We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Front Village Hotel
Ranked #76 of 134 Hotels in Karon
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
Reviewed 6 February 2014

We stayed here for our honeymoon and had higher expectations. The first thing I noticed when I walked in was the finger prints on the sliding door indicating it was not cleaned properly. I then went into the bathroom and noticed that it had even cleaned but by out Australian standees was still quite filthy (toilet and shower).
However the staff we loverly and helpful and the pool was great and the gardens are beautiful. The bed was very hard and we had to ask for something to make it softer which they did very promptly. Breakfast was disjoin ting, a little bland not our cup of tea but the fruit is loverly. They also had a fantastic Thai buffet one Monday night which was really good. This pace has the potential to be so much better however the rooms need a serious upgrade!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hollyjane1991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    74
    106
    36
    7
    5
See reviews for
36
125
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2014

My husband and I stayed here in mid january. We are very friendly aussies but didn't find the hotel guests very friendly though. The staff were very friendly and the pool bar was nice and not too busy. They also have a couple of basketball hoops to throw balls into for fun.

It's in a good location only down the road from the main part of town but also close to the beach.. Our room was a pool access room which was fantastic and had a bit of privacy with very well manicured gardens around.

Lots of stray dogs around the place which is pretty sad as I don't think there is an animal welfare in the area,.

The breakfast was definately not our cup of tea. Nothing really appealing there at all.

A very nice hotel too look at with security at the front.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cleo122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamina, Finland
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2014

Front Village is very nice hotel and stuff is usually very helpful and friendly. Since this is not very big hotel, they get to know you and really make you feel like home. Our room was spacious, tidy and cleaned daily. There wasn't any problem at all during our 2 week stay.

Breakfast isn't anything special, but there is everything you need. Couple of warm options, and then fruits, vegetables, breads, omelettes... Coffee and tea is served to you which is nice. Pool is good as well, poolbar is handy and there is happy hour every day (buy 1 get 1 free). There is plenty of sunbeds and garden is pretty too. We would definitely recommend this hotel, it's a value for money.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the pool got sunshine nearly all day, and you can also view sunset there on your balcon...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank huuti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diamond Beach, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2013

I booked this hotel for my husband and myself for a relaxing 9 days following a busier atmosphere in Patong.
The staff in this hotel were some of the best I have ever encountered while on holidays.
All requests were attended quickly and resolved without any fuss and with a smile.
The only complaint I have is that the bathrooms are due for an update the shower over the
bath is a pain. Breakfast is great a wide variety of foods for all tastes.
From the hotel it is only a short walk to the beach and the main town centre.
I will definitely stay again in the future.

Room Tip: I had a pool access room and loved it. Room 113
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynjane50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2013

Rooms & staff: Hotel & rooms were beautiful, spacious & clean, comfy bed & we got an ocean view/lakeview room on the top 4th floor (room 142) above the treeline for a better view of the ocean . Nice pools with waterfall & jacuzzi.

Everyone from reception to the restaurant, bell hops, & house cleaning were helpful, friendly, smiling & great customer service befitting that of a 5-star hotel

Anything that was asked for was done with a cheerful smile & everyone went out of their way to be helpful & staff spoke/understood English so communication was never a problem

Food: Tea/coffee cups were cheerfully filled without asking, hot breakfast was great with good variety ranging from bacon, eggs/omelettes custom cooked to order, ham, French toast/pancakes, pasta/spaghetti, salad bar, fresh fruit & good Thai dishes like pineapple fried rice, noodles, fish, etc

Location: It's straight across the street (Patak Road) from the beach & lake, less than 3 minutes short walk to the nice beach & beach restaurants.

Karon is nicer & cleaner than Patong --the further south you go, the cleaner Phuket is.

Patong is where you go if you want to party or single but Karon, Kata, & Nai Harn is where you go if you're couples or family & prefer quieter, less crowded, & cleaner more beautiful beaches the farther south you go.

The main shopping/restaurant area is further south about 10 minutes walk to the Karon main traffic circle & recommend that you cross the street & take the more scenic lakeside path along the nice beach/lake instead of the street Patak Road because the traffic on the street can be busy & the street itself is dirty but the hotel itself is beautiful.

Room Tip: If you want an ocean view, ask for the top 4th floor with a better view of the beautiful ocean above...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JasonDeluxHun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cuiaba, MT
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2013

This hotel is very comfortable, beautiful and with nice staff. Some things could be better prepared the staff for the care of some things unforeseen. The breakfast is great, I can compare as almost a lunch.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Keila N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2013

My family and I stayed here during the September school holidays. We booked our accommodation on Hotel.com, 2 rooms at a 55% discounted rate. The full rate was significantly cheaper than the other hotels we had stayed in the area, so we were anxious that the facilities and standard of service would be low, this was not the case. We booked two rooms, one for my wife and I and the other for the children.
We arrived quite early to Phuket as the flight from Australia left late at night, this got us to the hotel around 9:30am. We had not advised the hotel of our arrival time so expected from previous experience to not get access to our room until the 2pm check inn time, this was not the case, upon arrival, we were advised our rooms would be made up straight away and adjoining rooms with interconnecting door arranged.
The rooms were clean and well kept, bed comfortable and flat screen TV. Regular maintenance appeared a priority of the staff.
The room rate included breakfast daily, this was smorgasbord style with plenty of options to put on some Kg's. The staff were constantly refilling tea and coffee without prompting, in general the staff can not do enough for you.
The wifi is pricey, we chose to 3G data sims from the Blue mart (250mts up road), this was about a quarter of the cost and allowed you to take phone or iPad with you anywhere (came in handy for directions and trip advisor searches for restaurants and things to do).
Towels were provided to the room by the hotel for both pool and bath, these were changed daily and room cleaned well.
The only negative was the zircon in our room got a bit noisy at night, we found after a few days though that if left on all day no required at night.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Karon hotels
0.1 mi away
In on the Beach
In on the Beach
#102 of 134 in Karon
130 reviews
0.7 mi away
Baan Karonburi Resort
Baan Karonburi Resort
#65 of 134 in Karon
332 reviews
0.1 mi away
Chanalai Hillside Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
On the Hill Karon Resort
On the Hill Karon Resort
#60 of 134 in Karon
74 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Phuket Ocean Resort
0.3 mi away
Sugar Marina Resort - ART
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Front Village Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Front Village Hotel

Property: The Front Village Hotel
Address: 566 Patak Rd. | Karon Beach, Karon, Phuket 83100, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Karon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#40 Spa Hotel in Karon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Front Village Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set against a backdrop of magnificent mountains and nestled in lush tropical gardens, in a secluded part of north Karon in Phuket, the Front Village is perfect for an exotic getaway. The resort features distinctive Sino-Portuguese architecture and every one of the 71 elegant guest rooms boasts stunning sea views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Front Village Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Front Village Hotel
Front Village Karon
The Front Village Hotel Phuket/Karon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing