We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mandarava Resort and Spa
Ranked #7 of 133 Hotels in Karon
Certificate of Excellence
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
69 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 190 helpful votes
“Enjoyable stay”
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Our recent trip to Phuket wouldn't be so enjoyable without staying at Mandarava Resort and Spa. This was our 3rd time to Phuket and we used to stay at Patong and Cape Panwa in our last trips. This time, we decided Karon and has picked Mandarava. It turned out to be a good choice.

We had a bit of trouble finding the resort by driving (we rent a car). Called the reception and they directed us to reach the resort. Check-in was smooth and we were greeted with cold tower and drinks while waiting.

We spent 4D/3N at Horizon Deluxe Room (2118). Our room was spacious, clean and nicely decorated. It was located near Mango Pool and Chom Talay Restaurant (for breakfast). What I love was the swimming pool view!

Breakfast at Chom Talay Restaurant was superb. Loved the variety and do try their Pork Porridge if it's available.

Below was what we encountered during our stay:-

1) During 1st night around 10.15pm, a group of people were drinking and making noise near the swimming pool (Mango pool). Called the reception and they handled the situation quickly and followed up with me within 15 mins. Thumbs up for the speedy action.

2) Water temperature at basin. We were annoyed by the water temperature as it was either too hot or too cold. The temperature just don't correspond accordingly.

3) We find the room a bit dark at night, perhaps the management can improve this.

Overall we still find our stay enjoyable and would definitely recommend it.

Room Tip: Go for Horizon Deluxe Room if budget permits, you won't regret it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank chang24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Management M, Manager at Mandarava Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Dear Khun chang24,

Thank you for your great and really positive review shared back. I have taken note and will look into points you suggest and will find solutions for that. Happy to learn amidst from minors inconvenience you still had a great time stay with us and will recommmend the hotel to others.

We look forward to serve you again for coming future.

Warmest regards,
Alex P
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,903 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,344
    437
    83
    25
    14
See reviews for
249
1,207
51
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (425)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Gold Coast, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

The reason why we ended up staying at the Mandarava is because it was part of a 7 night group on deal. We were so happy with this resort. It is close to the beach while still being away from the town. It is gorgeous and serene, with a great view, fantastic staff and beautiful rooms. Would definitely go back to this resort whenever we go back to Phuket. Absolutely beautiful.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 413CsMITH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Management M, Manager at Mandarava Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Dear Khun 413CsMITH,

Thank you for spending your specious time review us after your holidays. The most delighted to learn you enjoyed your stay and we will be choosed again if come back to Phuket.

Please feel free to contact us to help you plan your next visit when you are ready.

Warmest regards,
Alex P
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 July 2014

We recently bought a 7 night holiday on a groupon deal and we were so delighted with this resort. We had a deluxe room with ocean glimpses which was really breathtaking. We loved that the resort had a main pool and then two smaller ones on each side of the resort for somewhere more secluded. The staff were exceptionally friendly and helpful and the restaurant was divine - the daily buffet breakfasts were a real treat with so much variety. The only slightly negative thing I would say is that the resort is set high on a hill and you have to climb heaps of stairs on your way to and from your room, but it made us super fit by the end of the trip. A truly beautiful resort in peaceful surroundings. Thanks for a great trip and your wonderful hospitality Mandarava !

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lana742014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Management M, Manager at Mandarava Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Dear Khun Lana742014,

Thank you for sharing your holidays feed back. The most delighted to know you enjoyed your break and the steps here make you more fit by the time back home and office.

We look forward to serve you again when come back to Phuket, Karon beach

Warmest regards,
Alex P
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

My boyfriend and I were looking for somewhere that is not in the heart of the "touristy" place but still has convenient access to the beach and whatnot. Turns out that Mandarava is the place!

Booked a 5-day panoramic view deluxe room stay through Groupon and were initially skeptical about it but we were so blown away the moment we reached Mandarava! Nice lobby, friendly concierge staff and receptionist, swift check-in. Not forgetting the yummy lemon grass welcome drink. The concierge staff took our luggages and brought us to our room on a buggy after we've checked in.

Room:

Like mentioned in the other reviews, the room was clean and spacious. Housekeeping was done meticulously by the friendly chambermaids, and bottles of water was replaced. Each room comes with a ceiling fan as well which means you have the option of sleeping without the air-con. Good news for people who have sensitive noses! Another plus point is that the room has nightlights which are perfect for illuminating the room but still allow light sleepers to fall asleep properly.

Bathroom:

The bathroom was also very spacious. Separate tub, shower, and WC. The tub was big enough to fit 2 and the interesting thing is that the interior design of the bathroom allows sunlight to enter while ensuring that your privacy isn't violated.

Restaurant:

We were glad that the Chom Talay restaurant was just a few steps away from our room. The breakfast buffet and a-la-carte selections there were extensive. The latter was also reasonably priced. Certain seats in the restaurant allow you to enjoy the sea breeze and the view of the Karon sea. They were, of course, our favourite. Needless to say, the juices and seafood were all very fresh. The restaurant staff were very friendly and well-informed about their job. Bonus points for preparing ginger tea when I asked for it but the drink was not on the menu!

Location + Services:

Some of you may have read that Mandarava is located on a hill. But that isn't a problem at all! The walk to the foot of the hill is lesser than 10 minutes and there are eateries along the way. There is a shop at the foot of the hill, just before you hit the main road, owned by 2 siblings providing car and bike rental services (very reasonably priced and so convenient when you have to return the vehicle), and tour packages. We rented a small Toyota for 1 day and drove around half of Phuket. Remember to get a map from the resort's receptionist! No license was needed but do bring your passport along to leave it there as deposit.

There is a 7-11 store around 3 minutes away from the foot of the hill which you can grab your cup noodles and top-up card. Lots of massage parlours and eateries on the streets as well. Mandarava is around 10-15 minutes away from Wat Karon (Karon Temple). Be sure to check out the temple's night market that is only opened on Tuesdays and Saturdays. The resort is also around 10-15 minutes away from Karon Beach. Alternatively, you can take the free two-way shuttle service to Karon Beach from Mandarava. Shuttle service to Patong's Jungceylon Shopping Centre is also available at a minimal fee!

Mandarava sure knows how to take care of its guests. 3 pools, in-house spa services, bar, pool table, tennis court, scheduled daily activities (Thursdays are yoga-by-the-pool days!), shuttle services are just some of the things that make us want to stay in the resort every day during our stay in Phuket.

We will definitely be back for Mandarava and Phuket!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank CaifengP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Management M, Manager at Mandarava Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Dear Khun CaifengP,

Thank you for spending your specious time after your holidays reviewed us with details and positive experiences. We are delighted to learn you enjoyed hotel facilities and services.

Your supportive to recommend to friends and family members will be much more appreciated.

We look forward to serve you again for coming future.

Warmest regards,
Alex P
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sydney
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 July 2014 via mobile

It offers an amazing outlook, service and clean rooms. There are 3 pools, all not overly crowded with clean water which they clean everyday. The breakfast buffet has good and extensive food, and their food is generally really nice and reasonably priced.
The only let down was the location, but even so they offer free transport to the karon beach (or you could even walk if you wanted to) or to patong for a small price. The service was without a doubt really pleasing!
Overall very satisfied that i chose this resort. Very very impressed and have a good impression of resorts in thailand.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2xhan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Management M, Manager at Mandarava Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Dear Khun 2xhan,

Thank you for sharing your holidays experiences. Very happy to learn you impressed with hotel in all aspects and had a wonderful stay.

We look forward to serve you again for coming future.

Warmest regards,
Alex P
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2014 via mobile

Away from the madness of Patong. Small walk to the beach and bars. It is on a hill but no problem for healthy people might struggle if your not - but do offer a shuttle service.

The hotel is fantastic would stay again.

Beware taxi mafia runs in karon. You will have to pay far too much for taxis. So don't bother arguing it's not worth it. But that's not the hotels fault.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Uche O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Management M, Manager at Mandarava Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Dear Khun Uche O,

Thank you for your feed back shared after a holidays. Very happy to learn you enjoyed the stay and will return and we are terribly sorry about an inconvenience caused in regard the karon local taxi and as said it's beyond our good hand to correct anything there.

We look forward to serve you again for coming future

Warmest regards,
Alex P
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Great reviews on trip advisor encouraged us to book our getaway at the Mandarava and we are not disappointed at all. Beautiful people, exceptional service, fabulous Facilities, wonderful dining, this resort is simply the best we have stayed in. We had a little issue which was not a fault of the hotel at all and they dealt with it promptly and far exceeded our expectations. Bali has been our destination of choice up until now as it is so convenient to Perth however we are now Karon converts for sure. Well done Mandarava, we will be back!

Room Tip: Top level rooms enjoy an ocean view if you don't mind a few steps.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Management M, Manager at Mandarava Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Dear Khun Mark N,

Thank you for reviewing us and shared your experienced. We are happy to know hotel facilities as well as services are met with your expectation. The entire team will be shared with your compliments message and we will make sure to maintain, carry on qualities works for our customers satisfaction.

We look forward to serve you again for coming future.

Warmes regards,
Alex P
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Karon
20.7 mi away
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
2.1 mi away
Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa
6.1 mi away
Navatara Phuket Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Avista Hideaway Phuket Patong, MGallery by Sofitel
3.1 mi away
Nook Dee Boutique Resort by Andacura
0.5 mi away
Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mandarava Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandarava Resort and Spa

Property: Mandarava Resort and Spa
Address: 14/2 Patak Road, Soi 24, Karon Beach, Karon, Phuket 83110, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Karon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Karon
#3 Romantic Hotel in Karon
#3 Family Hotel in Karon
#6 Luxury Hotel in Karon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Mandarava Resort and Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 130
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Southall Travel, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Mandarava Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mandarava Resort And Spa Phuket/Karon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing