We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One to remember” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ramada Phuket Southsea

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Ramada Phuket Southsea
Ranked #101 of 132 Hotels in Karon
Halifax, England
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“One to remember”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2006

We have just returned from a 2 week stay at the south sea resort and can honestly say that it was faultless, so much so that we have asked our travel agent to make arrangements for 2 weeks at xmas (we NEVER go to the same hotel twice!!!) The first thing is the location-right across the road from the beach and a couple of mins walk to shops, bars, restaurants etc. Although we went in the low season, everywhere was open, just less crowded........and CHEAPER!! Our room was lovely and clean, the housekeeping was second to none-towels changed every day. We asked for extra towels one day and got them (along with some bottled water) 5 mins after putting the phone down. We used room service once for a late-night snack (burger, fries, pizza and a couple of drinks) which came to just over a tenner-good value considering we could hardly move afterwards! We didn't use the pool area but it looked gorgeous, in fact, the picture in the brochure doesn't do it any justice. We went on a room only basis so didn't bother eating at the hotel, simply because there's loads of places to eat outside for less than half the price, although the breakfast menu looked good. The staff were brilliant, efficient and so friendly and they even have a security guard outside who ensures you get across the road safely. If i had to pick a fault, it would be the expensive mini-bar prices but when you can buy a bottle of singha beer in the supermarket for 50p you don't need to use it. Overall, based on efficiency, cleanliness, friendliness and location, the south sea resort is up there with the best of them.

  • Stayed April 2006
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
21 Thank collierminx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

308 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    71
    122
    64
    29
    22
See reviews for
59
142
12
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2006

My fiance, myself and our 2 year old little girl have just got back from 2 weeks at the South Sea Resort. We have a great time.

The location of the hotel is perfect, just cross over the road and your at the beach (although sometimes was difficult to find a bed). Shops, chemist and bank are about 5 mins walk, and there are loads of places to eat nearby.

Breakfast was nice and always plenty. Food and drinks are really expensive in the hotel, but you don't have to go far to find somewhere cheap to eat.

The pool was nice and a decent size and we could always get a sunbed, the only problem was the childrens pool, it was really dirty and there were tiles missing of the bottom, where you could easily cut your foot. Our little girl had armbands on, so we just took her in the big pool most of the time.

The pool bar is very expensive, and on top of the prices shown, there is a 17% service & tax charge. We used to go the mini mart next door to the hotel and buy drinks at a third of the price and keep them in our mini bar. i don't think you were allowed to bring drinks in from outside but everyone around the pool was doing it and nothing was said.

We once ordered room service for our little girl, and although it was ok, there was barely enough to fill her up. If i was ordering for myself i would have to get 2 portions, which would work out about £8.00 (quite expensive for a sandwich & fries.

The rooms were not very clean, they did change the sheets occasionlly but the floor tiles were really dirty, and looked old. The bathroom was the same, could do with a re-furb. There was always water on the floor, we couldn't work out where it was coming from. The door frame was rotting because of it and round the edge of the bath and toilet was really dirty. We also had a hole in the celing above our shower, which the light shone through from the room above.

There is a lovely little cafe bar next door to the hotel called the green chilli, where we used to go for our lunch, it was basic but fairly cheap. The Green Curry from here is lovely!

On an evening we used to venture out and look for different places to eat, we found a really cheap restaurant called the red onion which was nice. It was always fully booked and you had to wait for a table if you went after 7pm.

On the weekends there is a market on (about 10min walk) it is really worth going to see, they sell cockrochs and chickens feet. (not that i had any) but it was good to take a photo.

There isn't a lot of entertainment going on in Karon, mosts of the bars that played music were full of young thai girls waiting for men. South Sea had a man playing the keyboard everynight, but the drinks were expensive and most of the time were warm.

There were a lot of people from scandanavia in our hotel, and in all the hotels from what we heard. The reason being in scandanavian airways are the only company to do charter flights to thailand. We were the only english family and had no-one to talk to until an austarilan family arrived.

We went to Patong a few times in a Tuk Tuk for 200 baht, (about 10 mins away) the shopping here is brilliant for cheap copy t-shirts, bags and watches.

We went to phuket zoo which the little one enjoyed, she got to see the elephants, monkeys, and get her picture taken with a tiger. This is about 25 mins away in a Tuk Tuk and costs about 400 baht. It is 800baht each for entry.

We also did elephant treking which was good fun, although i did feel a bit sorry for them, they looked exhausted!

On the whole, we thought Karon was excellent, but next time we go, i think we'll stop in the hotel next door called Wild Fire.

  • Stayed March 2006
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
16 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxon, UK
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2005

The hotel is right infront of the beach, on the main Karon strip. Cross the road, and the sea awaits. Our trip was pre-tsunami, but I don't think the strip was badly affected.

The hotel itself was pretty faultless. Our room was large, clean and modern, with a fridge, bath toilet, TV etc. The air-con was essential and kept the room at a great cool-off temperature when we had been out. The staff were very good, especially the security guy, who cleared the road everytime we crossed to the beach. Very friendly, like all Thai's.

The pool is small, and getting a lounger was tricky sometimes, but do you really want to go all that way to sit by a hotel pool? We ate twice - breakfast once, and dinner the night we arrived. The food was really good, but very expensive (UK prices). Have a wonder to the Islandia Park Resort (a market/bar area) two minutes around the corner, eat for 1/4 of the price, and support the little guy. Same with drinks, so we stocked the fridge with local beers (singah, Chang, Leo) and drank them on the balcany.

We has Thai massages/treatments in the hotel, but the games room and BBQ area were closed. The gym is small, but very quiet.

Karon itself is a one-horse-town, with enough resturants & bars to choose from, all essential shops, but nothing much else, except the beach. There is a small market, chemist, bank, etc. It was very peaceful with only a few other tourists when we went. Patong is about 15 mins away, and has much more to do, but gets very busy. I'm glad we chose Karon.

The people were the best thing (apart from the weather - always sunny). Everyone was friendly, helpful and genuine. You do get all the tailors calling you in for a suit (great value, barter hard), etc, but it's very good natured, and they are in no way threatening - just persistant. I twisted an ankle on the rubbishy pavements, and wherever I went, everyone we had walked past over the previous few days came out to see if I was OK, and to offer advise.

A couple of days we went on trips out - I'd definately recommend a speedboat trip for the swimming/diving and the various islands you'll visit. (Indluding "The Beach/Pi Pi/James Bond Island)" They are the same price everywhere as quoted by the hotel rep, about £30 each I think. We also went elephant riding, not really my thing, but the girlfriend loved it.

All in all, a great place to go. Hotel a great base, Phuket a fantastic island with lots going on, and Karon very tranquil and friendly. Only two downsides - very poor pavements, beware, I wasn't... and the sea is not suitable for swimming in out of high season. Go to Patong for sea swimming.

  • Stayed August 2004
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
27 Thank Black_Rocko_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2005

Excellent hotel, fantastic location, superb value for money. We loved our time here! The staff were also very friendly and helpful. Rooms were modern, clean and spacious.

We would definately return to this hotel!

  • Stayed June 2002
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hovden, Norway
Level Contributor
79 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2005

Stayed 3 weeks in feb 2004, and had a good time in this hotel. Friendly and helpful staff. Location was perfect, close to the beach, walking distance to restaurants etc. I negotiated a rebate and got good value for my money. Will be back in feb 2005 even after the Sunami, which did not hit this hotel.
Sletten, Norway

  • Stayed February 2004
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
13 Thank Havard2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Karon hotels
0.0 mi away
Waterfront Suites Phuket by Centara
0.1 mi away
Lap Roi Karon Beachfront
Lap Roi Karon Beachfront
#110 of 132 in Karon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
0.5 mi away
Novotel Phuket Karon Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Karon Princess Hotel
Karon Princess Hotel
#87 of 132 in Karon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Sunset Hotel
Grand Sunset Hotel
#80 of 132 in Karon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
0.5 mi away
In on the Beach
In on the Beach
#98 of 132 in Karon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Phuket Southsea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Phuket Southsea

Property: Ramada Phuket Southsea
Address: 204 Karon Beach Road, Karon, Phuket 83100, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Karon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#34 On the Beach Hotel in Karon
#34 Top resorts Hotel in Karon
#45 Spa Hotel in Karon
#55 Luxury Hotel in Karon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Ramada Phuket Southsea 4*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ramada Phuket South Sea, a beach front resort located at Karon Beach offers an idyllic destination for truly unforgettable vacations at one of the most tranquil beaches in Phuket. Experience an astonishing refinement with modern Thai design amidst exotic surroundings that defines true beach vacation. It’s a perfect retreat for those looking for beach holiday or romantic getaway to a luxurious tropical paradise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, TravelUp, Agoda and Southall Travel so you can book your Ramada Phuket Southsea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Phuket South Sea Hotel Karon
South Sea Karon Hotel
Ramada Phuket Southsea Karon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing