We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful resort”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Marina Phuket Resort
Ranked #2 of 136 Hotels in Karon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 June 2014

My husband and I have just returned having spent 10 nights here. There are alot of positives on this resort which is why I am giving a 5 out of 5.
I liked the friendly staff, beautiful surroundings, clean amenities. We would advise if you are not very able bodied that the layout of the pathways, some quite steep and long may be a bit difficult to manage. We quite liked it though as it gave us plenty to look at along the way to and from our room. We stayed in an ocean view, it was gorgeous. We had one issue about half way through our stay which was not the fault of he resort, but manager Sue quickly resolved this by providing a different room.
If I could say anything negative it would not be about the resort itself but more the streetscape with broken and or absent pathways made it a bit tricky at times. The street hagglers, some of the more aggressive types are a bit of a pain. But once you are in this resort you are away from all of that and can enjoy the beauty around you.
Thank you to the staff for their lovely hospitality, we will always be grateful.

Room Tip: Ocean view rooms are very nice. The lower numbered are closer to the beach and amenities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lourde L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarinaPhuketResort, Manager at Marina Phuket Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2014

Dear Lourde L,

What an absolute pleasure it was to have you staying with us during your holiday in Phuket and we would like to thank you for taking the time to share your great comments about our beautiful resort , beautiful surroundings, clean amenities and friendly staff for our future guests to read on TripAdvisor.

In regard to the streetscape with broken and/or absent pathways and the street hagglers, our Management Team will bring these to the community authority’s attention for further improvement.

We look forward to your returning to Marina Phuket Resort once again in the near future.

Best regards,
Orachorn Kuljinda
Operation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,236)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

192 - 198 of 1,236 reviews

Reviewed 4 June 2014

Just got back from Phuket from a 4 days 3 nights, stayed at this placed. The set-up and overall ambience was really a real quiet getaway, getting to the rooms is an experience where luxury meets the wild. Love the pool and the overall places as it was quiet and filled with family goers. Breakfast was simple yet high class, nicely well spread without all the mixture of economy food unlike some resorts. Getting to the beach was just a stone throw away where Karon beach is really nice, though at this time it was rough and there were plentiful of rubbish, hope the authorities could do some clean up.

Overall it was great but just one small surprise that there were big insects in the 'shampoo conditioner' container which has been in there for sometime and rotting, guess because this resort was in the jungle, it should be common for creepy crawlies to get in.

Highly recommended for family or couple who wants a good quiet retreat besides the noisy happening Patong to enjoy nature and Karon beach is really a good choice.

It is also a very good learning classroom for kids to know about various plants and insects in the surrounding area.

Room Tip: Choose the room next to the sea to hear constant splash and the beautiful sounds of the waves.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank frack1212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarinaPhuketResort, Manager at Marina Phuket Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2014

Dear frack1212,

Thank you very much for taking the time to post your review on TripAdvisor following your stay at Marina Phuket Resort.

We are very delighted to know that you had a great holiday with us within the hustle and bustle of a very busy and happening Phuket.

Rest assured that your valuable comments have been taken in the spirit intended and that we are continuously doing everything the best possible as we could.

We look forward to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.

Best regards,
Orachorn Kuljinda
Operation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014 via mobile

Absolutely wonderful and gorgeous! Wonderful greeting upon arrival and smiling helpful staff during our stay. Pristine and lush well-kept garden pathways and wooden bridges connecting it all. Rooms were immaculate and welcoming. Pool is amazing. Unfortunately the place is surrounded by street hustlers and desperation. The beach is amazing even if not quite at the resort but attached to it. The only thing I didn't like, besides the college-dude tacky surrounding bars, was the drone-like and snobby European guests.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Istigkeit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Marina's at Karon/Kata Beach was 1 of 4 Resorts/Hotels we visited during our latest Thailand Adventure now totalling 14, this being our 3rd time at Marina's, April 3-11th.
Were we excited on arrival, answer....YES, were we sorry to leave, answer....probably YES !!!
Firstly, & don't get me wrong, the resort since renovated (in part) has most probably the classiest pool in the whole of Phuket, decked out with many more sun lounges than previous & surrounded by a camouflage of foliage, however because of this massive arrangement of greenery when the sun is at it's peak one just melts even surrendering under shade, as no air can get in. Secondly, the foyer & poolside breakfast area (Sala Thai) have been given a massive upgrade since last we visited (2 years ago), but why not the rooms where nothing has changed in the years when we first paid homage on arrival, saying to ourselves, "WOW", can you believe these rooms, but now they do need refurbishing, especially the shower area which always blocked & tiles falling from the walls. The verandah railings were also in need of upgrading, one day someone will come crashing down after leaning on them. One could go into more detail as to what needs refurbishing room wise' but let's just say there's plenty to be done, even a clothes airer to hang wet towels or clothing would be a bonus & management (never to be seen) should be aware of such.
Oceanview, where we again stayed has always been our preference, but where is the ocean.... GONE !!! immense amounts of foliage has destroyed what ever view there was, so one may as well book a Jungle Room, but getting there as we have in the past in AMAZONIC conditions, is as the headline states, HOT TO TROT !!! I might add if elderly or infirmed just think twice about staying here, the climb to your room could well kill you & that's no joke.
Thirdly, if in future you are considering a visit to Russia or the Ukraine to meet the local people save your money in air travel, just come here you'll meet many !!!
Lastly, Thailand is well known as "The Land of Smiles", pity some of the staff at Marina's (not all), haven't jelled to that saying.
All in all a decent stay but this time around nothing to rave about except for the most amazing pool area & breakfast, where one could feast to their hearts content, which many did !!!
Would we return for a 4th time, probably not, but by saying so don't let our comments put you off if you're considering booking this establishment, we still liked it, we just didn't love it this time around, you like many others may well do.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms on higher ground.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank MacColl2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarinaPhuketResort, Manager at Marina Phuket Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2014

Dear MacColl2014,

Thank you for your thoughtful review and point out your recommendations.

We are truly thrilled to learn that you enjoyed the new classiest swimming pool and breakfast at Sala Thai restaurant.

Thank you again for your heartfelt recommendations. I will certainly pass on to our management team for further improvement.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to Marina Phuket Resort in the near future.

Best regards,
Orachorn Kuljinda
Operation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014

Travelled with my wife and 13 year old son. We took the option of utilising the sofa as the third bed which was ok. Handy fot those families with one child.

Having stayed in a number of different resorts/hotels during my numerous trips to Thailand, this place certainly ranks as one of the best. If you are looking for a place which gives you a feel of being on a tropical island, look no further. This resort is formed around a natural environment within a dense manicured jungle of native plants. The plants are also labelled so it’s not only beautiful but educational for guests whilst walking around the resort. In addition to the plants the resort accommodates a number of native squirrels and smalls lizards which will cross your path in the mornings. It’s a great start to the day.

The resorts central hub which consists of an amazing pool, breakfast service building and surrounding villas are accessed by elevated timber walkways which blend into the landscape. The resort isn’t disabled friendly so this should be considered prior to booking this resort.
The detached villas were architecturally designed again to work in with the surroundings. The villas interior was dominated by a dark timber finish. All fixtures from the heavy front door, central bathtub to the rough form steel bath basin complimented the exterior and interiors theme.

Breakfast selection was varied to suit all tastes. The breakfast changed constantly which never made it boring. Love the selection of freshly squeezed juices every morning. Well done.

Internet was available throughout the entire resort from the villa rooms and pool area which kept my son happy.

From all emails which were prompting responded too, arriving from the organised shuttle bus to the day we left everything was spot on at this place. Compliments to management and their staff. Tried the restaurant on the last night and was impressed with the position overlooking Karon Beach and food. Disappointed we did not visit earlier during our stay.

There is some small room for improvement which would complete this resort in my opinion. It’s worth mentioning for managements consideration.

Firstly room service should be considered. Perhaps a small select menu for those who wish to have quite night in their room or may be felling unwell to go out. Secondly an iron and small ironing table to give clothes a once over before heading out or after unpacking the suit case. And thirdly for the light sleepers 'Me' the air conditioning unit could be upgraded to a quieter unit.

We will definitely spread the word around town for anyone visiting Phuket and especially Kata or Karon areas that this place must be considered. Thanks for the memories and look forward to visiting Marina Resort again in the future.

Room Tip: Room J430. Jungle Room direct path to pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank VenetianAussie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarinaPhuketResort, Manager at Marina Phuket Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2014

Dear VenetianAussie,

Thank you very much for your great review on Trip Advisor.

We are pleased to hear that you have chosen to stay at Marina Phuket Resort again and we still made your holiday the most memorable one. We are glad you enjoyed the exquisite architecture with a truly extraordinary jungle garden as well as the unique service of our professional staff.

Thank you very much once again for recommending us to be the great hotel to stay and also for an unforgettable time.

We wish to welcome you back to your home away from home at Marina Phuket Resort again soon.

Best regards,
Orachorn Kuljinda
Operation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2014

Our 4th visit to this resort, our 1st after the renovation. The resort looks even more stunning than it did before. The new lobby looks fabulous, the pool is really great and has twice as many sun loungers than before.
The new breakfast area at Sala Thai: amazing ! And this is not even the best part of the resort, what really makes a difference is the staff. Some of the staff is working there for many years, and whenever we arrive at Marina, the recognition feels like a warm welcome home.
The resort is perfectly located near the beach and near the shops and restaurants, but once you enter the resort, you are completely surrounded by the fauna and flora of the jungle. This is why we love to stay at Marina. The main reason, however, are the people working there. A BIG THANK YOU to all the staff at Marina !!!

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
4  Thank Schotted
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarinaPhuketResort, Manager at Marina Phuket Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2014

Dear Schotted,

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave this wonderful review of Marina Phuket Resort on TripAdvisor and giving us the opportunity to have looked after you once again.

We are extremely delighted to hear how much you have enjoyed our legendary hospitality over the past 4 years, the taste of all facilities and our scrumptious breakfast at Sala Thai restaurant.

We look forward to welcoming you “home” again very soon!

Best regards,
Orachorn Kuljinda
Operation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2014

We've only been here 4 days so far, but this place is picture perfect and I am difficult to please! Breakfast is a smorgasbord catering for most tastes. The gardens are lush and beautiful. The squirrels are happy here. I've always considered that when choosing a place (hehe). The airport transfer was fantastic. Our flight was delayed, the airport was chaotic, but our man waited for us with water. Nice to see my name on a sign. I feel like a rock star. The room lady, the gardeners, all the staff are great. We are in an amazing setting, yet literally a minute from the action on the main street, yet you'd never know it. All the jungle insects go to sleep at around 11pm and get up around 6. No joking! The pool is awesome, but it would be nice if it was open later. I can't help thinking that there's an obvious reason why. Someone has been naughty. We'll definitely be back here again. No doubt about it. We'll need to brush up on our Thai and German though. The German tourists are classy and polite. One day to go. We might have to barricade ourselves in because we really don't want to leave.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Latte_With_One_Sugar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarinaPhuketResort, Manager at Marina Phuket Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2014

Dear Latte_With_One_Sugar,

Thank you very much for your precious review on TripAdvisor.

It is our great pleasure to know that you had a pleasant stay with us. We appreciate your comments on various aspects of our resort. We have passed your compliments to the entire team members as a great motivation to keep delivering good services.

Once again, we thank you for your valuable feedback and hope to have an opportunity to welcome you back to Marina Phuket Resort in the near future.

Best regards,
Orachorn Kuljinda
Operation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Karon
1.9 mi away
Mandarava Resort and Spa
Mandarava Resort and Spa
#2 of 11 in Karon Beach
2,122 reviews
2.1 mi away
Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket
22.6 mi away
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Chanalai Garden Resort
Chanalai Garden Resort
#11 of 55 in Kata Beach
1,202 reviews
4.1 mi away
Amari Phuket
Amari Phuket
#2 of 331 in Patong
6,250 reviews
0.1 mi away
Beyond Resort Karon
Beyond Resort Karon
#17 of 136 in Karon
1,185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marina Phuket Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marina Phuket Resort

Address: 47 Karon Road | Karon Beach, Karon, Phuket 83100, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Karon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Karon
#2 Luxury Hotel in Karon
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Karon
#6 Family Hotel in Karon
#6 Romantic Hotel in Karon
Price Range: £175 - £282 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Marina Phuket Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Marina Phuket Resort is perched on a headland at southern end of Karon, among the finest of Phuket's famous west-coast beaches. The Deluxe Villas overlook the beach and the Andaman Sea. All guests have direct access to Karon Beach and can enjoy snorkeling right out front of the resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Marina Phuket Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marina Phuket Hotel Karon
Marina Phuket Karon
Marina Phuket Resort Karon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing