We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Different, jungle retreat by the beach.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Marina Phuket Resort
Ranked #2 of 136 Hotels in Karon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 April 2014 via mobile

After being really disappointed that the hotel we have previously been very happy with, Karon Sea Sands had overbooked and was not able to give us the pool access room we had booked and paid for four months before, we decided to try this hotel, which we had walked through previously and been attracted to. Yes, they had a jungle room available at $AUD2 a night dearer than Karon Sea Sands, so we took it.

This hotel sent a complimentary car to pick us and our luggage up at check in time. Check in efficient and welcoming. The room gorgeous, even if the wooden floor in front of the shower was a little spongy. A wonderful selection of teas and coffees and toiletries was provided. Breakfast was great, the only thing better wouldve been crispy bacon.

Whoever trains the staff here has done a good job - naturally nice Thai people who also know everything there is to know about how to treat paying guests.

About the only thing that wasnt exemplary here was the cleanliness of the pool. No matter what time of day, it always had lots of leaves and other detritus and seemed to be calling out for creepy crawly attention.

Yes, we would stay here again when we eventually return to this area, which at the present time hosts a tourist population of 99% Russian people. Much as we have always loved this area, Thailand and the Thai people; we believe it is losing itself and local Thai people are putting up with vile, vulgar and disrespectful treatment here to cater for Russian tourist trade.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank womblewa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarinaPhuketResort, Manager at Marina Phuket Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2014

Dear womblewa,

Thank you for your thoughtful review and point out your recommendations on TripAdvisor.

First of all, we are truly thrilled to learn that your recent stay at Marina Phuket Resort was a pleasant one and our room amenities as well as hotel facilities met your expectations.

For the other comments and recommendations, we will pass on to our management team for further investigation and respond.

Hope your next visit at Marina Phuket Resort will be an even more special experience.

Best regards,
Orachorn Kuljinda
Operation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,236)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

199 - 205 of 1,237 reviews

Reviewed 6 April 2014

We booked this hotel on the rebound from the hotel we normally stay at in Kata Noi. We had a Jungle view room which I think are fairly recent additions. The room was very attractive with a high vaulted ceiling, a large balcony/terrace plus a large well equiped bathroom.
There is free wifi throughout the resort. The pool area which i believe was enlarged and modernised last year with a large waterfall and bubble areas plus a pool bar felt spacoius and never overcrowded.
On the Rocks restaurant served good food , reasonably priced with great views over Karon beach. The buffet breakfast had a good choice of food and the service was good with very pleasant staff. Coffee unlike some large hotels was individually prepared and tasted like proper coffee which I regard as a major plus.
Overall we were extremely pleased with our choice of hotel and do not think we will be tempted to go back to our old choice of hotel at Kata Noi. With 90+ rooms well spaced out and we did not miss any of the facilities you get at very large such as Gyms or Spas.
On our next visit we would hope to have an Ocean view room. Minor improvement would be a pure bar area overlooking Karon beach as sometimes we felt we were not really wanted at the on the rocks restauaant around 6pm. Another minor comment is that you need to be physically fit as there are some steep climbs on the raised walkways to the rooms

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Keith G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarinaPhuketResort, Manager at Marina Phuket Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2014

Dear Keith G,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a detailed review of your experience at Marina Phuket Resort.

We are delighted that the Marina Family succeeded in creating legendary service experience. We have shared your comments with our team and they are very happy to read your excellent feedback on service, culinary and pool experience.

We look forward to welcoming you back ‘home’ for another fantastic stay!.

Best regards,
Orachorn Kuljinda
Operation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014

Absolutely cant fault this place. It's the best place I've ever stayed. Well priced, great breakfast and awesome staff and service. A must stay resort if your travelling to Phuket.

The best swimming pool, close to shops and markets, etc. Just pure bliss!

Room Tip: Get the ocean view room. Stunning hearing the waves while out on the pergola!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ben P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarinaPhuketResort, Manager at Marina Phuket Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2014

Thank you for sharing such a fabulous experience on TripAdvisor. We are delighted to learn that you truly had an excellent stay and especially enjoyed our delicious food at the buffet breakfast at Sala Thai restaurant, personal touches and overall ambiance.

Thank you very much once again for recommending us as the best hotel to stay in Phuket. We will be your home away from home forever.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon for another fabulous visit.

Best regards,
Orachorn Kuljinda
Operation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2014

The Marina Phuket Resort is a very extraordinarily hotel with it's chalets surrounded by the jungle. The chalets itselves have their own terrace and are very modern and cozy furnished. The pool-area is heavenly, while the beach is unfortunately bleak - indeed there's an access to the beach, but you find neither lounger nor beach umbrella. The breakfast ist average, in exchange compensated by the great view. But there's no make up for the unfriendly and cheerless staff - at the restaurant as well at the front office. Please note, that you have to carry your luggage yourself, when arriving at the lobby and please also don't expect any 'Good Morning' or smiling when your coming for breakfast... By and large it's very nice, but it could be better.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Cocojelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarinaPhuketResort, Manager at Marina Phuket Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2014

Dear Cocojelly,

Thank you for posting your review on TripAdvisor, regarding the recent stay at Marina Phuket Resort.

Please accept my deepest apologies and I very much hope you will come back to experience the excellent levels of services and customer care with which Marina Phuket Resort is generally associated.

When this is the case please contact me personally so I could make the necessary arrangements on your behalf.

Best regards,
Orachorn Kuljinda
Operation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2014 via mobile

Stayed at this hotel for a week. Great rooms, great summing pool and gardens. Great location. The hotel is an area were you have everything you need without being in the middle of the noise and busy streets. The breakfast is good and the "on the rock" restaurant serves delicious food for a reasonable price. The staff in the hotel is extremely helpful. Another good thing is the massage service. You can have massages for an affordable price which is often rare in hotels of this kind. Definitely a place to recommend and to return to.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank VeroPauloLux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarinaPhuketResort, Manager at Marina Phuket Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2014

Dear VeroPauloLux,

Thank you very much for your most wonderful feedback and comments. It is such a pleasure to know that you were happy with your stay in our resort.

We are most grateful about your appreciation of our facilities including the massage service at the swimming pool area.

My team and I look forward to another pleasure of welcoming you back to Marina Phuket Resort in the near future.

Best regards,
Orachorn Kuljinda
Operation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2014 via mobile

We stayed in December for our honeymoon and it truely was the greatest 2 weeks of our lifes. We stayed in a jungle room and it was amazing. Beautifully decorated n spacious with free wifi. The pool area is a little heat trap with comfy loungers, brollys, a waterfall n swim up bar which you can get snacks from aswell, its gorgeous.
The breakfast buffet had a wide range of choice and was delicious, most nights we ate at the Rock Restaurant, good prices great food and a truely stunning view. Last but by no meens least, the staff. There was nothing they wouldn't do for u, the service was most definitely 5☆ . 1 day we hope to return n we cannot thank you all enough for helping us have a fantastic hooneymoon

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
2  Thank hibby23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarinaPhuketResort, Manager at Marina Phuket Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2014

Dear Hibby23,

Thank you very much for your superb review on TripAdvisor.

We are greatly delighted to be part of your memorable honeymoon trip and to learn that our well-equipped room, special honeymoon decoration, the second to none service of our staff and the scrumptious food at On the Rock restaurant pleased you so much .

We wish to welcome you back to Marina Phuket Resort again soon.

Best regards,
Orachorn Kuljinda
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2014

This hotel is simply amazing. We really felt like being in the jungle. Staff is very friendly and helpful, the pool area is beautiful, massage next the waterfall was awsome. There is a big breakfast buffet.
We stayed in a jungle view room which was definitely a good choice. Big bathroom and balcony, huge bed, stylish furniture and there was a TV and iMac which we haven't used at all.
At the beach you can rent two sunbeds and a parasol for 200 baths a day (which is a reasonable price). The beach area is very clean and just beautiful. We've seen the most beautiful sunsets there.

Highly recommended for couples.

Room Tip: Jungle view is the best choice
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steven K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarinaPhuketResort, Manager at Marina Phuket Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 15 February 2014

Dear Steven K,

Thank you for your valuable feedback and for taking the time to post your comprehensive and detailed comments on TripAdvisor.

It is our great pleasure to know that you had a pleasant stay with us. We appreciate your comments on various aspects of our resort, especially the quality service of our massage at the pool made you feel amazed. We have passed your compliments to the entire team members as a great motivation to keep delivering good services.

We look forward to your return to Marina Phuket Resort once again in the near future.

Best regards,
Orachorn Kuljinda
Operation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Karon
1.9 mi away
Mandarava Resort and Spa
Mandarava Resort and Spa
#2 of 11 in Karon Beach
2,123 reviews
2.1 mi away
Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket
22.6 mi away
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Chanalai Garden Resort
Chanalai Garden Resort
#12 of 55 in Kata Beach
1,203 reviews
4.1 mi away
Amari Phuket
Amari Phuket
#2 of 331 in Patong
6,252 reviews
0.1 mi away
Beyond Resort Karon
Beyond Resort Karon
#18 of 136 in Karon
1,187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marina Phuket Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marina Phuket Resort

Address: 47 Karon Road | Karon Beach, Karon, Phuket 83100, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Karon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Karon
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Karon
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Karon
#6 Family Hotel in Karon
#6 Romantic Hotel in Karon
Price Range: £174 - £284 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Marina Phuket Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Marina Phuket Resort is perched on a headland at southern end of Karon, among the finest of Phuket's famous west-coast beaches. The Deluxe Villas overlook the beach and the Andaman Sea. All guests have direct access to Karon Beach and can enjoy snorkeling right out front of the resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Marina Phuket Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marina Phuket Hotel Karon
Marina Phuket Karon
Marina Phuket Resort Karon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing