We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love this place, home away from home”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Karona Resort & Spa
Ranked #78 of 135 Hotels in Karon
Reviewed 10 August 2013

After a poor experience at the Metadee in Kata, myself and my wife checked out and travelled to the Karona Resort and Spa where I had lasted stayed in 2006. I had really enjoyed my last stay back then, so after our poor experience at the Metadee it seemed a logical choice. Staying in the down season, I believe we were the only guests at the hotel during the week we stayed, the first time I had ever experienced that! All week we had the restaurant and pool to ourselves which was amazing. One night in the restaurant we even had that too ourselves too with live music! Amazing.

The rooms look a tiny bit dated, but still very nice and clean. The air conditioning is effective with an additional ceiling fan. The beds comfortable with a nice balcony over looking the pool and sea.

The hotel itself is in the centre of Karon beach close to restaurants, shops and bars. The nearest landmark is the dino-park which all of the taxi drivers know.

The service we received at the Karona Resort and Spa was great and our second visit was just as good as my first. I would highly recommend the Karona Resort and Spa to other travellers visiting Phuket.

Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank darrenbayley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (229)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

62 - 68 of 229 reviews

Reviewed 3 August 2013

We were a bit worried about where to stay in thailand because everything looks good online, and so we found out that karon beach is relatively quiet and headed down to this resort from patong. The place is well maintained, the staff is friendly and the breakfast is good. Its one of the few resorts that is barely five steps from the beach on karon. And below are charming little restaurants and a great live band that performs every night. We stayed at the superior seaview and was every bit worth the price. They also organised for an airport drop and packed a little breakfast for the way :)

Room Tip: choose the seaview, its the best ;)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank simonesen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2013

I inquired prior to booking if credit cards are acceptable, they replied they do accept cards. But upon arrival, they said that their credit card machine was spoilt so can only accept cash. WHAT is this?! Credit card machine is not working? Where should we go and get so much cash? When we told them we don't have the cash and they require immediate payment, we told them we don't have and we will go some other hotels then. Then they relent and say can check in first and pay later. IT's a pity we can't contact the boss or manager as they say just say they are not around ALL the time.

Initially I booked the room, requesting for extra bed and better view but when i arrived at the room, it was not the room I had requested. I am paying at a premium price just for a normal room. IT just shouldn't be. Then I feedback to them, they say this is the only room left. After some demanding, they relent and got me the room I had requested. Gosh.....

Breakfast was good and sumptuous amount but they pretended not to understand English and when you need more they just say don't have this item, don't have that item.

WiFi is only available at the main lobby, other than that, totally no signal at all. What is this again? This hotel is not very big, the signal must have been really bad.

Pool have lots of green algae inside the pool itself, no maintenance was given.

Low or non-peak season, the spa is not open. This should have been conveyed to guests earlier as i was planning to go for their spa services daily.

Room Tip: Think at the price I paid, can get a better room elsewhere. Be firm with what you requested.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bloodymiko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2013 via mobile

I stayed here in feb 2012 and had a gr8 stay. Decided to come back this year with my boyfriend and his parents. Problems as soon as we arrived. They couldn't take our Amex in the initial booking deposit so we had to sort that out. Then them chased us everyday during our 5 days here to pay the full bill...shouldn't that happen when you check out?! They should sort out the policy with booking.com and not take it out on is.They threatened to call the police and didn't want to hear anything we had to stay. They came up with lies to make their version of story sound better. They pretended their English was bad. Miscommunications can happen but to accuse us and make up false stories is not acceptable. I will never recommend this place anymore. The whole situation could have been handled more professionally. Overall Thai ppl in Phuket have become bitter towards tourists and its a shame.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aznpeargrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2013

Nice hotel, deserves 4 stars. Clean and close to the beach, which is important as the beach has no shower around but is anyway fantastic) This hotel is also close to Kata so you can walk there if you are tired of Karon. There is a tuk-tuk stand nearby and in the evening there comes a guy who makes fantastic pancakes. Good breakfast which starts at 6.30 and ends at 10. We had a very big triple room though there were only two of us and our friends got a double room with sea view and a big balcony, both variants have their pluses. I would definitely recommend this hotel.
P.s. After the stadium there are 7 restaurants one by one - they all are nice.

Room Tip: Our triple room on the 2nd floor was very spacious but faced the pool area and had a small balcony w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anastasia_Meln
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2013

Literally across the road to beautiful Karon Beach. Karon town is not that nice...no sidewalks so you walk on the edge of narrow roads...plus it smells like sulfur and waste! But this beach is beautiful...one of the best we saw in Thailand.

*Pool Area: More than expected even from pictures. Gorgeous.

*Breakfast: Superb. A huge display & array of food. Several dishes changed daily so you always had variety. Crispy bacon, fried & boiled eggs, omelettes made to order, fresh bread loaves, lots of hot dishes, yogurt, fruits, & salad.

*Staff: English not their strong suit. Definitely not as knowledgeable about the area as a visitor would hope when asking for advice & seeking recommendations. Housekeeping staff were on their toes; the room was perfectly made up & items restocked every day.

*Room: As expected from other guest’s photos. Totally acceptable for the price. If they wanted to modernise it a bit, all they would need is some neutral paint.

*Bed: Several reviews described the firm beds (which I love). Unfortunately, it was too hard even for me; we had to ask for thin foam cover & softer pillows. I would highly recommend asking for the pillow top immediately.

*Shower: Always hot & flowing with strong pressure. The age of the shower shows in the grout build-up, but no worse than most people would find in their own aged showers at home.
*Location: If you're headed to Karon, this is the hotel to book. LITERALLY 50m to the most beautiful, calm, clean, beach I’ve ever seen. The town is nothing to write home about, but the beach makes it worth it.

*Free Wi-fi Internet: Fast & reliable whilst in the lobby or by the pool, but it didn’t work in the room.

Room Tip: Ask for a bed pillow top immediately. Any questions about local activities, tours, directions, etc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tallmikeyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2013

we have just arrived home from the karona resort & spa. after 8 nights. we had a ocean view room which was a delight to wake up to with the birdlife. breakfast was a good start to the day and good value as it would last us out the day prior to our dinner which i must say we took out as there was a lot of choice in nearby kata and further karon and patong, good to discover when on holidays.. the day spa provided the best body scrub, massage and facial we have ever had included with a real european sauna to begin, all of three hour duration..excellent and the staff were beautiful. A birthday surprise included an arrangement of orchids and flowers with a plate of tropical fruit and card which was a lovely surprise and very much appreiciated. i think for what we had at the hotel, it is certainly worth the money we spent and if you asked me, i would head back for another 3hour package at the beauty day spa. Staff always helpful and smiling.Thankyou to Karona Resort and Staff......

Room Tip: ocean view and to the side as the front facing ocean view rooms we noticed got the afternoon sun
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank betsy d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Karon hotels
0.2 mi away
Phuket Island View
Phuket Island View
#73 of 135 in Karon
445 reviews
1.0 mi away
Baan Karonburi Resort
Baan Karonburi Resort
#64 of 135 in Karon
340 reviews
0.9 mi away
Karon Princess Hotel
Karon Princess Hotel
#100 of 135 in Karon
272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Andaman Seaview Hotel
Andaman Seaview Hotel
#21 of 135 in Karon
1,257 reviews
0.2 mi away
Diamond Cottage Resort & Spa
Diamond Cottage Resort & Spa
#4 of 9 in Karon Beach
753 reviews
1.2 mi away
Karon Sea Sands Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Karona Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Karona Resort & Spa

Address: 6 Soi Karon Soi 2 | Phuket, Karon, Phuket 83100, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Karon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#29 On the Beach Hotel in Karon
#33 Top resorts Hotel in Karon
#39 Spa Hotel in Karon
#46 Romantic Hotel in Karon
Price Range: £26 - £1,339 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Karona Resort & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Karona Resort & Spa is located at the heart of the Andaman Sea, on one of the most perfect spots in the Phuket Island. The resort has been designed to bring you the most moderate, cozy and harmony surroundings of the tropical rain forest. Rooms have been decorated with tropical plants and trees where cultivated sculptures would be found at every corner of the landscape. Genuine pieces of ceramic arts are decorated on designed wall to reflect the Tropical resort by the sea. Karona Tropical feature 55 superior rooms in 9 low rise buildings, 37 deluxe rooms with seaview in the main building 3 suites. We have connecting rooms which are sultable for families as they are two Deluxe rooms with connecting door, and 3 Honeymoon Deluxe, where we have a bathtubs over looking sea view. You may also opt for one of the three luxerious Karona Suite. These are connecting rooms of Deluxe and Superior (1 Single - 1 Double) best for a quality family or friends get together. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Ctrip TA, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Karona Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Karona Resort And Spa
Karona Hotel Karon
Karona Resort Karon
Karona Resort & Spa Phuket/Karon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing