We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very good”
Review of The Old Phuket

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Old Phuket
Ranked #33 of 135 Hotels in Karon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 August 2014

great hotel, a great design, the rooms are gorgeous. There is free WiFi, you can relax in the evening with a game of ping pong or take a swim in the large pool. Liked bessplatnye priotelnyh trips on buses

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Матвей Г
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,870)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

729 - 735 of 1,870 reviews

Reviewed 21 August 2014

My wife,17 year old son,and I stayed here for 8 nights in early August.Great time to go,quiet and not too hot,30ish every day.
Really nice and clean,staff wonderful (hi to Lin who cleaned our room 3104 each day),great pool.Our room was a pool access room in the Serene Wing with a great view of the mountains.
Really good shopping strip at the beach entrance,local restauranteurs treat customers as friends.15 minutes to Patong costs 400 Baht which is about $12 Australian.We got a good tip early,spend the days near the pool and hit the markets and bars in Patong at night.The little bars behind the Otop market are great fun,the barmaids play games with the kids.And blokes should not miss the Boxing at Bangladesh Stadium.
We'll be back and we'll stay here again.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
3  Thank Mattyboy05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed at The Old Phuket for a week with my wife. Staff was friendly, food was great, accommodation was excellent and everything was clean and neat.

Lots of shops and restaurants just down the road and beach is a min walk away.

Can highly recommend to anyone.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Iwan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2014

My daughter and I stayed in the serene wing with a pool view.exceptional value,clean and a nice
Size.with shop,s,beach and restaurants just a short strole away,it gave us something to do
Everyday.The staff were more than helpful,our room was kept spotless and the breakfast was
Excellent .Would definitely stay there again.
Donna.j

Room Tip: Any room is a good one
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank Donna J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2014

I had a fantastic stay in Karon and this was due in part to The Old Phuket Hotel. The room was nicely laid out and very clean. I had a balcony room which had lovely views of the gardens and mountains. The staff were always helpful and courteous and breakfast was fresh and tasty. the beach was about 150 metres away and the town centre was about an 8 minute walk. You could always catch a taxi, tuk tuk or motorbike very cheaply or even hire a motorbike. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone looking at staying in Karon-Phuket.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Rob W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2014

We booked this through one of those Secret Escapes and did not expect a lot as it was great value. We were amazed when we arrived by the room, the food, the staff, the swimming pool was lovely and meant I could get some much needed exercise.
The Serene Wing is best in terms of space and access to the pool. Glad we did not pay extra to go pool side as then we could not have hung out on our balcony.
Great row of restaurants near by.
Shame about the monsoon tides on the nearby beach but who cares when you have a monster pool to dip in.
Overall would LOVE to go back again.

Room Tip: Serene Wing every time
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AliMac30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014

Stayed in the Serene Wing in a Deluxe Pool View room for 8 nights. Really enjoyed our holiday in Phuket and the hotel itself is in a great location. It is removed enough from the main road to feel like you're in a bit of a sanctuary however shops and restaurants are still very easily accessible. I especially enjoyed the adjoining strip of shops at the beach side entrance to the hotel. Very handy! Restaurants, massages and general items you might need are all there. There is even a pharmacy! There is also a market type shopping centre a couple of hundred metres down the road.

The room itself was spacious and bright. We had a wonderful view of the pool and had the morning sun on our balcony. One thing I would say though, is the rooms whilst clean, parts were quite worn and stained. This is to be expected from a hotel that has such high occupancy. The pool was fantastic - we were really lucky to have sunny weather and minimal rain so after a day of relaxing in the sun on the sun loungers, dips in the pool to cool down we're absolute bliss. The pool bar was also great.

The staff were wonderful from front office and restaurant staff to housekeeping and maintenance. Everyone was really friendly and helpful.

We had breakfast at the hotel every morning and found it to be more than substantial. We filled up on delicious fresh fruits, eggs cooked however you like, toast, pastries, juice, tea, coffee and a selection of hot dishes that cater for both east and western taste buds.

The hotel also offers a free shuttle to the big mall in Patong as well as a shuttle to the weekend market. This does however fill up quickly and you need to book. The activities/tour desk by the breakfast restaurant is well informed and the lady there is extremely helpful and friendly.

Overall, The Old Phuket is a very good hotel and I would definitely stay here again and recommend it to others!

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
2  Thank Susan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Karon hotels
0.1 mi away
Baan Karonburi Resort
Baan Karonburi Resort
#64 of 135 in Karon
339 reviews
0.7 mi away
Novotel Phuket Karon Beach Resort & Spa
0.8 mi away
Andaman Seaview Hotel
Andaman Seaview Hotel
#22 of 135 in Karon
1,257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel IKON Phuket
Hotel IKON Phuket
#11 of 135 in Karon
476 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sugar Marina Resort - ART
0.3 mi away
Karon Sea Sands Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Phuket? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Phuket

Address: 192/36 Karon Road | Karon Beach, Karon, Phuket 83100, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Karon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#22 Romantic Hotel in Karon
#24 Family Hotel in Karon
#31 Luxury Hotel in Karon
Price Range: £40 - £182 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Old Phuket 4*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Old Phuket - Karon Beach Resort is located in the central tranquil of Karon Beach, charming and beautiful with its spectacular view of swimming pool and hilly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Holiday Gems, Hotels.com, Travelbag, Booking.com, Agoda, Southall Travel, Ctrip TA, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Old Phuket reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Phuket Hotel Karon
Old Phuket Karon
Old Phuket Hotel Karon
The Old Phuket Karon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing