We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
US$55
View deal
Expedia.com
US$39
View deal
Free cancellation until 17/10/21
FindHotel
US$23
View deal
Free cancellation until 21/10/21
Hotels.comUS$39
PricelineUS$36
eDreamsUS$55
View all 13 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,237)
Filter reviews
2,237 results
Traveller rating
968
868
245
83
73
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
968
868
245
83
73
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sino wing serene wing pool access room karon beach air con pool bar restaurants and shops short walk to the beach great holiday thai food phuket massage jacuzzi baht
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1,473 - 1,478 of 2,237 reviews
Reviewed 30 August 2012

We stayed in sino wing for 4 nights, it was ok, outdoor shower was nice.
Our room started smelling a bit in the toilet and they refused to move us so spoke to us like idiots.
Didnt like the staff much but if u can get a pool access room its nice.
Breakfast wasnt that great.. Lots to choose from but not very nice.

I would not stay in karon again as its very expensive compared to patong where the tours and market are much cheaper!

Date of stay: April 2012
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Mia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theoldphuketresort, Manager at The Old Phuket Karon Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2019

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for your valued feedback.

We have acknowledge all of your feedback, and we shall discuss among our team accordingly for our further improvement.

We thank you again for your kind contribution and support.

Kind Regards,

Daniale Lee
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2012

We booked three rooms in the Sino Wing. We had requested two of them rooms to be inter connecting, but all three rooms together. Unfortunately only two rooms where together and the third room as at the other end of the hall. Apart from this our stay was great. Breakfast was good, although becoming slightly boring near the end of our 10 day stay. Rooms are clean and well serviced daily. Sino Wing pool was nice a quiet. The massages and pool bar were great! Walking distance to a variety of restaurants and markets around the corner. Overall great place to stay.

Date of stay: August 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HardyCampers
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theoldphuketresort, Manager at The Old Phuket Karon Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2019

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for your valuable comment.

We have acknowledged all of your comments, and we shall share it among our team accordingly.

Thanks again for your kind contribution and support.

Kind Regards,

Daniale Lee
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2012 via mobile

We stayed for 10 nights in August. Our travel consultant recommended us staying here ( he hasn't stayed here) and after a long night traveling we arrived at 1am in the morning and were spoken to in half English which we couldn't understand but it was basically explaining about pool hours. So after signing in we arrive to our room in the old style building. I nearly died it was horrible!! You walk in and it's just a bed and bathroom and a spa on the balcony ( spa delux room) the shower was in the bathtub with very little shower pressure which I would not of been able to wash my hair or shave my legs. The spa on the balcony was so old that i wouldnt of got in it. So we decided that since we didn't understand the English we would sleep then sort out a upgrade in the morning. Next morning we went to the front desk and they advised there was no rooms untill we checked out! Very disappointing. Anyway we decided to go for a walk as I was really upset as I hated this room walked up the long drive way and wondered why we didn't see other tourists walking the same way we were? On arrival back to the unit we had a all an was advised we could by upgraded for a extra $8000 baht we didn't care we wanted to move. We got put into the new wing which was great we liked it! However one day we came back to the room to find the card not working! We called front desk from another room room service were cleaning and took over 1 hr to sort out with no sorry nothing not very happy! On the last day the door didn't work again but apparently it doesn't work after 12pm if your leaving the same day. We paid for a late checkout for 6 pm but on the last day they had to let us in every time which I cannot understand because id paid for the room to start with? The room cleaning lady's were great no problems there the bell boys were also great! Breakfast was very average we liked the egg station but that's it very poor. Ordered room service took over 2 hrs for spring rolls and milkshakes?? I wouldn't stay here again! Made a holiday stressful. I could write here all day about our horrible experance :(

Date of stay: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bugs2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theoldphuketresort, Manager at The Old Phuket Karon Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2019

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your constructive comments.

We have acknowledged all of your comments, and we shall discuss your comments among our team accordingly for our further improvement.

Thanks again for your contribution and support.

Sincere Regards,

Daniale Lee
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2012

Absolutly perfect ,we stayed here 4nights at the end of our adventure around the south islands.
Could not of stayed anywhere better to end our holiday. We booked the pool access room which was great and recommend it ,it's a must !! Really no one should have any negatives about this hotel . Perfect position , hotel and room keep so clean tidy and the grounds of the hotel just beautiful . The breakfast was all you could want lots of choice. As you exit hotel gates towards the beach are many restaurants . . Really good message and treatments first one on the left as you walk out gate . Beach just across the road if you can pull yourself away from the peaceful pool area !!!! Loads of shops. Free shuttle to Phuket town and if only for the 1 night out Bangla road visit, (if not had the experience !!!)
We are getting married in Thailand in 2 yrs time and Karon beach and old Phuket is defo on the short list . Book it now ,and have lovely time we did :-)

Room tip: Delux pool side.far side away from lobby and pool side bar,end of row.
Date of stay: April 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Polly0170
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theoldphuketresort, Manager at The Old Phuket Karon Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2019

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for the review. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, and particularly pleased to read that you liked the resort and the service provided by our team. I shall be sure to pass on your kind comments!.

We thank you very much for your contribution and support. We hope to see you again in the near future.

Warm Regards,

Daniale Lee
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2012

My wife and I stayed at The Old Phuket for 6 nights in a Pool access room, we had booked a privite jacuzzi room but were üpgraded, the room was spacious and clean, bed was very firm, like everywhere else in Thailand, but quit nice.
The biggest problem or letdown with The Old Phuket is the staff, for a 4 star hotel the staff are very poorly trained, some of the reception staff were rude at times and the breakfast staff just plain incompetent.
The pool was nice but needs a good clean as places of it have build up of scum and the filter for the spa was blocked solid - not very appealing.
Breakfast's in the Shark restaurant were Ok, nothing to rave about, we also ate at Chilli, the hotels restaurant on the beach but would not recommend this place to anyone else, small serves bad service and the food plain sucked.
Overall average would be the best word for The Old Phuket, if we were to stay in Karon again would most likely look elsewhere, but if you can get a real cheap deal/package it's somewhere to consider.

Date of stay: August 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jrmaca71
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theoldphuketresort, Manager at The Old Phuket Karon Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2019

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for your valued feedback.

We have acknowledge all of your feedback, and we shall discuss among our team accordingly for our further improvement.

We thank you again for your kind contribution and support.

Kind Regards,

Daniale Lee
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews