We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Mandarava rave”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mandarava Resort and Spa
Ranked #7 of 132 Hotels in Karon
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The Mandarava rave”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2014

This was our first trip to Asia and the Mandarava exceeded our expectations. Some websites rate this resort as 4 star but we couldn't see what more could be offered here. The resort was in a great location, very quiet, views of the jungle and ocean, yet close to the beaches and shopping areas. Staff at the resort called taxis for us whenever we needed them, with a 50 TBH discount on the normal price, and gave us great advise on tours and organised a personal driver for an afternoon's sightseeing (which was a very cost effective and efficient way to get around). The staff were all very friendly and service was excellent, including prompt room (and poolside) meal service. We loved the view from the open-air restaurant and all the food was excellent especially the daily buffet breakfasts included in our Scoopon deal. The swimming pools were large and clean (although featuring lots of mosaic-tiles that had come lose!) The onsite spa was excellent (if more expensive than the local massage shops) with an extensive range of services and very competent masseuses. We would definitely recommend this resort and would love to stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank miksonia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Management M, Manager at Mandarava Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Dear Khun miksonia,

Thank you for spending your specious time review us on trip advisort. We are delighted to know you enjoyed hotel services and facilities. Your great words to support by recommending to others is really appreciated.

Please contact us to help you plan your next return visit when you are ready.

Warmest regards,
Alex P
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,835 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,294
    424
    80
    24
    13
See reviews for
242
1,162
48
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (406)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2014

Myself and a friend, both 21 stayed at Mandarava Resort for 4 nights at the end of a month long stay travelling around Thailand. We had a fantastic stay from start to finish. We stayed in a horizon room in a single storey villa near the main Mango pool. The room was very spacious, modern extremely clean and nicely furnished with a large balcony. The bathroom was large with a separate room with a bath, again very clean. The hotel grounds are very well maintained with 3 pools. Despite the hotel being full it never felt busy, with plenty of sunbeds available.
The food at the hotel was very good, with an extensive breakfast. We also ate in the restaurant for dinner one evening and had lunch from the Mango pool bar and the food was lovely. We would also recommended the happy hour cocktails, particularly the mango daquiri!
All of the staff are extremely pleasant, friendly and polite, always greeting you with a smile.
The hotel is located very near to Karon beach, and a hotel shuttle bus is provided although it is close enough to walk. It is also about 15minutes from the Patong area.
This hotel was a fantastic way to finish our stay in Thailand and we did not want to leave, it was ideal for a relaxing few days and we could not recommend it enough to anyone who is looking for a luxurious hotel in Phuket. We would definitely stay here again should we return to Thailand.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Perera_n1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Management M, Manager at Mandarava Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Dear Khun Perera_n1,

Thank you for sharing how you thoughts about Mandarava resort & Spa after your holidays. Totally happy to know you had a wonderful stay and will recommend as well as return your visit.

Please feel free to contact us to support you with your plan when you are ready.

Warmest regards,
Alex P
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014

Mandarava Resort was chosen as it had great pools and seemed to be secluded paradise. It didn't disappoint!
My large bungalow was clean, nicely decorated and had a great bathroom to pamper yourself in.
The Resort is back from the beach (10 minute walk) and on the side of a hill - so like many Thai Hotels has a number of stairs involved. But if, like myself, you don't plan on moving much then it's fine. My room was located near the Spa at the top of the resort and very close to the main pool. Perfect spot. There's two more pools on the lower levels of the hotel - and because of this it never seemed crowded at the main pool.
The breakfasts were great, the room service prompt and extremely tasty - and the staff were all very friendly.
I recommend this to anyone who would like a few days escape in beautiful surroundings and large rooms.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Management M, Manager at Mandarava Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Dear Khun Tim L,

Thank you for your great review shared after your holidays. We are happy to learn you enjoyed the stay and hotel is met with your expectation.

We look forward to serve you again for coming future.

Warmest regards,
Alex P
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014 via mobile

Room was clean and spacious. Sinking bath tub was amazing. Staff were really friendly and always gave you a big thai smile. Pool was nice except for tiles coming off. 10 mins from Patong so away from the busyness but not too far if you want to go there.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank ElliotEmma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Management M, Manager at Mandarava Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear Khun ElliotEmma,

Thank you for your nice review after a holidays in July. The most delighted to know you enjoyed services and hotel facilities. Our main pool " The Mango" will be closed Sep 16-30, 2014 inclusive to correct the leakage as well as tiles problems.

Once again thank you very much and we look forward to serve you again for coming future.

Warmest regards,
Alex P
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mangawhai
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014

We couldn't have had a more enjoyable five days. We were very lucky with the weather, only rained the day we were leaving. Breakfast included in the room rate was excellent, menu food top class and one of the first hotels we have stayed at that room service arrived hot including the very good lattes. Very happy obliging staff. There are a lot of stairs as Mandarava is situated on a hill overlooking Karan Beach. The pools are fantastic, lovely loungers, plenty of umbrellas gorgeous gardens. The resort is a bit of a walk from the beach and shops but the resort provides free transport to the beach and back as well. A tuk tuk is also a very cheap ride back. We would go again.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 958Carol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Management M, Manager at Mandarava Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear Khun 958Carol,

Thank you for spending your specious time reviewed and shared how you thoughts about Mandarava resort & Spa. Totally happy to learn you had a great time and will support to recommend to others.

We look forward to serve you again and please feel free to contact us for any assistance you will require.

Warmest regards,
Alex P
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014

We stayed at Mandarava in Aug 2014 for 8 nights, the reason we chose this resort was based on the great reviews it receives on Trip advisor and we were NOT disappointed.

This resort is clean and friendly, the staff at reception speak very good english and were very helpful.

It costs 200 baht to get a taxi to Karon beach which is pretty good on a hot day.

We found our room to be clean and comfortable. The only thing we could fault was the mattress on our bed which was way too firm for our liking and was a bit uncomfortable, how ever this could be just our personal taste.

Also i was under the impression that it was a child free resort, which was a bonus as we were travelling with no kids, but there were kids in the pool almost every day. So i must have gotten that info wrong.

Our room was cleaned daily and the cleaners respected our belongings and were very friendly. The resort's prices are dearer then other bars and restaurants locally but that is the same as all resorts so that is normal.

There is a lot of steps and hills in this resort so if you have mobility issues i would not recommend this resort however, if you are able bodied and fairly fit you will be fine.

we had one little hick up when we arrived, and that is probably not the resorts fault, our flights and transfers got us to the resort at 9am and after travelling for 24 hours we were very keen to check in to our room and sleep, however we were unable to check in to our room until 1pm. but like i said, this is more the fault of our travel agent that should have arranged an early check in, not so much the resort that has a standard check in time of 2pm.

i would recommend this resort to anyone, and would stay there again any day!

Room Tip: our room was 2221 and we had a full view of the main pool and pool bar which was a little noisy at t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kyldon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Management M, Manager at Mandarava Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear Khun Kyldon,

Thank you for your great and positive comments shared after your holidays. We are delighted to know you had a wonderful time amidst some minor issues. Hotel concept has been changed since April 2014 to accept children of all ages. We actually have already add on top of all rooms' mattress a softener one, but if still not good enough, our housekeeper team will be ready to support at all times.

Your kind support to spread your words around to friends and family members will be much more appreciated.

We look forward to serve you again at your 2nd home away from home and please feel free to contact us to help you plan your next visit.

Warmest regards,
Alex P
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014

My husband and I spent four days here for our honeymoon and thoroughly enjoyed it. Our room was lovely and overlooked the pool below. From our deck we could see Karon Beach and we could hear the waves which was neat. The breakfasts were divine!!! Most mornings we ate up large and that completely satisfied us till late afternoon! Staff were wonderful - very helpful, polite and always had a smile. The pool bar was very cool and there is also a really neat bar beside the restaurant which does a happy hour each evening. The grounds were gorgeous and landscaping was beautiful.....I feel inspired to redesign our courtyard with a lovely tropical Thai theme now!! We both had a fantastic time here and would highly recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liz K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Management M, Manager at Mandarava Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear Khun Liz K,

Thank you for sharing your great comments after a holidays. We are happy to learn hotel is met with your expectation and you had a wonderful time. A word to support our hotel by recommending to others is really appreciated.

We look forward to serve you again for coming future.

Warmest regards,
Alex P
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Karon
20.7 mi away
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
2.1 mi away
Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa
6.1 mi away
Navatara Phuket Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Avista Hideaway Phuket Patong, MGallery by Sofitel
0.5 mi away
Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket
3.1 mi away
Nook Dee Boutique Resort by Andacura
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mandarava Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandarava Resort and Spa

Property: Mandarava Resort and Spa
Address: 14/2 Patak Road, Soi 24, Karon Beach, Karon, Phuket 83110, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Karon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Karon
#3 Family Hotel in Karon
#3 Romantic Hotel in Karon
#6 Luxury Hotel in Karon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Mandarava Resort and Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 130
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Southall Travel, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TravelUp, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Mandarava Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mandarava Resort And Spa Phuket/Karon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing