We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great location”
Review of Phuket Island View

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Phuket Island View
Ranked #78 of 132 Hotels in Karon
england
Level Contributor
25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“great location”
Reviewed 19 March 2010

The hotel as 3 swimming pools and the beach is directly over a road. The beach is fantastic with the sea lovely and warm. A short walk takes you either Karon or Kata areas to enjoy numerous places to eat or drink. There is plenty of choice at breakfast. In the evening there is free entertainment at the outdoor restaurant which as plenty of good value choice. The rooms are excellent everything you need with a nice balcony.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank icisEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

413 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    127
    172
    62
    28
    24
See reviews for
102
179
17
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Russia, Saint Petersburg
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2010

After browsing a lot in Internet and reading the reviews we had chosen that hotel in Phuket. And didn`t regret a minute. Perfect location: very close to the beach which is really important for such a hot weather. Rooms clean and spacious, all the neccessary things included: TV, hair-dryer, fridge, tea-pot. Complimentary drinking water is added to the frige daily. Quite pace. The territory is very green and there is a very relaxing atmosphere.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Natalia8911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2010

My husband checked in day before in standard room, but then changed to premium with front, beach view. He said the standard was too small and didn't have any view. We were first time travellers to Thailand. And we certainly made the right choice! Room was spacious, nothing over the top, clean, TV, phone, daily cleaning.. Hotel localed at the south end of Karon closer to Kata beach, which was great. You can explore both villages in the evening. Karon and Kata are probably are two best beaches on Phuket. Clean, spacious. Beach is just across the road where nice stuff member stopping the traffin to let semi-naked holiday makers cross the road. There are plently of places to go for dinner, mainly we had dinners at Kata end. We had 4 excursions and didn't regret any. Highly recommended Similan Islands, Krabi day tour and Amazing bike tours. One piece of advice, try maybe to shope around for excursions in the village, you may find better prices. Breakfast was good, and evening menu at the restaurant was great too. Hotel has 3 swimmimng pools, one with swim up bar, which we enjoy at twilight times. Great! Stuff was nice and polite. Massage at the hotel is slightly more expensive then those that are on the beach, but I don't regret. Massage in the hotel was done in the nice quite place by the pool and certainly had more relaxing atmosphere. Overall, great hotel,who don't like "over the top" places, count money and want to explore the best of Phuket. Will certainly return, if opportunity arises.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kartch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leenadevi
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2010

Stayed at this hotel with my husband for 4 nights. This is my second trip to Phuket and I always loved the beautiful sunset at Karon beach. Karon beach is definitely one of the best beaches in Phuket and this hotel is located right across it. Everything you need to "survive" for the few days in Phuket is located within walking distance from the hotel.

The good stuff:
Location - Karon beach is just across the hotel, separated by a road. Money exchange, minimart, massage center, restaurants, pharmacy are just next to the hotel.

Hotel staff - very friendly folks. We arrived couple of hours earlier than the check in time, and yet they were able to check us in despite the early arrival at no extra charge. The TV was not working (cable issue) and within 5 minutes after the call to reception, someone was sent to fix it. On several occasions we had problems contacting our tour pick up and SPA pick up but hotel receptionist helped us to contact them (using their own phones).

Tour Information Desk - We had great pleasure working with Apple (the tour desk agent) to arrange all our tour bookings. She was friendly and always smiling. We booked for car rental, motorbike rental, island tours and Phuket Fantasea tickets (with free transfer) from her. It was easy and cheap too. There were plenty of tour information available at her desk. She speaks good English.

Food - we booked the room with breakfast. There are variety of breads and cereal, and a whole bunch of other stuff too for breakfast. Although food choice are repeated every other day, it was good to eat. We had dinner on one of the night (Elvis night) and ordered few drinks from the bar which was good too. If you're not too keen to eat in the hotel, there is a row of seafood restaurant serving excellent food for lunch and dinner, it's just less than 3 minutes walk from the hotel (from the hotel, turn left towards Kata and walk straight)

Pool - I think there were at least 3 swimming pools, one of them being swim up bar.

Hotel services - complimentary mineral water everyday, fresh beach towel, hotel cleaned up everyday, coffee making facilities in the room, Wi-Fi available from the room (but you will need to purchase a prepaid internet card from reception)

What I didn't like:
The bed - it was hard and stiff. I started getting back aches the very next day

The bathroom - it has all the basic things (soap, shower cream, shampoo, hair dryer) but the bathroom does look worn off. One night the rubbish bin in our bathroom (it was attached to a wooden door under the sink) gave away and fell down with a loud thud.

The TV - most of the channels are in Thai (even English movies) and when we selected Dual language, the TV sound did not work well. We had to stick with Channel V.

As you can see, the bed was the thing I didn't like the most in the hotel and it happens to be the most important thing a hotel should have. I hope they would improve on the bedding. It was too hard to sleep on.

If you're looking for a massage, I would suggest the Leelawadee massage center next to the hotel (on the right). It was good and cheap! For money exchange, there is one just few steps away from the massage center which is open from 8am to 11pm, and they offered the best rate for my currency. You can book your tour directly from the hotel tourist info desk. There are few of them working in shifts, but Apple was the best person to work with.

Phuket Fantasea is a show not to be missed. The buffet was just average, in fact not very appetizing, but the show was excellent.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank babblesbubbles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Karon hotels
0.0 mi away
Andaman Seaview Hotel
Andaman Seaview Hotel
#20 of 132 in Karon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,207 reviews
0.7 mi away
Karon Princess Hotel
Karon Princess Hotel
#96 of 132 in Karon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
0.7 mi away
Baan Karonburi Resort
Baan Karonburi Resort
#63 of 132 in Karon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Karona Resort & Spa
Karona Resort & Spa
#77 of 132 in Karon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
0.1 mi away
Doolay Hostel
Doolay Hostel
#12 of 109 in Karon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
0.1 mi away
Baan Sailom Hotel
Baan Sailom Hotel
#10 of 147 in Karon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Phuket Island View? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phuket Island View

Property: Phuket Island View
Address: 144 Karon Road | Karon Beach, Karon, Phuket 83100, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Karon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#29 On the Beach Hotel in Karon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Phuket Island View 3.5*
Number of rooms: 197
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, ACCOR, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Phuket Island View reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Phuket Island View Hotel Karon
Phuket Island View Karon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing