We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed”
Review of The Old Phuket

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Old Phuket
Ranked #28 of 135 Hotels in Karon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 January 2014

I was somewhat disappointed with the Old Phuket Resort, Karon. My wife and I were on our honeymoon and opted for a spa suite; an extra cost. The room itself was private enough; however, the spa was outside in the front (small) courtyard which was directly next to the main thoroughfare. Very noisy and not so private.

The room itself was ok, however it wasn’t as new or luxurious as we expected and didn’t seem to match the photos provided by the travel agent. The room had air-conditioner but no fan or fly screens on any of the two doors (no windows either). This was an issue for us as my wife can’t stand air-con as it dries her out and there were too many mosquitos at night to open up the doors. Combined with a hard bed and very high/firm pillows, sleeping comfortably was difficult.

The reception area and staff were always pleasant and ready to help. Their english was adequate enough to assist/answer all requests. It is thoroughly recommended to book all transfers and local transport through the resort. They were able to higher local drivers with private vehicles at about half the price of the local taxi/Tuk Tuk service. This also meant seatbelts which was reassuring after witnessing how people drive in Thailand.

The restaurant inside the resort was nice, with good food and atmosphere. Could have used some ambient music though. The egg chef was good; however, the selection of items that could be mixed with the eggs was very limited compared to previous experiences and expectations. The resort has two pools; however, we only visited the one. It was lovely and very new.

Immediately outside the resort is a short street with restaurants, tailors, markets, etc which was convenient and reasonably private. The resort recommended that we try the massage parlour in this area and even provided a discount for resort guests. This was a big mistake. The masseurs were overly rough which resulted in my neck and upper back being extremely sore on and off for a month and a half; to the point where I was unable to look sideways or downwards. I suspect this is not uncommon for any massage parlour in Thailand. I would not get another Thai massage after this experience.

I would consider staying at the resort again; however, I would opt to stay in the new apartment like accommodation built immediately surrounding the new pool.

Room Tip: Avoid the spa suites if you like natural airflow at night. There are no fly screens or fans in these...
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tye H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,848)
There are newer reviews for The Old Phuket
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

844 - 850 of 1,848 reviews

Reviewed 12 January 2014

This hotel is a mixed bag.

Hotel has good location, appr 300 m walk to the beach. Lot of services available at hotel street and nearby.

We stayed in pool access room, which is large. It accommodates two extra beds easily. Extra beds are adult size comfortable beds, not foldaway beds. Room has safe and large minibar fridge. Room is so called design room ,which means it looks really nice in pictures. However it is designed to look good, not be practical. Room has bath tube with glass walls, which would be nice if outside is open sea, however view is to the pool, so blinds down is the first thing you need to do before going to toilet. Rain shower is nice. Bathroom is also impractical since it does not have door directly to terrace but you need to walk through the whole hotel room making it wet.
Terrace is very comfortable. They have installed large ceiling fan to terrace and balconies, making this hotel one of the very few ones in Thailand where you can actually sit outside in the evening without being eaten by mosquitoes.

Pool is shadowed by tall building making the water freezing cold. This is the first hotel in Thailand where pool water has been way too cold for swimming. Hotel management needs to do something to the water temperature. At the moment direct pool access rooms are not worth paying the extra in this hotel. Hotel has also second rooftop pool where water is warmer.

Cleaning is spotless.

Hotel reception is best described as hopeless. People are friendly and know English, however they are usually lost and not empowered to make any decisions. Even simple items like requesting second key to the room requires you to come back after manager is present. Asking for restaurant recommendations? Just forget it, these people are just lost.

Hotel has good massage stand operating in the sun in middle of the hotel lawn with prices same as at the city, e.g. no hotel extra. This is excellent idea.

Hotel concept is that hotel itself provides only breakfast and it has semi closed street on hotel premises full of outside restaurants, shops and massage places. I liked this concept in principle a lot. We had constant stomach problems while eating the hotel breakfasts. Hotel urgently needs to fix it's hygienic level in breakfast kitchen, in this hotel the problem seems to be even worse than usual in Thailand. I also found foul smelling pineapples three times during our stay.

Hotel gives you discount coupon that is valid in 3 different restaurants on hotel street. Skip all those restaurants, they are by far the worst ones available on the hotel street. Other restaurants on hotel street offer passable food, but if you are looking for good food, walk few hundred meters north on the beach road and there are many more restaurants with better food available. Many restaurants on the hotel street show either cartoon networks or Tom and Jerry videos from DVDs making them good places with kids if you are ok with average food. Tre Kronor shows Tom and Jerry videos and has excellent carafe wine.

Room Tip: Pool access rooms are not worth paying for as water is too cold. Make sure your room has ceiling fa...
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank filo5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2014

It was our second time at the hotel and we found it to be absolutely stunning. The rooms are spacious and clean and the staff are exceptionally friendly. There was some renovating being done which is good to see and which had no impact on out stay. Breakfasts are excellent with a great variety to choose from. The hotel is perfectly located, close to the beach, restaurants, markets etc. Swimming pool is kept superbly clean.
We love everything about Phuket and hope to return again this year and will deffintely stay at the Old Phuket Hotel again. Love it!!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Debbie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2014

We stayed as part of a party of four in early December. By some miracle got two pool access rooms (specifically requested through travel agent), as these are worth the extra few bucks.

Check in was fine and quick. Was a bit disappointed to see that they were renovating the front façade of the main building (lasted the entire time we were there), but this has no impact on the rating, as it is expected that hotels should do renovations.

Our room was as expected since our last visit. Cleanliness has gone down a bit. There was nothing majorly wrong with the room, we just didn't have the feeling that it was crispy clean.

The hotel charges for in-room Wi-Fi, which is ridiculous as it is free in the library area. So everyday lots of people would congregate around the library to stay connected. They have already invested in the infrastructure, why not just make it free in the entire hotel and keep your guests super happy? Anyway... Quality was good.

The first visit, we could not stop talking about how amazing the hotel was. This time around, it was ... fine. Most evenings there were people in the pool past the pool closing hours, so much so that I once had to walk out onto the verandah of our room and quite some people down. I think the hotel should keep a tab on this, especially in the busy season, so that guests are not inconvenienced.

The gym was terrible (rated as "spa" below). Yes, I expected them to be a bit worn in this humidity (and the place stands wide open most of the day, thus being exposed to the elements), but it looked like the treadmills have not been cleaned in MONTHS. I reported this to the front desk, but did not have time to check whether something was done about it.

Overall, still a pleasant stay, but may check out a few other places next time around. The proximity to the beach and the fact that it is away from the bustle is a bonus. They must just watch out to not let standards slip..

Room Tip: Definitely pool access in the Serene Wing! Rooms 1101 to 1107 have morning sun, whilst 2101 to 2017...
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MartinK2409
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2014

I don't feel like the staff are trained properly to work in a hotel not very good when it comes to service. The hotel try's to Nickel & dime you in any way they can for example 200 baht a day for Internet in your room 30 baht a minute for local calls and 90us dollar mandatory Christmas buffet which was a joke. The rooms were clean but the bathrooms were discussing years of mildew & mold build up on the faucets showers etc. Would not recommend staying here I'd find something nicer for like 15-20 bucks more not worth the aggravation staying here.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gr542426
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2013

Myself and my partner and her daughter stayed here on recent trip to Phuket. We had contacted the hotel shortly before our trip to ask for extra bed in room which we received a very swift reply that this would be no problem.

Hotel was a fab place to stay and very close to the beach although we spent lots of time around the pool. Pool was very clean and tidy and staff at pool bar were all very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was very good with lots on offer especially freshly made eggs however you wanted them. We stayed in Sino wing with the pool on the 3rd floor. Room cleaned daily which was great for 3 people staying in 1 room can be messy.

Staff all very friendly. On arrival we were given a glass of juice and a cold face wipe which we a great touch especially after travelling for most of the day. At times felt sorry for staff due to the amount of very rude tourists.

Lots of restaurants close by and great little cocktail place on main round opposite beach- this was a converted VW camper and all cocktails were £2.

Would definitely stay in this hotel again if i return to Phuket and would advise others to ignore bad reviews.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Rosh40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2013

This is our second time we have stayed at the Old Phuket Hotel in Karon. We enjoyed our second stay as much as our first. We were surprised to have the same room as the previous year with a bunch of flowers and a welcome letter.

Our Terrace room in Sino Wing were great and close to the breakfast buffet area. We enjoyed the outside shower and veranda . These rooms are close to the hotels beach exit creating a sense of being close to the beach as it is only 5 minutes walk to the beach. The surrounding shops offer excellent quality and selection of cheap food, shopping, massages, beautician, hairdresser, Seven Eleven stores and markets.

The plants and water features with lots of open spaces creates a feeling of not been crowded. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tripjan0902
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Karon hotels
0.7 mi away
Novotel Phuket Karon Beach Resort & Spa
0.1 mi away
Baan Karonburi Resort
Baan Karonburi Resort
#63 of 135 in Karon
336 reviews
0.8 mi away
Andaman Seaview Hotel
Andaman Seaview Hotel
#22 of 135 in Karon
1,250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel IKON Phuket
Hotel IKON Phuket
#11 of 135 in Karon
465 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sugar Marina Resort - ART
0.3 mi away
Karon Sea Sands Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Phuket? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Phuket

Address: 192/36 Karon Road | Karon Beach, Karon, Phuket 83100, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Karon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#22 Romantic Hotel in Karon
#24 Family Hotel in Karon
#26 Luxury Hotel in Karon
Price Range: £29 - £167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Old Phuket 4*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Old Phuket - Karon Beach Resort is located in the central tranquil of Karon Beach, charming and beautiful with its spectacular view of swimming pool and hilly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Holiday Gems, Booking.com, Travelbag, Southall Travel, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your The Old Phuket reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Phuket Hotel Karon
Old Phuket Karon
Old Phuket Hotel Karon
The Old Phuket Karon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing