We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location”
Review of Phuket Island View

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Phuket Island View
Ranked #73 of 133 Hotels in Karon
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good location”
Reviewed 23 April 2013

Nice vacation, only one drawback:

Big cocroaches and rats near restaurants and garbage cans (mostly after sunset)
But it is Thailand, country with tropical climate. Take it for granted or choose another one =)

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wardenka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

422 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    129
    177
    64
    28
    24
See reviews for
106
180
18
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Solna, Sweden
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2013

Me and my boyfriend were here 23 feb to 8 mar and i love it here.
the staff are very friendly and helpfull :),
We had a superior room wich i thought was perfect sincef it was on the 3 floor with a pool view :).

The pools are very nice and pool guys are funny and very service minded.

the hotell is loacted on the end of karon just just 2 min away from kata wich has the most resturants but it has also on the other side as well a lot of shops and resturants.
and its not so far away from yung ceylon (patong) 400 baht with tuktuk or taxi.

I really enjoyed my stay here and i will defenetly come back here .

Room Tip: room 325 is perfect :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ChristineNii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2013

Hotel Phuket Island View is located in Karon Road very close to Karon Beach in Phuket. The hotel has multiple swimming pools and nice rooms. The hotel is having good rooms and very clean bathrooms. There are several shopping, eating and drinking places at a few minutes walking distance from the hotel. The restaurant in the hotel offers multiple cuisines and thai food is good. Overall a good budget hotel to stay in Phuket.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lekisha422
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, U.K
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2013

The hotel has three nice pools and the location is good. You are between in the South of Karon and right by Kata. Plenty of shops, bars and restaurants within easy walking distance and Patong is only 20 minutes down the road. It's also a short walk across to a nice stretch of beach. The room was comfortable enough although a little dark and the lack of free wifi was annoying. The breakfast was quite good and varied too.

Our problem was that we stayed in one of the newer rooms at the back of the hotel which was pretty far from reception and everything else. Avoid these if you can.

Room Tip: Avoid the rooms beginning with a 5. These are quite far from reception and other things.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Pete79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2013

My mother and I stayed at the Phuket Island View hotel from December 28-30, 2012 for a quick weekend trip.
Pros:
- great location, just a quick walk across the street and you're right on Karon Beach
- 3 pools, spa on site
- restaurant had a large selection of food to order
- breakfast was included

Cons: After spending 2 weeks in Bangkok, I found the service at this hotel horrendous. When checking in (we booked through Booking.com), we were handed a bill for a 2nd night, which was fine, but when I was looking it over, the woman at the front counter (only one without a name tag) was grabbing it away from me like a child, because a paper of hers was attached. And the credit card machine wasn't working... and that pretty much set the tone.
- the restaurant tables aren't wiped clean ever, they simply swipe a swiffer-type wand over the tables between people. They're constantly dirty.
- In the bathroom, after a shower I looked at the side of the toilet and it hadn't been cleaned in weeks.
- there were long brown hairs on my bed after it was cleaned, looked like someone took a nap there (my hair is blonde).
- When we checked in, one of the staff took us to find our room - probably 4 ramps/stairs later, I had to ask him to carry my mother's small wheeled luggage as she was having trouble with it, and he reacted like I had asked him for a liver.
- on our last day, we checked out in the morning but had a day trip before an evening flight. We used the "showers" at the spa when we got back - no hot water and no drainage - all of our luggage got soaked before our flight.

I get that it was just before New Year's and it was busy. Bottom line: if you're looking for a nice location, decent property, and good pool selection - for the price, you can't beat this. But don't expect decent service or anything above mediocre otherwise. I was very disappointed.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shauna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2012

The Bungalows are great, excellent value for money if you can get a deal! Staff are very friendly and helpful

Location is right next to Karon Beach, Kata Beach is only a short walk/tuk-tuk/scooter ride away.

Would recommend and will go again

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2012

Phuket island view karon beach
On first impressions this place looks pretty good. Don't get me wrong it is adequate but not great. There are 3 pools its near the beach it's quiet and the rooms are okay, if you like bright green (painted) walls and breakfast is included, which again is okay. This hotel is used mainly by Russian package tourists and I think we were the only English there. Not that this bothers me because we pretty much keep ourselves to ourselves when we are on holiday.
The things that I didn't like were you get charged ( quite a lot) for wifi, there are no safes in the rooms, they are at reception and chargeable. You get 1 pool/beach towel each in your room, which is good but they are not big enough for the beds by the pool so you have to put you flesh on the boiling bed. When you ask for a second the reply is " No can't have". Lastly the staff didn't seem that friendly or interested to be honest.
I didn't eat anything but breakfast at the hotel because of the wifi issue. I strolled just along the road to the hungry corner restaurant and ate there. The place looks a bit like a British cafe but the food was good, the service was great and it was reasonably priced. On top of that they had free wifi. Now had the hotel offered this I would have probably eaten there and they would still have made a profit.
One thing I did find strange was that all the things I've mentioned seem to be cost cutting measures but there is no key card in your room to cut the power when you leave it so you can leave your aircon and lights on all day.

Room Tip: Karon Beach is a bit like Southend on sea, kata noi or Kata beach would be a better choice
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Trojan263
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Karon hotels
0.0 mi away
Andaman Seaview Hotel
Andaman Seaview Hotel
#21 of 133 in Karon
1,221 reviews
0.7 mi away
Baan Karonburi Resort
Baan Karonburi Resort
#65 of 133 in Karon
324 reviews
0.7 mi away
Karon Princess Hotel
Karon Princess Hotel
#99 of 133 in Karon
265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Baan Sailom Hotel
Baan Sailom Hotel
#9 of 148 in Karon
103 reviews
0.2 mi away
Karona Resort & Spa
Karona Resort & Spa
#80 of 133 in Karon
217 reviews
0.1 mi away
Doolay Hostel
Doolay Hostel
#15 of 109 in Karon
36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Phuket Island View? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phuket Island View

Property: Phuket Island View
Address: 144 Karon Road | Karon Beach, Karon, Phuket 83100, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Karon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#28 On the Beach Hotel in Karon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Phuket Island View 3.5*
Number of rooms: 197
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Expedia, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Ebookers, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Phuket Island View reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Phuket Island View Hotel Karon
Phuket Island View Karon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing