We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In need of upgrade”
Review of The Old Phuket

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Old Phuket
Ranked #33 of 136 Hotels in Karon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 January 2014

Very quiet secure location, considering the night life in the area. Brilliant staff, great breakfast with lots of choice. Very clean rooms, but tired and in need of renovation. The newer wing is more modern and would advise worth checking availability or which rooms are being offered before booking. Overall a great stay

Room Tip: Check which wing you are booking, new or old
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SagaloutsTour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,905)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

886 - 892 of 1,905 reviews

Reviewed 29 January 2014

I was travelling to attend my nieces wedding in Kata Beach.
The Old Phuket was a really nice place....However.
Unfortunately what I will remember was when the girl on "check in" realised that I was travelling alone.. (due to my travel partner unfortunately not being able to make the journey) ..I was advised by her that "If you bring a lady back to your room you will be charged 1000 baht...Not the sort of thing I wanted to hear really and I was offended by it. Despite the fact that I had paid for a double room....

The breakfast was brilliant, the room very dated but clean.

Having visited Phuket 12 years earlier,,, and having fond memories. Upon arrival I was amazed how it had changed...In my honest opinion it is now just like Blackpool in the sun, and I will not be going back.

Room Tip: Get into the new wing
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marsketyke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2014

We stayed at The Old Phuket hotel sino wing for 10 day in January. Our room was on 3 floor and we had nice view on mountains. Service was good and unobstrusive. Staff very responsive. Location of hotel very great - 5 min. to the best beach, cafe, massage salons, shops and the most I like - that this hotel situtated little away from nosy street. One advice for the hotel administration - to renew towels, becouse they were a bit shabby and to make free wi-fi in the rooms. Thus we spent great time in the great hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Olesya K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2014

Stayed here for a week. Offered fruit juice and cold towel on arrival. Lovely pool access room, large clean and modern. Inclusive breakfast was extensive and of good quality. Friendly staff. Really can't fault this place. Will be returning soon!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sotech1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2014

From the moment we arrived, which was about 1am after a very long day of travelling, we felt very welcome and happy that we had chosen The Old Phuket.
Upon our arrival by transfer from the airport, there was a staff member ready to collect our bags as soon as the car stopped. Check in was very easy, and we were taken to our room by the person who had collected our bags.
On entering our room, we were greeted with a beautifully decorated bed, towels made into 2 swans creating a loveheart, surrounded by rose petals shaped into a heart, as it was our honeymoon. They also supplied a bottle of champagne.

From there, the week was great. Breakfast each day was a buffet catering to a wide range of tastes. Everywhere you went the staff were very happy and helpful if you had any questions.
We learnt how to say "hello" (Sawatdee Kaa - girls,Sawatdee Krap - boys) and thankyou in Thai, and found this useful. The Thai people are grateful if you learn just these couple of phrases and use them.

We stayed in a Jacuzzi room, the one with a purple door, in the Sino Wing. It was right near the entry/exit into a street which had many restaurants, massage businesses, shops, etc. It is perfectly located, and even though it was a main thouroughfair for hotel guests, we didn't notice too many people coming and going past our room, it was still private.

There were constantly people working throughout the grounds to keep it neat and tidy.
Overall, it was a great experience and I would definately recommend staying here.

Hello = Sawa dee
Thank you (man says) = Kob Khun Krap
Thank you (woman says) = Kob Khun Ka
Basically women say "ka" at the end of a sentence
while men say "krap".

Room Tip: Jacuzzi rooms are great, even though they are on a main thoroughfair, the walls are high enough that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 692Hayley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2014

We stayed mid January with our family of five. Located well with restaurants, shops and markets right outside and beach access very easy. Disadvantages were no kids club and no wi-fi in rooms, you have to pay per day. We stayed in older sino wing ground floor rooms with little courtyard- these are great with outdoor showers and great for an afternoon drink in courtyard. The pool is lovely, though with building design only half the deck ever sees sun. This resort is for older couples or older families. Not many small kids or activities for them. Centara is better if you have smaller kids . Overall, lovely service, good location and a nice quiet holiday. Would recommend.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mark L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2014

We stayed at the Old Phuket Hotel last week having changed hotels after one night. Our initial choice was extremely disappointing (avoid Woraburi Phuket Resort & Spa at Karon Beach, terrible). The staff were extremely helpful, friendly and professional at the Old Phuket. Our room was in the "Serene wing", the newer part of the hotel. Rooms were spacious, bright and well finished. The pool area fabulous. The location could not have been better. Set back a bit off the main street it was quiet and relaxing. The beach & restaurants only a short walk away. Highly recommend.

Room Tip: Serene wing a must. Ground floor balcony opens directly into pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lorraine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Karon hotels
0.1 mi away
Baan Karonburi Resort
Baan Karonburi Resort
#61 of 136 in Karon
348 reviews
0.7 mi away
Novotel Phuket Karon Beach Resort & Spa
0.8 mi away
Andaman Seaview Hotel
Andaman Seaview Hotel
#22 of 136 in Karon
1,286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel IKON Phuket
Hotel IKON Phuket
#12 of 136 in Karon
488 reviews
0.5 mi away
Best Western Phuket Ocean Resort
0.9 mi away
Mandarava Resort and Spa
Mandarava Resort and Spa
#2 of 11 in Karon Beach
2,120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Phuket? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Phuket

Address: 192/36, Karon Road | Karon Beach, Karon, Phuket 83100, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Karon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#22 Romantic Hotel in Karon
#24 Family Hotel in Karon
#30 Luxury Hotel in Karon
Price Range: £56 - £223 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Old Phuket 4*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Old Phuket - Karon Beach Resort is located in the central tranquil of Karon Beach, charming and beautiful with its spectacular view of swimming pool and hilly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelbag, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Southall Travel, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Holiday Gems, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your The Old Phuket reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Phuket Hotel Karon
Old Phuket Karon
Old Phuket Hotel Karon
The Old Phuket Karon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing