We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great but not without problems”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Centara Karon Resort Phuket
Ranked #18 of 132 Hotels in Karon
Certificate of Excellence
Kalgoorlie-Boulder, Australia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“great but not without problems”
Reviewed 21 July 2011

My Husband and I stayed at centara Karon resort in october 2010 for our Honeymoon. Staff were wonderful, friendly, courteous and most of them could not do enough for you.
When we arrived having left Australia at 12.30am and not getting to the hotel until around 10am we were tired. the lady who greeted us is the only staff member whom we thought was unfriendly the whole time we were there. she was abrupt when asking for information and we got sat down while they took our details after which we got a lovely fruity drink and told we would have to wait for our room to be ready.
after about a half an hour to an hour we were taken to our room... it was clean but smelt a bit musty even more so once we turned the airconditioner on...however after about 12-24 hours the smell left. whilst the room was pleasant enough it did not look like what was in the pictures I think the photos shown are probably from when it was brand new.
Breakfast was great but you had to have patience depending on what time you went for breakfast you had to wait in line for a table to be free. food was excellent.
we had a few minor issues whilst there...we had the water turn brown suddenly from time to time...this wasnt just brown water but it was staining brown water...the brown stuck to skin and towels and was horrible...this happened randomly and maybe only 3 times in our 12 day stay.
The water does not get hot...for us this was not a problem as it was a perfect luke warm tempeture and for the climate you really didnt need it any hoter...however for those who like hot showers this could be an issue.
The maintanance staff didnt understand english and we had them in about 6 times whilst there about 3 times to fix our water and another 3 to fix leaking problems in the bathroom below our room. One time the man came straight in when the door was unlocked and into the bathroom...I was still in bed and unclothed which I found to be a little disturbing.
the management gave us some fruit and an apology for this inconvienance.
The pools were great and we often found ourselves there at happy hour sitting at the pool bar...what a great way to relax in the water sitting at a bar :)
We visited the spa area about 3 times and had different types of massages they were very relaxing and the girls very professional.
The grounds are well kept and it was nice to go for a stroll around the premises in the evening or mornings.
We tried both resteraunts in the hotel and all the bars...the main resteraunt is better than the outside one...we only went to the outside one once as I felt a little bit sick after eating there...there are some great resteraunts around the area and we can not wait to go back to the two chefs not far from the hotel.
also if you have a medical problem and cannot get up stairs ask for something on the ground floor as there is no lift.
whilst our stay there was not horrible and staff were great and the location is excellent this year we will try another hotel.
If you do stay there get your laundry done outside there are several places nearby for a lot cheaper than the hotel prices.

Room Tip: the more expensive rooms are in the quieter area so if you can afford it go with them
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KazMic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,692 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,884
    1,249
    379
    124
    56
See reviews for
1,602
1,298
83
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,011)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Wellington
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2011

This hotel is great! Lovely clean rooms, and bathrooms, the staff are incredibly friendly (as all the Thai people seem to be), there are 3 pools - all with bars in the pool, good restaurants and the buffet breakfasts are delish (waffles, banana roti, pancakes, bacon, cereals, fruit, pastries etc.. etc..).
The location the hotel is in is great. It is about a 10min tuk tuk ride into Patong so you can bein in the hussle and bussle of the city if you want to, but then can catch the tuk tuk back to the more laxed-out Karon. Karon is a lot quieter than patong, which we found good because it's nice to be able to have a mixture of both (go into patong at night for the markets, drinking, dinner and then ready to go home catch the tuk tuk back to karon where it's more relaxed).
We stayed in a deluxe room and it's really nice. Definitely stay here!! Also just outside of the hotel is a whole lot of restaurants, bars, few market stalls. 10/10 :)

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Laus4785
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2011

The service of the staff was impeccable always polite. The room was spacious and clean not a great view from our room however we spent most of our time out on the beach by, the pool or generally sight seeing so not really an issue.
We were offered a room with a sea view at extra cost on arrival but no point unles you intend to spend most of your break gazing out of the window.
The hotel is well located to get to all the local bars and restaurants and it is a short walk to Karon beach and a shortish journey by Tuk tuk to Patong.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LadyMarmalade69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2011

Me and my husband stayed at the resort early July 2011 and loved every minute. We are a couple in our late 20's and thought Centara Karon was in the perfect spot as going out to dinners and to the few bars that are in Karon.
Check in was fast and effortless and the cold towel and drink on arrived was just what we needed after 12 hours of travelling.
We stayed in a Honeymoon suite on the 7th floor and it was perfect ! I know some people mention the Cabanas being great but they seemed to be very dark inside with the plunge pools mainly in shadows. Out room was filled with sunlight throughout the day and we had a spa on our balcony which got sunlight till sunset and was perfect for sitting in late in the arvo (filled with cold water I must add) and sipping a mojito.
I can not give enough praise to the staff at Centara Karon. They were all VERY friendly and always did what they could to help you in any way.
Now i must mention dining....restaurant in the resort are great for a quick snack during the day and room service is fantastic but I would recommend to try restaurant out of the resort for dinner.....including Red Onion. I know it looked a little dodgy from the outside but the food is fantastic and so cheap! Please try the prawn Tom Yum soup. AMAZE !!!
All in all we had a fantastic stay and will be going back for sure.

Room Tip: Room 1714 is great for Honeymooners !
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Kristie8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2011

We enjoyed the facilities of this resort having booked the Tropicale Accommodation package again (for 14 days) as we consider this good value for money with the extras. We particularly like the location which is close to some good restaurants, many shops and markets. We used Trip Advisor member recommendations for restaurants and found these to be accurate.
The one minor negative was the slow bar service in the Tropix Bar caused by the archaic documentation process for the free drinks. It is time the complex came into the 20th Century with touch screen technology for this bar.

Room Tip: Use the Trip Advisor information. Member feedback is very useful as is the local forum service.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank william1916
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2011

Well what can l say but FANTASTIC. We chose this place because of the reviews on trip advisor and we weren't disappointed. With traveling with such a large group (19 people) we thought we may come across some accommodation(being to far apart from one another) or dining issue's, but they were all very accommodating to our wishes. The staff were so very friendly and the bell boys loved to have a laugh. The grounds are immaculately maintained and beautiful, the rooms are clean and serviced everyday. The breakfast, well, they had everything you could imagine and it was so nice. The kids had a ball in the pools, especially doing down the water slides. The day spa was so relaxing l could have stayed there all day. You couldn't have asked for more, except that we should have made our stay longer. 10 out of 10 Centara Karon, a perfect destination for families. Look out for us, we'll be back.
PS If you're looking to book your day tours go and see Tuk at Adis tours, she is located just outside the resort to the left of the Irish Pub, tell her "Margaret 19 people" sent you. Very good and cheap......

Room Tip: If you are travellering with kids, book the 2 bedroom Premium Suite, this has a living area a kitche...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Margie19people
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fendalton
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2011

We loved every minute of our stay in Centara Karon. Wonderful place to meet family for a holiday when we come from New Zealand and our family come from England. Would recommend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ian97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Karon hotels
0.7 mi away
Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket
0.4 mi away
Novotel Phuket Karon Beach Resort & Spa
0.5 mi away
Mandarava Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa
2.5 mi away
Chanalai Garden Resort
Chanalai Garden Resort
#13 of 56 in Kata Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,000 reviews
2.9 mi away
Katathani Phuket Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Centara Karon Resort Phuket? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Centara Karon Resort Phuket

Property: Centara Karon Resort Phuket
Address: 502/3 Patak Road | Karon Beach, Karon, Phuket 83100, Thailand (Formerly Central Karon Beach Resort)
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Karon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Karon
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Karon
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Karon
#11 Spa Hotel in Karon
#15 Family Hotel in Karon
#17 Luxury Hotel in Karon
#18 Romantic Hotel in Karon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Centara Karon Resort Phuket 4*
Number of rooms: 335
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the heart of Karon Town, with an abundance of eateries and entertainment options at its doorstep and Karon Beach a short stroll away, the resort is perfectly located to experience the many facets of Phuket. As a destination in its own right, Centara Karon Resort Phuket fulfils every holiday aspiration, from pure bliss at Spa Cenvaree to active holidays and family fun with activities galore, yoga sessions, three swimming pools, waterslides and a kids’ club. This four-star resort, laid out within beautiful gardens backed by green hills, is comprised of four very distinctive residential zones. Couples and small families will find the rooms and Honeymoon Suites at the Terraces a comfortable retreat, and enjoy the option of ocean view or a private outdoor Jacuzzi; while families and groups of friends are spoilt for choice with spacious guestrooms set moments away from the waterslide and games of the Lagoon pool. The generously-sized one- and two-bedroom Cabanas feature a private terrace with a plunge Jacuzzi. As a fun place for families, the resort has a kids’ club with daily activities and three expansive swimming pool areas complete with three children’s pools for the younger ones to splash in, two waterslides and pool games. Pool parties are held regularly, and other activities include tennis and football. The resort also has two restaurants, a sports bar, and three swim-up pool bars A scheduled shuttle service takes guests from the resort to Patong, and Phuket International Airport is reached in less than one hour. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Southall Travel, Travelbag, Priceline, Fastbooking, Hotels.com, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Centara Karon Resort Phuket reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Centara Karon Resort Phuket Hotel Karon
Centara Karon Hotel Phuket
Centara Hotel Karon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing