We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Old Phuket

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Old Phuket
Ranked #26 of 132 Hotels in Karon
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice hotel”
Reviewed 8 June 2014

The Old Phuket is the very good hotel. Room servise is good and stuff is polite. There is a free transfer from hotel to shopping malls and the city.
This is the very good place for families and groups who look for calm and pleasant holiday.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vladimir Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,741 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    754
    696
    188
    60
    43
See reviews for
325
925
73
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (529)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014 via mobile

This is our first time staying at the Old Phuket hotel and it has been truly a waste of hard earned cash and valuable leave.

The use of the english language by reception staff is extremely limited. Guest requests seems to be to much of an effort and are met with an unfriendly dismissive response. Breakfast is terrible, tasteless, and is served outside. Not a great thing to have the most important meal of the day in the Thailand heat. The hotel lacks a proper gym and again not air conditioned. The standard of this hotel is by far not a 4 star rating, in my opinion this is not even a 3 star.

Rooms are not serviced well and lacks the finer finishes which tells a guest that your are welcome and you are in Thailand

I will never recommend this place to anybody and will vote with my feet.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Phuket123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014

How this hotel comes up as a 4star hotel is amazing! The service was terrible all around the clock.
No room service after 10pm ?!
Room cleaning service was slow, and I liked to be around to make sure they didnt take any of my stuff.
The buffet breakfast was undercooked and bad tasting.
The security with there little gate on wheels, was a total waste of time! they where constantly asleep and I constantly moved it my self or jumped over it.
The reception staff seem friendly at first but turned out to be unhelpful and gave me the wrong information.
Gave me the wrong international phone call rates, which lead to massive phone charge.
If you wanted wi fi in your room you have to pay more! (remember this is a 4 start hotel)
The wi fi was constantly logging out and not signing back in, and was super slow.
All in all I thought this hotel was a total WASTE of money!!
I will never ever be back!
And will never recommend this hotel to ANYONE!!

I hope you all read this and take your bussiness else where, plenty of hotels in phuket! don't waste your time with the 'Old Phuket hotel'!

Room Tip: Dont book at the "old phuket "
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MitchBali514
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 2 June 2014

The accommodation and service was tremendous for the cost. Rooms serviced very well and facilities and staff excellent. Wouldn't hesitate to stay here again. Nice restaurants toward the beach side if you don't want to walk down the main streets, pool is interesting probably a bit of a gimmick having back doors open into the water...overall a very enjoyable place to stay.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Con K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Hotel: Stayed from 28th April till 2nd May 2014. Hotel is beautiful with very big and clean rooms. Many reviews say go for Serene Wing but even if it is not Serene Wing, you will love the Sino Wing equally. We didn't use the Pool so nothing to say about it. Rooms are very spacious and neat. Hotel is quiet so one can have peaceful sleep. Breakfast is at Shark Resto which is very cute with the white table and chairs. BB option is not bad. We have requested for honeymoon set up and it was done quite well. We arrived at 1230hrs and hell tired, at the time of check in the lady says check in time is at 1400hrs & cannot accommodate us before that. Hell..!!! We spoke to the manager and he made our room ready in 15mins. So be prepared to talk to anyone and everyone for your needs. Over All hotel is super good for what you pay for it.
Location: It is opposite to Karon beach close to Move and Pick resort. There are many Massage parlor out of the hotel, the best is KARMA. Tired all the massages and no regrets. Best way to explore is to rent motorbike. Motorbike rent is THB 250 for a day. Hotel tour desk sell for THB 300 so better you take it from outside, they deliver to the hotel and also pick it up, you will find many rentals outside the hotel.
Hotel Tour Desk: Go for James Bond Tour from the Hotel Tour desk the tour agency is called "ANDI" if I am not wrong and they are superb. DO NOT take the KRABI tour from the desk as they sucks in all way and waste your day.
There are 2 entries to the hotel. One from the beach side and other at the back where you will find fruit shops, many many restaurants and the night market. Don't shop from Phuket, keep your money for Bangkok shopping and plan your Bangkok trip to be on a weekend and do visit Chatuchak Market and you will not regret.
Food: On the beach road head towards north and you have plenty of options.
Must try Restaurant : ON THE ROCK in Marina Hotel Karon
Patong: Do visit Bangla Road & the red light streets. Grap a drink and enjoy.

Room Tip: Serene Wing is new and Sino Wing is more of Portu Style. Both wings are good. Do not worry, you have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MariamMoiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irvine, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

Let's start with the name, old this hotel certainly is, looks great from the pictures in the brochure and it gets some good reviews on here.
The rooms are basic, floors white painted concrete, the bed is ard and uncomfortable, storage space a joke cupboards only except for small drawer.
Staff are not very polite and unhelpful.
Cleanliness is also debatable, I have yet to see the floor getting cleaned and tables wiped over.
Pool area, again concrete made to look boards which most of are cracked, with rusty pins/ nails sticking up in certain areas.
The pool and surrounding areas have yet to be cleaned and I've been here 5 days, although they do sweep up the leaves.
Breakfast is a total joke, the restaurant is open with no enclosed area, some of the food is uncovered so the birds and flies can have a feast, choice is very poor, most mornings I stuck to the toast.
If you have booked this hotel, I seriously recommend changing it.
Don't know who gave this 4 star but they need their head looked at

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank isoma1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gold Coast, Australia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

My husband, myself and my best friend stayed at The Old Phuket at the end of April 2014. The Hotel is beautiful to look at! The reception area is lovely and the staff all very helpful (though some of them struggle with understanding english). We stayed in the Sino wing (less expensive) and our rooms were nice. Definitely not fancy, but just nice.
Our bed was as hard as a rock! Only took a couple of nights to get used to though. One thing that was weird was the big window in the middle of the room going from the bed to the toilet/bathroom. The shower is a bit low, both my husband and myself had to duck to get it running over our heads. One thing I hated was that the power only works while you have your key in the little slot, which means when you leave the room the aircon turns off, and with the heat in Phuket, the aircon is a lifesaver.
If its your first trip to Phuket, be really prepared for the heat. We needed to change 2-3 times a day because of the heat and humidity making us sweat so much. Also we read how much you get harassed in the street by vendors, but its a lot more full on than I ever expected. They are relentless!!
But as far as the hotel goes it is lovely and clean. The maids do an awesome job with tidying the room for you. They even lined up our shoes and folded our clothes. The breakfast is to die for! HUGE buffet breakfast every single morning. And they cook your eggs/omelettes to order.
Free wifi near the lobby, which was reasonably fast. We bought 3 nights worth of wifi, then just went to the lobby any other time we wanted to use it.
There are 2 pools, which are both amazing. The food that you can order from the top pool is divine. We ordered some pizza and they were so good.

We would definitely go back!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pagetraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Karon hotels
0.7 mi away
Novotel Phuket Karon Beach Resort & Spa
0.8 mi away
Andaman Seaview Hotel
Andaman Seaview Hotel
#17 of 132 in Karon
1,179 reviews
0.1 mi away
Baan Karonburi Resort
Baan Karonburi Resort
#66 of 132 in Karon
307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Grand Sunset Hotel
Grand Sunset Hotel
#83 of 132 in Karon
306 reviews
0.3 mi away
Karon Sea Sands Resort & Spa
0.4 mi away
Centara Karon Resort Phuket
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Phuket? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Phuket

Property: The Old Phuket
Address: 192/36 Karon Road | Karon Beach, Karon, Phuket 83100, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Karon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#22 Romantic Hotel in Karon
#24 Luxury Hotel in Karon
#24 Family Hotel in Karon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Old Phuket 4*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Old Phuket - Karon Beach Resort is located in the central tranquil of Karon Beach, charming and beautiful with its spectacular view of swimming pool and hilly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotelopia, Expedia, Odigeo, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Agoda, TravelUp, Travelbag, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Old Phuket reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Phuket Hotel Karon
Old Phuket Karon
Old Phuket Hotel Karon
The Old Phuket Karon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing