We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel and location”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Old Phuket

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Old Phuket
Ranked #27 of 132 Hotels in Karon
Certificate of Excellence
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good hotel and location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2012

I stayed at the Old Phuket Hotel from 22 May to 1 June 2012, I really enjoyed my stay at the hotel, I had a nice view on the ocean from my room (Sino wing). The hotel is close to the beach and the area is not overcrowded. The hotel had a lovely breakfast spread, they catered for most peoples needs when it comes to breakfast. The reception staff were friendly and helpful as well as the lady at the tours desk. The one thing that the hotel needs to look at is the coffee mugs in the rooms, they were stained, they should either try to bleach them or replace them, I never had any coffee in the room because of the cups.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lonetraveller1424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,743 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    755
    696
    189
    60
    43
See reviews for
327
925
73
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (529)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2012

Were advised from our travel agent to stay here. will not be taking her advice ever again! after arriving late, we go to our room located in the sino wing, only to find sand all over the room, which of course my partner brought into bed...i had a shower first only to discover the plug was stuck in the bottom of the bath, so i ended up standing in all the water i had just washed my hair with..then i go to lay in bed only to realise there is some sort of generator behind the wall our bed head is against. so i complained and got us moved to another room..which was of the same quality (disgusting and tired). the balcony of this new room flooded the next couple of days from the rain so we were moved again...'upgraded' to a spa suite! ( here we were thinking we had finally scored) only to get there and it is exactly the same room except there is a spa on the balcony...full of mould and god knows what else. disgusting..would never go back there..oh and the front desk staff are unorganised and not helpful at all.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tblank_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canggu, Indonesia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2012

We booked a Pool Access room in the Serene Wing for an early June 2012 stay of six nights. After getting the "lay of the land" of Kata, Karon and Patong, we discovered that The Old Phuket was actually located in a bit of a wasteland, 20 mins walk to the heart of Karon, and a surprisingly expensive tuk tuk ride to Kata or Patong. We found the transport issue expensive and frustrating. The hotel doesn't offer enough shuttles and ordering a taxi or tuk tuk means you surrender the right to negotiate the price - you are told what to pay. A little off-putting, particularly since one of our taxis turned out to be the hotel shuttle bus!!

Despite TA reviews saying there were plenty of great restaurants very close to this hotel, we found that wasn't the case. The food was terrible, both at breakfast in the hotel and in the nearby restaurants - almost inedible. Having to work on-line during this holiday, we pre-purchased in-room WiFi, which turned out to be 7 hours of expensive, slow and intermittent access per day. If you used up these credits, you had to buy more. The other odd thing about our visit was the attitude of the staff at the hotel. They were surly, unresponsive, had extremely poor English listening and speaking skills, and were very, very disinterested in assisting guests with anything at all.

Our room airconditioner was pre-set so we couldn't choose our own level of comfort. We both woke up in a sweat each morning - they obviously turn the heat up during the night to save on electricity. The beds (as noted in other reviews) are very hard!

On check-out (at 03.30am) having settled our account the previous evening, they tried to charge us for some foam dispenser they said we took from the room. At 03.30am we were having none of it, so they waved us away. Note: if your transfer is "after hours" it will be an additional 33%.

Will return to Phuket but will not stay in Karon Beach.

Room Tip: Pool Access Room 2101 has sunshine on it's terrace all day (in June).
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bali4ever_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2012

Myself and my son stayed at the Old Phuket for 8 days, during April 2012 on the high recommendations of our travel agent! Our experience with this Hotel has left us with a bad taste. Upon departure on our last day, I discovered I was missing two items of duty free from my suitcase...when I approached management to my surprise they blamed me instead!! I was appalled with the unprofessional way they handled my complaint and their lack of investigation into the matter!! I found the reception staff to be very unfriendly, rude and abrupt during our stay even asking for directions seemed like an effort for them!! The stay itself was disappointing as the rooms although quite clean, are small and very dilapidated and in desperate need of restoring!! We stayed in a portugese style room and the water from the shower leaked through the window shutters, down the wall and onto the floor resulting in the room being damp and me having to constantly mop up the excess water after each shower!! The beds were very hard and very uncomfortable!! If you choose to stay here I would highly recommend paying extra to stay in the pool access rooms as they have been refurbished! The location was fantastic, plenty to see and do, 2 minutes walk to Karon beach and night markets! Great selection of Restaurants that serve terrfic food adjacent to the Hotel that are inexpensive!! The breakfast buffet was pretty standard, however the choice was excellent! The swimming pool wasn't much to rave about, opens too late 10am, especially for families with children, who are dying for an early swim! The Hotel offers a free shuttle bus to Patong, which we discovered you needed to book weeks in advance, as they only take 20 guests and there is only 1 shuttle bus!! We missed this service and decided to take a cab ride ourselves which is quite expensive 450baht considering the short distance! Avoid using the internet at the Hotel as it is very expensive! I suggest you use the internet cafe on the main road opposite the main entrance of the Hotel as it is only 20baht for 1 hour!! I consider this property to be 3.5 star rather than the 4 it claims...obviously you get what you pay for!! I would definitely not stay there again let alone recommend this Hotel to family and friends...as there are much nicer Hotels to stay in Karon Beach!!

Room Tip: Pay extra and stay in the Pool Access Rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ursh22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2012 via mobile

I booked the hotel from airasiago website, cost me around 1400baht. They upgraded us to deluxe room located at sino wing which is very near to the beach, i think because it was low peak season so occupancy is low.

Hotel location is good, around 20mins away frm hustle patong, tuktuk would costs u around 400baht. Shops are around, no worries about eatery, mart or bars. Im quite regret for spending too many nights in patong area, should have moved down earlier.

Breakfast was good for the cost im paying. But they started to pack around 10.15am instead of 1030 as stated, so better wake up early!

Pool located at serene wing is nice and spacious. Most important is karon beach is just across the road, we enjoyed the sandy beach and crystal clear water.

Room decor for sino wing is more like sino-portuguese style, which is similar to melaka baba-nyonya style ( if u ve been to malaysia) i like the shower concept which u can see in some photos shared by others.

On the recreational part, the hotel didnt fail us. There is a table tennis and gym room.

Staff are helpful too, i would like to give credit to ms Pui who helped me to called and confirm on my next hotel destination evan its out of her scope.

Only fall back is the hotel do not provide free wifi, which you have to purchase at 200baht for 2hrs credit. And also hotel do provide free shuttle to SUNDAY MARKET, but when i tried to book one day ahead, i was informed seats are full, ended up i have to spend another 950baht to go to the town.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank SheanneLee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2012

We recently stayed at the Old Phuket..We were greeted at the airport by a smiling local driver, who explained alot of the local areas as we drove to our hotel..We were upgraded to the private jacquzzi room in the Sino wing and it was lovely..The locationof the Old Phuket was fabulous as we walked to the local market, ate in restaurants only about 200 mtrs up the road, and ventured into Patong via taxi and tuktuk..The beach was just across the main road and we swam alot in the pool in the Sino complex..We have only been home a week and already contemplating going back again with friends this time before the end of the year..Cannot speak more highly of the staff or the beautiful complex and location..Thank you for wonderful memories ...the Old Phuket is on the top of our list for stays in Thailand..

Room Tip: Private Jacquzzi room in the Sino wing..
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Louvaines
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phuket Town
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2012

The Old Phuket was a great choice. It's location couldn't be better and the staff was great. We are coming back soon.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
7 Thank Saul R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Karon hotels
0.7 mi away
Novotel Phuket Karon Beach Resort & Spa
0.8 mi away
Andaman Seaview Hotel
Andaman Seaview Hotel
#18 of 132 in Karon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,185 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Sunset Hotel
Grand Sunset Hotel
#87 of 132 in Karon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Baan Karonburi Resort
Baan Karonburi Resort
#67 of 132 in Karon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 309 reviews
0.3 mi away
Karon Sea Sands Resort & Spa
0.4 mi away
Centara Karon Resort Phuket
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Phuket? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Phuket

Property: The Old Phuket
Address: 192/36 Karon Road | Karon Beach, Karon, Phuket 83100, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Karon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#22 Romantic Hotel in Karon
#24 Family Hotel in Karon
#25 Luxury Hotel in Karon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Old Phuket 4*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Old Phuket - Karon Beach Resort is located in the central tranquil of Karon Beach, charming and beautiful with its spectacular view of swimming pool and hilly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotelopia, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Ebookers, TravelUp, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelbag, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Old Phuket reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Phuket Hotel Karon
Old Phuket Karon
Old Phuket Hotel Karon
The Old Phuket Karon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing