We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value thai meal”
Review of Mama Noi'is

Mama Noi'is
Ranked #174 of 359 Restaurants in Karon
Cuisines: Thai
Restaurant details
midlands
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Good value thai meal”
Reviewed 7 May 2013

Went here 2 nights and really enjoyed it. Best value money meal in karon and they do a cracking glass of red wine. Basic surroundings but cool, clean and service was good even though they were busy. This place is more difficult to find, its at the kata end of karon on a street back from the beach.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank medeakin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    22
    4
    9
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Our favourite in Kata”
Reviewed 22 April 2013

Its slight rustic look is deceiving, the staff are lovely and even the tout isn't aggressive. The free salad bar wasn't really up our street, but the thai food on offer on the menu was delicious and the staff even laughed at my husbands silly jokes which never happens.

Overall we couldn't believe the value for money for the food we had and we left very happy. I recommend the red chicken curry - I didn't get a nicer one in Phuket.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jaidey123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Don't know why people fancy it so much”
Reviewed 13 March 2013

the burger was good but besides that, the thai dishes we tried were disappointing..

the pork with special sauce was toooooo oily (I had to use kitchen towel to absorb the oil).. the massaman chicken was tender but too sweet for my taste.. banana milkshake was average too.. seriously, there are much better thai food out there..

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank babyblue28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Dont be deceived by the appearance... Delicious food!”
Reviewed 8 March 2013

We walked from Movenpick, Karon to find the restaurant. Im not sure of the road name except it is just off the patak road (east). If you are on the corner of this road and luang poh chuang road then take a left in the direction of patong, walk past 2gether restaurant towards the banks. It is just past the bank on the left, just off the msin road.
When we arrived it reminded me off a builders cafe in London... we sat down and were brought menus though got our drinks from the fridge and went up to order at counter.
We ordered thai basil with chicken, glass noodles with veg & chicken, egg fried rice and pork. It was so delicious!! With 3 beers and cokes each it all came to under 700baht. Amazing food and fantastic value!
We went because if the reviews... thank god for the reviews or we would have missed out on this little gem!!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank chloeuu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hsinchu. Taiwan
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Cheap but Good!”
Reviewed 11 February 2013

Right next to our guesthouse so really convenient for us. Has all the main Thai dishes which are very reasonably priced. Also has a wide variety of pastas and other international fair. Really enjoyed the fried thai macaroni and the shakes.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank larsbigbird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mama Noi'is also viewed

Phuket Town, Phuket
 
Kata Beach, Karon
Kata Beach, Karon
 

Been to Mama Noi'is? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing