We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Some teething problems”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Beyond Resort Karon
Ranked #16 of 135 Hotels in Karon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 October 2013

Have stayed here before prior to the renovations and loved it. This time around was not as good though.

A few things bothered me: The air conditioning in the room wasn't working (to be fair I did not bring this to their attention until I checked out). They charged me 100 Baht per day for the WiFi (who still charges for internet these days?). I had booked the room with a double bed configuration however, to my surprise, the room we were given had two single beds (seemed very strange since this hotel no longer caters for children!). When we asked for the bedding configuration to be changed, we were told we would have to wait until tomorrow - not sure why as all they did was push the mattress' together and change the sheets. Also, the corridor to the rooms was SOOO slippery, it was like an ice skating rink! I nearly slipped over about 50 times just walking carefully to my room - very dangerous.

The other frustrating thing is if you want anything done, it takes FOREVER. Want a WiFi password? Be prepared to wait 15 min's while they shuffle paperwork, fill out forms, walk from room to room.... this is fairly typical of Thailand in general though.

Overall though, this is still a very nice hotel in a great location. It just needs to be managed better. They had only re-opened two days before we arrived.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Eventful_Thor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KRBPKT, General Manager at Beyond Resort Karon, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2013

Dear Eventful_Thor,

Thank you very much for your taking the time to share the reviews to us.

I'm so sorry to learn from you that you had some inconvenience during your stay in the period of 4 - 7 October, 2013. Unfortunately, there was heavily rain every day and also making the humidity everywhere. Our claener always looked after the hotel floor and we haven't received such a comments from others.

Regarding to the room, we did offer you the room with great seaview and we showed you another one with king size bed but you preferred to stay in the original one with better view.

WiFi, hotel free WiFi is available at Hotel Lobby and @Beach Restaurant , but in room will be charged with reasonable price. But we really regret for the delay of our service.

However, thank you very much for being our guest during your recent visit and looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back again in the future.

Yours sincerely,

Amnat Jittaviukl
General Manager
Beyond Resort Karon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,152)
There are newer reviews for Beyond Resort Karon
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

687 - 693 of 1,152 reviews

Reviewed 3 September 2013

Great service, staff try hard to please, swimming pools and bar service good and breakfast was the best. Tailors out the front of hotel ready to greet and hassle for service. Beach is close buy and resort is positioned at a quieter part of Phuket.

Room Tip: Try and stay near the front entrance as some rooms are along walk to breakfast in the heat/ rain.
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Drew N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2013

First time visitor to thailand and picked a excellent hotel.Situated close to beach, bars, restraunts, and shops and not far from Patong beach.Friendly staff couldnt be more helpfull, Spotless rooms cleaned daily with fresh linen and towels, great size rooms if taking children we took are 7 month old son and were provided with a cot.Outside area regulary cleaned and pool spotless, Wide selection of choices for breakfast lunch and afternoon tea which ranged from curry nights to bbq ngts at great priceses and night time entertainment.Only thing i could fault about this hotel is lack of activities/entertainment within the hotel when wheather is poor, only thing there is is a computer area within the bar luckily you get a 1hr free wifi everyday and money off vouchers.
Overall great hotel would gladly go again.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Honestkyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2013

My review is coming late. I stayed at this property around 7-8 years back. I had not heard of Tripadvisor back then.

We chose this hotel because it was bang on the beach. All other resorts are separated by a road from the beach.At that time, the rooms were good .You could just walk down your room and you would be on the beach. They had a big breakfast buffet which was a star attraction.Its far away from the maddening crowd of Patong.When you walk out of the hotel into the street, its not very crowded. You get the feel of a relaxed beach town.

The staff was very helpful. At times they went out of their way to help us.
Absolutely enjoyed my stay. I am not sure whether things would have changed after so many years.I heard that the hotel got washed away in the boxing day tsunami.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank terminatorahmedabad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2013

We spent a great family holiday with our married children and 18 months old granddaughter. The rooms were very nice and are currently being refurbished. An ideal place to enjoy the pool and have the beach right out the front as well. Unfortunately, once the refurbishments are completed, this lovely hotel will no longer be available for families with children. The staff very very friendly the food excellent. We would go and stay at this place again. We have seen a sample of the new rooms and they are just lovely.

Room Tip: All rooms have ocean views and balconies except on the ground floor where it opens up to a grassed a...
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bernie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2013

My husband and I stayed at this hotel in April 2013. This was our second stay here. The hotel is being renovated very soon, and should be lovely when finished. On both our stays here, we found it to be clean, very friendly and helpful staff, quiet, and excellent food. The buffet breakfasts were beautiful. It is right on the beach, and there are two pools if the sea is unsuitable for swimming. There are plenty of restaurants nearby. The only thing I would have liked is a fly wire door, as there were times when we would have liked the balcony door open and the air conditioner off.

Room Tip: Choose a room at the office end of the hotel. It is a long hike to the other end.
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marilyn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KRBPKT, General Manager at Beyond Resort Karon, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2013

Dear Marilyn,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience with others. Happy to see that you were happy
with all services of the resort.
We hope to able to welcome you back to newly renovated and rebranding hotel "BEYOND RESORT KARON" in the near future again.

Yours sincerely,
Amnat Jittavikul-GM/Beyond Resort Karon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2013

My husband & I stayed for 5 nights in April 2013 & enjoyed the most relaxing holiday we can remember. Wonderful location-superb food -all staff were extremely obliging & courteous - even organised a birthday cake for me (our lovely travel agent had mentioned this when booking our accommodation) Truly above & beyond expectations. I experienced the total indulgence of Karon Spa from Anne's magic hands - Total Bliss! Our room was extremely clean & comfortable (with great mattress) - which overlooked the bar area & beach view. Staff were always seen maintaining an extremely high level of efficiency & pride in their duties. We were privileged to view the new prototype room planned for the coming renovation & know that the current staff are looking forward to greeting guests to the new resort.

Room Tip: Higher floor has better ocean view.
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suzanne T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KRBPKT, General Manager at Beyond Resort Karon, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2013

Dear Suzanne T.,

Happy to see that you have enjoyed your holidays with us and on beautiful Phuket. We also thank you very much for taking the time to see the phototype of new mock up room with modern designs, a contemporary themed bathroom. We will be delighted to welcome you back again to new rebranding hotel " BEYOND RESORT KARON " in the near future.

Yours sincerely,
Amnat Jittavikul-GM/Beyond Resort Karon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Karon hotels
2.0 mi away
Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket
1.8 mi away
Mandarava Resort and Spa
Mandarava Resort and Spa
#2 of 9 in Karon Beach
2,021 reviews
1.2 mi away
Chanalai Garden Resort
Chanalai Garden Resort
#12 of 56 in Kata Beach
1,116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa
1.7 mi away
Novotel Phuket Karon Beach Resort & Spa
1.6 mi away
Katathani Phuket Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beyond Resort Karon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beyond Resort Karon

Address: 51 Karon Road, Karon, Phuket 83100, Thailand (Formerly Karon Beach Resort and Spa)
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Karon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Karon
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Karon
#8 Romantic Hotel in Karon
#9 Spa Hotel in Karon
#15 Luxury Hotel in Karon
#30 Family Hotel in Karon
Price Range: £86 - £252 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Beyond Resort Karon 4*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Secluded and truly intimate, Beyond Resort Karon is nestled into a quiet corner of Phuket's grandest beach, Karon Beach. With 81 spacious rooms overlooking the crystal clear Andaman waters, the resort offers peace, quiet and privacy on the famed beach with myriads of shopping and dining choices merely on the other side of the lobby. Offering Thai Hospitality, with stunning panoramic view of the Andaman Sea and the beach to yourself, Beyond Resort Karon is a perfect gateway for honeymooners, couples and individuals 18 years old and above. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Beyond Resort Karon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Karon Beach Hotel Karon
Karon Beach Phuket
Karon Beach Resort
Beyond Resort Karon Phuket

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing