We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another magical CM vacation!”
Review of Club Med Phuket

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Club Med Phuket
Ranked #22 of 134 Hotels in Karon
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Another magical CM vacation!”
Reviewed 7 July 2014

This was our 2nd CM village (first was Bintan). Stayed for 4 days in the first week of June with my brother, my wife and 2 young daughters (4 and 2).

Welcoming party: Not as rapturous as the one we experienced in Bintan. It is perfectly understood as we traveled to the village via a taxi-van and reached the village close to 7pm, no thanks to the peak hour Thai traffic!
My rating = 7/10

The room: We were allocated 2 seperate rooms at the 2nd floor of Block R, which was around 10 minutes' walking distance from the main building. Was quite an exercise, especially with tired kids in tow. The conditions of the rooms were average at best. Fixtures and furnitures showed signs of aging. Some of the electrical sockets were either faulty or detached from the walls.
My rating = 6/10

The food & drinks: A pretty good mixture of cuisines at the main restaurant. Only complaint is the availability of tables as the village was pretty packed. Matters were made worse by the weird lay-out of the dining halls (3 indoors, 1 outdoor, i think?) which were separate from the building holding the buffet counters. Oh, the air-conditioning was weak, too. Be prepared to sweat it out while having lunch. Besides that, we noticed that the serving staff could not cope with the crowd too. Frequently saw quite a number of families standing patiently around tables which were just vacated, but filled with dirty utensils.
Food & drinks (quality) = 8/10
Food & drinks (ambiance) = 6/10

GOs: This time round, we did not manage to mingle with any GOs, at all. Unlike our trip to Bintan where we knew almost all the GOs by name. Could not fault them on their energy and enthusiasm, especially during the nightly performances.
Rating = 6/10

Wont be able to give much details on the other aspects of the village as we spent most of our time in the pools with the children. Both me and my wife were slightly disappointed with this trip, but it wont stop us from visiting other villages. As a matter of fact, just confirmed our trip to Bintan village (substituted from Cherating due to renovations) for the year-end holidays few moments before writing this review.

Room Tip: As mentioned by some of the reviewers, try to request for rooms as close to the main lobby as possib...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kwanmh33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,008 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,550
    845
    344
    146
    123
See reviews for
1,709
555
107
62
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (366)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014

This is our third stay at Club Med, but our first at Phuket. We are a family of four with two boys aged 7 and 10. We were also travelling with my in laws who love Club Med. My boys have had the experience of doing trapeze, yoga, snorkelling,soccer, archery and golf, just to name a few. There are many more sports but this is just show that my children never got bored. The pools were fantastic along with the great GOs, especially Swapnil and Kay, they were outstanding. The experience of Club Med should be had by everyone. You always feel so relaxed when you leave and feel like you have been on holidays for ever. I highly recommend Club Med, with their professional staff, great attitude towards everyone. What a talented bunch of people who show
great enthusiasm for their profession.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lfrowd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014

This is our families 6th Club Med holiday so we know what we are in for and the experience we are to get. 2 Adult , 2 Kids with friends 2 Adult and 1 child. Spent 8 nights only at CM Phuket this time should have been more.

Youngest decided no to kids club and spent all week either in the pool after rigorous work out at circus trapeze - very happy with his new tricks, or in the surf, had great time each night playing beach soccer followed by World cup viewing in Karaoke room - very tired boy :) eldest now in Junior teens club / passworld, saw her for breakfast then at some time in the evening - we assumed she had a great time - was kept well entertained by GO Sam and the other kids. Saw her holiday from snaps she took.

We spent days lazing by the pool or in the surf - just what the doctor ordered for a holiday.

Thank you Club Med for the room upgrade and the special lobster dinner in the Cha Du restaurant, cooked to perfection, the chef there is amazing.

The village had a more subdued atmosphere from previous experience at CM Phuket (2010 and 2011). Not sure why but at the after show the team came alive - maybe the heat took its toll on them during the day too...

Was good to see CM put on World Cup viewing each night for anyone - enjoyable watching with Kobi and the other GO and GM

Stand out GO - Sam & Didier (Teens club), Reno, Kerry, Wish, Masa, McKenzie et all at circus, Kobi & Tanya (bar trainee) keeping us watered, Milk, Stef, Josh & Adi (lifeguards and beach soccer)

Only negative for us were the hard beds, not like we remember and the some of the food didn't seem as up to par as normal - otherwise exactly what we expect from CM - a great relaxing family holiday

No trips this year just gentle wanders around the local village life that envelopes CM Phuket.

Started to think about CM village for next year already......

Room Tip: If you want to party stay close to the central area otherwise stay further away for a quieter night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CMHawleyGM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 July 2014

We stayed at Club Med Phuket for 7 days and was Awesome , the staff were so helpful and friendly. They made our stay so awesome , the entertainment facilities were great with so much to do like the 9 hole golf course, squash , badminton , archery , snorkeling ,trapeze ect . My girlfriend and I enjoyed every moment of this Club Med Experience and would most definitely do it again -value for money.
I think the only issue we had was the fact that getting into the toilet was a bit of a mission -a tight squeeze to get in and close the door behind you !

Neverless we met some great people who really made our stay at Club Med that much better ! So a great thanks to Stefanie , Lisa, Anna, Mai ,and Mckenzie! You guys rock ! Thanks to the golf and snorkling intrustors you were all super fun and really made us laugh -was great!

What a brilliant place! Such a lovely way to kick start our holiday in Phuket !!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Grant T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014

The "Club Med" experience truly is different from the rest and in a class of its own. This was our first Club Med trip so we didn't know what to expect, but we had high expectations. The result: everything was right, from the welcome, to the atmosphere, to the location and views (there was a public beach right across from the resort), and most importantly, to the staff - the GOs. They make Club Med what it is. They are friendly, genuine and go out of their ways to make your stay enjoyable. Special thanks to Abu from the bar, Zai from archery, Singh from sports, Jaya from guest services, the GO from golf (can't remember his name), and so many more...you guys made our stay so memorable and great!

As for food, there was a lot of variety in the buffet restaurant. The food quality isn't top notch, but still good and lots to choose from. Special thanks to Mahen for going out of his way and getting us a table at Chu Da for our anniversary. The food at Chu Da was great, and we highly recommend it!

There's a lot of activities you can do in the village - archery, golf, badminton, tennis, swimming, ping pong, thai boxing (on certain days of the week), and so much more (even karaoke). There are lots of competitions arranged throughout the day, and they are fun! The nightly shows are great too, very funny and entertaining. You can tell a lot of effort went into them, and the crowd really enjoys them!

On the day of our departure we were saddened to leave cuz we had so much fun during the 5 days we were there. We were totally surprised when Jaya and the GOs we were familiar with were there to say goodbye to us (in the afternoon the GO from golf asked us when we were leaving and said he'd be there to say bye to us, and he actually came. Totally surprised!). We didn't expect they'd have the time cuz they're super busy and yet still seem to be all over the place. It just goes to show the effort they put in to make the trips so enjoyable.

As this was our first Club Med trip, we were totally impressed and are now strong advocates of the Club Med vacation. We've been back for a week now and still suffering from the "Club Med blues." We're already planning on where to go on our next Club Med trip!

To describe our Club Med experience in 2 words - ABSOLUTELY AMAZING!!!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Travellercorner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leumeah, New South Wales, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

My fiancé and I just returned for here and we had the most amazing time as we go engaged whilst there. In the first few days we where a little disappointed with the GO's but late found out all the amazing GO's we met had had the day off when we arrived. Our time in club med would not have been the same without the amazing Lisa, Mac, Anna, Stef, Sam, Mzala, Ryan and i would like to thank Sora for helping my fiancé arrange our engagement and for putting us in the suite on our last night. Lisa , Mac & Anna are 3 of the most amazing women i have ever met! Our trip would not have been the same without these girls, and i really hope i can stay in touch with them for a long time.. I have a few things to say to them... SPRUNGGG!! sawadeeekkaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaa!!

If you go to Club Med Phuket and you like to party you must find Lisa if she is still there, she is so amazing, I cannot wait until she comes to Australia. Mac & Anna are 2 of the kinds people i have ever met. We are both so grateful to have met you all and i wish we didn't have to leave. I want to thank you all so much for helping us celebrate our engagment and creating all these beautiful memories.

The resort itself was great, the food was great. the only thing was the zen pool is so far away from the main section of the resort.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Taylor B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Our second trip to a Club Med resort and we were not disappointed.

Kids club, our three kids 8, 10 and 12 years had a great time supported as always by the wonderful GO's, Kay, Sheeba, Didier, Eugene, Sam, Nut, Not, Duke, Beam, Fah, Ice, Moss, Sentha, Tich, Orn and Ann.

Circus Club, Meow Meow (Kerry), Mackenzie, Wish, Marco as always great fun.

Bar Team was great, used a lot by the children and not by us at all..... always helpful in keeping the drinks topped up. Mzala (Will I Am), Roongring, Mook, Chen, Kobe, plus the other guys particularly the trainees all worked hard to keep us hydrated.......

Special mention to the GE's in the restaurants and the housekeeping teams, because without the back of house staff the whole experience would not be as good. Particularly the restaurant teams dealing with the demanding needs of the GM's. Special mention to Sunee, Lita and Sompong.

Other GO's to mention who made our stay enjoyable were Zindale (Golf), JP (Zak's dance partner), Jazz (Archery and Casino Night), Singh (Aerobics and Table Tennis), Marco (Lifeguard and Aerobics)

Accommodation was acceptable, and clean.

To all the other GO's not specifically mentioned the shows and activities provided were great as expected, and in particular to Jaya (I'm not finished!) (We are professionals!) we really enjoyed your leadership of the village whilst Chief De Village was away, your spirit and enthusiasm is to be admired. It was great to meet you and your great team in Phuket.

A great trip and thoroughly enjoyed.

We are already planning Club Med trip number 3!

Peter, Ruth, Elise, Zak and Poppy

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Karon hotels
0.5 mi away
The Boathouse Phuket
The Boathouse Phuket
#5 of 56 in Kata Beach
807 reviews
0.6 mi away
Kata Rocks
Kata Rocks
#9 of 56 in Kata Beach
214 reviews
0.3 mi away
Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Chanalai Romantica Resort
Chanalai Romantica Resort
#7 of 56 in Kata Beach
715 reviews
0.8 mi away
Mom Tri's Villa Royale
Mom Tri's Villa Royale
#3 of 56 in Kata Beach
910 reviews
1.0 mi away
Katathani Phuket Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Club Med Phuket? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Med Phuket

Property: Club Med Phuket
Address: 20/10 Kata Road | Kata Beach, Karon, Phuket 83100, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Karon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Karon
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Karon
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Karon
#20 Family Hotel in Karon
#21 Luxury Hotel in Karon
#39 Romantic Hotel in Karon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Club Med Phuket 4*
Number of rooms: 297
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In Kata Bay, the Club Med Village on the island of Phuket stretches out under palm trees caressed by the breeze. Bungalows, built in the style of the local "long-houses" and decorated with teak, silk and marble, exude a Zen spirit in this idyllic garden where you can practice yoga beneath the frangipani trees. A warm and clear sea opens up its underwater depths, filled with colorful fish and abundant flora. Adults and children alike can find tranquility and discover the Thai culture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Club Med so you can book your Club Med Phuket reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Med Phuket Hotel Karon
Club Med Karon
Phuket Club Med
Club Med Phuket Karon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing