received.

I hope to welcome you back to Ramada Phuket Southsea again in the near future.

Best Regards,
SJ
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014 via mobile

Nice looking hotel, very big (doesn't look it from the outside). Pool is average size but was nice. Hotel is right opposite the beach so is ideal for this. Breakfast had a wide variety and varied each day. Many people I can see from previous reviews complained about the service at breakfast, we found it best to serve yourself including tea/coffee and it was fine especially as the breakfast was a buffet. The room itself was very large but the mattresses on the bed was very hard. We complained about this to the staff which they rectified with putting extra bedding between the mattress and bed sheet which helped. Bathroom was average size and we did find an odd smell on entering the room on occasions which was unpleasant. Keeping the bathroom door closed helped keep the smell out of the room. Wifi is available but you only have access for 2 devices (we had 2 iPhones, iPad and a laptop) and keeps logging out after 20 minutes which was very frustrating. This really needs to be rectified. The codes we were given then stopped working after a few days so we would need to get new ones. Has a lot of potential but not 4 star for us.

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank kpatel8778
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ramada204, Hotel Manager at Ramada Phuket Southsea, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
Dear kpatel8778,
Warm greetings from Ramada Phuket Southsea.
Thank you for your recent stay with us and giving us an opportunity to serve you. We also appreciate your time to write about us here.
We regret that you could find some occasional smell in the room and also that the wifi performance was not up to your expectations. We would like to let you know that we are working on our wifi facility to make it better and checking with all the rooms for any smell and eradicate it permanently. We assure you that you will not come across such inconveniences on your next visit. However we are glad to know that you have liked our location, breakfast and restaurant services.
We look forward to welcome you back in the coming future.
Thank you.
Best regards,
Arijit Ghosh
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holon, Israel
Level Contributor
25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2014 via mobile

Lovely hotel in the most beautiful part of Phuket.
Stuff are very nice and the pool is great.
One step from the beach.
We will defenitly come back to this hotel.
The only thing that annoys us is the rude texi drivers which demand 400bht from karon to patong....only 7.5km.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Shai74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ramada204, Hotel Manager at Ramada Phuket Southsea, responded to this review, 19 February 2014
Dear shai l,
Warm greetings from Ramada Phuket Southsea.
Thanks for your recent stay with us and giving us an opportunity to serve you. We also appreciate your time to put up a warm review about us in here.
We are glad to know that you have liked our swimming pool and also the friendliness of our staffs. I will certainly convey your encouraging comments to our team.
We look forward to welcome you in the coming future.
Thank you.
Best regards,
Arijit Ghosh
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai, China
1 review
Reviewed 9 February 2014

Bathroom small and needs maintenance. Water temperature fluctuates bad will constantly give u an "ouch" when u try to enjoy a relaxing bath but all of sudden the water becomes very hot in the middle of nowhere. Breakfast buffet very limited; even no bacon; even air conditioner doesn't work out well.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FireflyXpence627
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ramada204, Hotel Manager at Ramada Phuket Southsea, responded to this review, 10 February 2014
Dear FireflyXpence627,
Warm greetings from Ramada Phuket Southsea.
Thank you for your recent stay with us and giving us an opportunity to serve you. We also appreciate your time to put up a review about us here. We regret that our bathroom size and the breakfast didn't meet your expectations. But we would like to let you know that our bathroom size is in compliance with the international basic standards and also we alternate our breakfast meats as per breakfast buffet standards. But we are open to provide some basic food items to our guests on request even if it is not a part of the buffet on the same day. So, next time you are at our restaurant for breakfast, kindly let any of our wait staff know about any of your requirement, and they would be more than happy to serve you.
We haven't got any complaint yet regarding the hot water supply in our bathroom. Since you have mentioned it, we assure you that we will check on the same and ensure that there is not such fault.
Hope to welcome you back at our property in the coming future.
Thank you.
Best regards,
Arijit Ghosh
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Karon hotels
0.1 mi away
Waterfront Suites Phuket by Centara
0.1 mi away
Lap Roi Karon Beachfront
Lap Roi Karon Beachfront
#110 of 132 in Karon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
0.5 mi away
Novotel Phuket Karon Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Karon Princess Hotel
Karon Princess Hotel
#94 of 132 in Karon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
0.5 mi away
In on the Beach
In on the Beach
#98 of 132 in Karon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Sunset Hotel
Grand Sunset Hotel
#87 of 132 in Karon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Phuket Southsea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Phuket Southsea

Property: Ramada Phuket Southsea
Address: 204 Karon Beach Road, Karon, Phuket 83100, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Karon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#34 Top resorts Hotel in Karon
#35 On the Beach Hotel in Karon
#48 Spa Hotel in Karon
#55 Luxury Hotel in Karon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Ramada Phuket Southsea 4*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ramada Phuket South Sea, a beach front resort located at Karon Beach offers an idyllic destination for truly unforgettable vacations at one of the most tranquil beaches in Phuket. Experience an astonishing refinement with modern Thai design amidst exotic surroundings that defines true beach vacation. It’s a perfect retreat for those looking for beach holiday or romantic getaway to a luxurious tropical paradise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Southall Travel, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ramada Phuket Southsea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Phuket South Sea Hotel Karon
South Sea Karon Hotel
Ramada Phuket Southsea Karon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing