We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thai adventure”
Review of The Old Phuket

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Old Phuket
Ranked #33 of 135 Hotels in Karon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 November 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights in November, the staff are very friendly and helpful. We had booked a deluxe room in the Sino wing and were upgraded to a terrace deluxe, this comes with an outside shower, the rooms are sadly average and really do need an update, the upstairs pool in the Sino wing is great, but the loungers are quite old and worn, the yellow sun parasols are in tatters, some have broken wooden struts, almost all have holes in them where the sun has taken its toll on the fabric, we were given two blue beach towels each day, these often had bleach marks all over them. The white bath towels are past there best and many are worn quite thin, night times were quite noisy and sleep disturbed till as late as 2am by other guests being allowed to 'party' in the patio area outside their rooms. Breakfast was good, but they seemed quite short on staff, so getting a coffee top up was often a mission.The hotel is quite close to the beach, many local restaurants to choose from, and also a free shuttle service to Patong and Central Festival.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lindyann2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,870)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

882 - 888 of 1,870 reviews

Reviewed 25 November 2013

We stayed here for 10 nights in a pool access room, we were so glad we upgraded and spoil yourselves..we found the room comforting and such a pleasure to just jump into your pool from your room, so relaxing and we loved the spa step...highly reccommend these rooms, nice and large heaps of room, the staff were very pleasant and always smiling...we found the restaurants nice in the karon beach area..400 baht to get into Patong which we thought was fair and people very helpful.. We found the markets in Karon beach more expensive then in Patong and a little more aggressive...which was a little disappointing...but this resort made our holiday for sure and would visit again......loved it!!

Room Tip: Go for the swim up pool rooms they are worth every cent....amazing!?
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2013

Stayed there for two nights and enjoyed.
Big room, with nice large bed. Bathroom ok.
Hotel is aged, but has a certain sphere we liked.
Friendly and professional staff.
Breakfast very good with lots of choice.
Hotel restaurants (3) have enough choice, prices are reasonable.
Kharon Beach is 100 mtrs from hotel.
Nice place to stay, only thing is, that you have to pay for a low speed internet.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lieuwe17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2013

Stayed here with my family in October for 6 nights. Great hotel, great staff, great location. its great having the two swimming pools. We stayed in the Pool view rooms. They are fantastic. Have stayed in Karon beach before. Would definitely stay at this hotel again. My only negative. Probably wouldnt eat at the restaurants they promote. The service not so good, food average. But along the strip where the hotel is, there are some great little restuarants. We didnt venture far to eat

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mirabak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2013

Stayed for 5 nights at this relaxing, clean, amazing hotel with the friendliest of staff located in one of the best positions in Karon. We were given a complimentary upgrade to a beautiful room with a balcony overlooking the the pool area which is serene and breathtaking.
Rooms are spacious, extremely clean with daily cleaning service with everything you need. 5 star buffet breakfast catering for halaal as well (only breakfast). Good to see lots of fellow South Africans.

The resort itself is peacefull, safe and very relaxing. The reception alone shouts a warm welcome. Generally (for other hotels) pictures on the net show the best part of the hotel and never lives up to it in reality, however, The Old Phuket is picture perfect and much better in person.

Has a games room, gym, kids play area, wifi zone, computer room, massage area and 2 main pools with a kids pool.

Recommend to get ground floor rooms which have direct access to the pool from the room.

The design and style is simple yet perfect, with the right colours and not overdone in terms of interior decorating. Airconditioned, room service, satellite tv and beverages. The beds are a bit hard so even though there are great massage places, the sleep was not too body relaxing.

The staff assist in every way they can with a smile and tried to make us as comfortable as possible. They even apologised when other people talked loud at the breakfast area.
A very special thanks to the friendly, hardworking, not to mention beautifull Kung, Chacha and Saii who you will find at the reception working overtime with a smile to give the guests everything of the best.

Situated a walking distance from the beach, shops, restaurants and massage parlours. Difficulty in getting halaal food in Karon. The shops owned by 'Indian' are very very rude, unfriendly and totally opposite of the friendly amazing Thai people. Bargaining difficult so better to shop in Bangkok and enjoy the Island style holiday. All types of tours can be arranged from the hotel in which the tour operators pick up at the morning and the staff at The Old Phuket will make sure you don't miss the tours by evening calling you if you oversleep.

The other problem is that of the expensive taxis. It is very difficult to bargain with them - both the 1s at the hotel and outside on the street. They charge the maximum rate of R500 baht for a 7km trip which is a rip off. Better to hire a car or bike. Getting around from Karon to Kata, Patong or any other beaches or city center will cost a lot.

The great thing of Karon beach area and the location of The Old Phuket is that the day and night life is 'family friendly' with no prostitutes and massage ladies forcing themselves on tourists like in Patong. Also, no stripclubs like Patong.

Weather was perfect - bright and sunny. It rained for a few minutes during the last two days of my stay then cleared up for the rest of the day.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Riyaado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013

we have just arrived home from a chilled out 9 nights at the old Phuket with my husband. We stayed in room 203 and had a private Jacuzzi in the sino wing. We are not big swimmers so the pool was not important to us. We were the only English people staying in the hotel, which did not bother us, but other people may find this a problem. The only complaint I would have is that the bathroom could do with some up dating, and you cannot put tissue down the toilet otherwise it will block. everything else was 100% and the hotel staff could not do enough for us

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank holidaymad47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2013

I recently stayed at the old phuket because I had conference in the Hilton next door. I found it very comfortable, with everything you would need. I had a Sino wing room, with a King bed. It's very spacious, but an oldish bathroom. The staff were very helpful and I used their shuttle bus to the night markets, which saved me some money!
It's a short 5min walk to restaurants, massages and the beautiful beach. There are also 2 pools in the resort for you to use.
Overall, my weeks stay was very comfortable. I wouldn't call it luxury, but it was more than what I needed, especially for half the price of the Hilton

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kim_Au
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Karon hotels
0.1 mi away
Baan Karonburi Resort
Baan Karonburi Resort
#62 of 135 in Karon
339 reviews
0.7 mi away
Novotel Phuket Karon Beach Resort & Spa
0.8 mi away
Andaman Seaview Hotel
Andaman Seaview Hotel
#21 of 135 in Karon
1,257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel IKON Phuket
Hotel IKON Phuket
#11 of 135 in Karon
476 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sugar Marina Resort - ART
0.3 mi away
Karon Sea Sands Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Phuket? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Phuket

Address: 192/36 Karon Road | Karon Beach, Karon, Phuket 83100, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Karon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#22 Romantic Hotel in Karon
#24 Family Hotel in Karon
#31 Luxury Hotel in Karon
Price Range: £44 - £185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Old Phuket 4*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Old Phuket - Karon Beach Resort is located in the central tranquil of Karon Beach, charming and beautiful with its spectacular view of swimming pool and hilly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Travelbag, Holiday Gems, Agoda, Southall Travel, Hotelopia, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your The Old Phuket reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Phuket Hotel Karon
Old Phuket Karon
Old Phuket Hotel Karon
The Old Phuket Karon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing