We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Karon Whale Resort in Phuket, Thailand”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Karon Whale Resort Phuket
Ranked #106 of 134 Hotels in Karon
Vancouver, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Karon Whale Resort in Phuket, Thailand”
Reviewed 17 October 2011

I found this lovely little hotel while wandering around Phuket. I moved out of the hotel I had booked on the internet into Karon Whale Resort. I stayed in room on the ground floor near the pool. You can walk right from your bedroom area through the balcony area down a couple steps to the pool. The bed was comfortable, the room clean and the showers had lots of hot water. The staff was incredible. Very hospitable and friendly and professional. My girlfriend is Thai and was also impressed and happy with the service and hotel. It is far from being a 5 star hotel, but I would stay there again because of the service, convenience and price. I paid around $50US a night (including breakfast) in October 2011.

Room Tip: Stay on the ground floor where you can walk from your room right to the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stan i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    19
    40
    22
    10
    5
See reviews for
17
46
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Russell, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2011

My wife and I stayed here for two nights and couldn't fault the service. We stayed in a Deluxe room for 2000 baht per night. Great value for money. We were on 3rd floor over looking the pool. Only slight problem was the water pressure in the shower changed from very strong to very weak. Not a major problem though. Two bottles of complimentary water in the room each day which was a nice touch. 2 minute walk to the beach and right amongst the shops. Shop owners not a pushy as in Bali and far more polite and helpful. Hawkers on the beach also were no where near as pushy as in Kuta, Bali. Breakfast was good with good selection of hot and cold food. Staff very welcoming on arrival with cold orange juice and cold towel for each of us. Wifi internet available for 50bath per hour. Reasonable speed. We would stay here again, no problem

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KiwiCouple21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karasjok
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 April 2011

Nice little hotel with very nice service.
Not the best place to stay if you have small children as it was only a small pool for children.

Close to the beach and resturanger and pubs.

In-room safe and Internet should have been free.

Room Tip: Order on the Internett.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FrodeT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gothenburg, Sweden
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2011

Positive: Rather ok room, balcony, decent pool

- Bad breakfast buffé - imagine that fruits had to stay in the open with flies flying around. It guess fruit is ok if you arrive early to eat but imagine what happens after hours staying in the sun, even though on ice.. It would be enough for them to put some lids on the fruit. Juice is undrinkably sweet and marmalades were nasty. We bought our own ananas juice and marmalade and brought to the breakfast table! They should invest in good juice, some yoghurts, some fresh fruits and it would be so much better.
- Towels (both in room and at pool) are a bit old and some have holes.
-Some of the people at the hotel lack service mind and especially travel agent in reception who seemed to be uninterested to help unless you booked a trip with them.

We can not help thinking that with the price we paid of THB 3000,-/night that they should try a little bit more by offering WiFi free of charge (not even good WiFi connection), that security box at room should be free of charge (box, not even attached to wall, cost THB 50,-/day !) and that they should invest a little more in breakfast.
Especially when you can find cheaper hotels around Karon/Kata, with better location and better service.

Also, could not help thinking that all the Russians who stayed there paid much less than we did... sigh!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Annislay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Karon hotels

Portsmouth
1 review
Reviewed 28 September 2009

Complete value for money. Staff really good with children and prices of drinks and food were in compairason to the local bars. Had a wonderful time. Hotel has clearly been re-decorated. Thank you for your time. xx

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank psy10145
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cyprus
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2009

Not really sure where to start but i did promise my self i would send in this review to hopefully help others.
This hotel was a night mare !!
The only good thing going for it was the location. Location being only 3-4 minutes to a great sandy beach and seconds to bars and restaurants.
When we arrived to our surprise the room was actually ready, not bad, quite small but it had everything such as TV, Mini bar etc.
First we had no hangers to put our clothes, then we realised only one plug socket actually worked. I hated to ask and make a seen but for sure we needed hangers. Within 2 minutes the door knocked and arrived TWO hangers !! So out we went for a walk, when we arrived we had no electricty, that was going to be fixed in 30 minutes which became 2 hours. So as soon as it came on, jumped straight in the shower which was freezing, not only was i having a freezing cold shower but the water was actually coming through the bathroom ceiling onto me and heading towards the light !! Off to reception again but all they seem to do is scratch there head and insist its not a problem !! By this time i had had enough so went out for beer !!

The next morning off to the inclusive breakfast which consisted of curry with rice and ants or, stir fry with ants, or steamed rice with mixed veg and ants, fried cauli ,egg fried rice and ants or toast with jam and plenty of ants !!!

Pool towels stained and full of holes were offered free of charge !!

I asked at reception if there was any chance of having a hot shower tonight, and having the sockets fixed, yes yes madam. That evening we had a hot shower alright, it almost burnt us and the boiler almost came through the ceiling ! This was ridiculous and very dangerous. So eventually they decided to move us to another room.
The same happened there although we had an army full of ants in the bathroom to join us and the light bulbs blew !!

The staff were not nice at all, apart from one waiter who was on in the mornings, the rest, forget it, they don,t even no how to smile !

Just to top it all off we had a COMPULSORY DINNER AT 40 POUND EACH to pay for news years eve..............believe me the dinner was no better than the breakfast !

This was the most expensive hotel we stayed in during or travelling in Thailand and the worst, never again, please DO NOT MAKE THE SAME MISTAKE !!

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Rude Reception staff
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SuedeCyprus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Karon hotels
0.0 mi away
On Hotel Phuket
On Hotel Phuket
#94 of 134 in Karon
97 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lap Roi Karon Beachfront
Lap Roi Karon Beachfront
#112 of 134 in Karon
52 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sugar Marina Resort - ART
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
In on the Beach
In on the Beach
#100 of 134 in Karon
129 reviews
0.4 mi away
Baan Karonburi Resort
Baan Karonburi Resort
#66 of 134 in Karon
332 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Front Village Hotel
The Front Village Hotel
#76 of 134 in Karon
228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Karon Whale Resort Phuket? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Karon Whale Resort Phuket

Property: Karon Whale Resort Phuket
Address: 538/3 Patak Road, Tambol Karon, Karon, Phuket 83100, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Karon
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#38 Top resorts Hotel in Karon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Karon Whale Resort Phuket 3.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Karon Whale Resort Phuket reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Karon Whale Resort Phuket Hotel Karon
Karon Whale Hotel Phuket

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing