We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We will go back!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Centara Karon Resort Phuket

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Centara Karon Resort Phuket
Ranked #17 of 132 Hotels in Karon
Certificate of Excellence
Gympie
Level Contributor
38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“We will go back!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2012

We stayed at the resort for 4 nights. The resort offered great 'resort credit offers' which we thought was a great idea and we used all of ours up. Really family friendly with 3 pools to choose from (I loved the kids lagoon pool) as well as the kids playground and day care rooms. Extremely neat and tidy, close to aeverything that Karon has to offer. I loved that it is quieter then Patong but still a short drive to go back if needed. The food was amazing! We ate there for brekky, lunch and dinner. Can even order poolside which is a great idea. We will be going back when we are in Thailand again and would defs take our children to stay at Centara Karon!

Room Tip: We had a standard room which was great for what we wanted but next time we will upgrade. We had a ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jenna H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Public Relations Manager at Centara Karon Resort Phuket, responded to this review, 27 June 2012
Sawasdee ka Jenna K,

Thank you very much for your valuable recommendation. We happy to hear that you and your family had enjoyed your staying with us also our foods and services as well. We would love to welcome you and your family back to Centara Karon Resort again and again. Please do not hesitate to let us know when would you like to come back here. :)

Wish all you the best!

Chutarat M.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,592 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,838
    1,211
    372
    117
    54
See reviews for
1,538
1,269
83
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (994)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2012

Centara Resort was perfect for our honeymoon. It was out of the rush of Patong yet only a 5-10minute taxi ride from it so the location was perfect. The restaurants and bars in the hotel were amaazing, great food and great drinks. Me and my husband also enduldged in their spa treatments which were very relaxing and refreshing. I recommend this hotel for all holidayers. It's also family family and have rooms available for all types of travelers. We stayed in a private pool cabana which was private and made us feel like royalty. The service was amazing and the cleanliness was above no other.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RachP85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Public Relations Manager at Centara Karon Resort Phuket, responded to this review, 27 June 2012
Sawasdee Honeymooners,

Thank you very much for your valuable commendation, and also gave us a nice opportunity to look after your staying in The Cabana as your sweet honeymoon. I will share your comment to all Centara Karon Resort's members. I believe your encouragement will make them smile and able to pass their smile to all of our valuable guests

We are wishing for your couple all the best!, and looking forward to welcome you back here again. :)

Chutarat M.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2012

Just returned from 2 weeks at Centara Karon resort (group of 5 families) weather was great except for 1st day. Everything you need is within walking distance (markets,shops,massage,restaurants, bank,money exchange,pub,tuk tuk etc) Great resort for families, kids had a ball at pool with waterslide & Ezone. Would be beneficial for Centara to offer return travel from Patong. Would also like to see shuttle to Phuket Town weekend markets. Even for small fee would be highly desirable to clientele. Rooms clean, beds hard but nothing major. Staff friendly, especially guys out the front & wait staff in Lotus restaurant. Temple market Tues & Sat evening a must. Banana pancake man on corner a must.The only major downside to our trip was that 4 out of the 5 rooms we had booked had been double booked, I do not understand how this happens and due to this check in was far from pleasant. Yes new rooms were found for us eventually, but double booking such a large group is really unacceptable. Only one unpleasent food experience at Red Onion, great write ups and always busy so thought we were pretty safe but 2 of our group who ordered chicken snitzel were both very ill during the night. Angus o'tool pub, Papaya Thai restaurant, Karon cafe, Little Mermaid & Two Chefs all great. All in all would love to visit both Phuket and Centara again.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kerri255100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Centara Karon Resort Phuket, responded to this review, 25 June 2012
Sawasdee kerri255100,
Thank you for writing such a comprehensive review. Nice to read your recommendation for families and that you found our staff friendly especially the Bellmen and Lotus Staff. Your point on the hotel providing an extended shuttle service is noted however we can only offer a limited service. We have a transport service contract in place as we do not have the vehicles to extend upon our current service offering. Ire your double booking experience. The resort was not over booked during your period of stay, so I assume your reference to double booking was a particular room type? Room types tend to be fully booked from the lowest room category upwards, so upgrades would usually occur in this instance. I am sorry for the inconvenience expereienced. I hope we can welcome you back in the near future.
regards
Darren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2012

We stayed here for 10 niights the hotel had a excellent loaction a couple of seconds sway from.the beach!!! Hotel staff very friendly. Food at breakfast was good. They have daily service to patong but not return something I think they should do. Rooms were clean and spacious (2206). Lots of restsuants and massages near the hotel.

Weather was fantastic no rain!
Happy hour cocktails and ice cream value for money.

Will definetly go back.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank uklon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Centara Karon Resort Phuket, responded to this review, 25 June 2012
Sawasdee Uklon,
Thanks for taking the time to provide comment on your stay at Centara Karon Resort. Fantstic to read you enjoyed your stay! Pleasing to read that you loved your daily breakfast and found our staff friendly!
Hope to see you again soon
Best Wishes
Darren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shoeburyness
Level Contributor
41 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2012

We stayed at the Centara in late May for a week and its fair to say that we had a great time despite the hotel, rather than beause of it. The Centara has two really good features; its central location, and its beautiful gardens, and then it stops.

We'd booked a seaview room in the main building via Virgin and when we checked in we were told that we could not have a room higher than the fifth floor as the upper floors were closed due to low season. This was comletely untrue. We met people who were on the upper floors, the lifts kept going up there and it was a comletely unnecessary untruth as we could see the sea fine anyway.

I'll let you judge from the pictures whether this looks like a four star hotel. The corridor does indeed, as previously commented by a reviewer, look like a multi story car park. The fire escape door outside our room was broken off meaning anyone could get in. The room was basic and tatty, The fixture that the (ancient) telly was on was falling apart and oh yes, the legendary concrete beds... The internet packed up throughout the hotel for the last few days and it was a major battle to get a refund on the package we had paid.

We got back one night and the water had failed. When they got it back on something happened on one of the floors above that caused a huge flood. Quite litteraly torrents of water were cascading down the fire escape right next to our room, very frightenng, and it was ony because of a very small threshold, where the missing door should have been, that the water was directed further downwards rather than into our room. Reception were completely unhelpful, would neither admit there was a problem nor do anything about it.

Breakfast is vile. The room is open to the elements, overcrowded and has the finesse of a Welcome Break service station. Menagerie spotted included birds, ants (on the organge juice server) and a ginger cat. For some reason they cook the eggs en masse early and keep them aside on trays, some of them cold. The tea comes ready made out of an urn - my wife said it was rancid. Horrible fatty bacon and lots of food on open serveries with no hygiene protection.

Despite having paid for B and B, we went out for breakfast most mornings to Cafe Karon, where they serve a beautiful breakfast for 99 baht.

We rather enjoyed Karon. Any girly stuff is pretty minor and the banter from the tailors etc was actually quite funny. In terms of restaurants we loved Cafe Karon and in particular the Two Chefs - although it s more expensive that others its a real eveaning out with beautiful food and really great singers. The Red onion is amazing, you really can eat your fill, have a beer each and pay fifteen quid for both. But there are good restaurants everywhere.

The ladies at Apple massage were lovely. My wife and I both had great massages (£8 - think of that back home) - and we would highly recommend it (and ot a hint of funny business!)

As a couple of tips don't bother taking too much luggage. There are plenty of places to get laundry done cheaply - Jack Bar just opposite Karon Cafe did it for us very well indeed. Other thing is take plenty of sterling and change it there. They were giving 44 to the pound at Heathrow and just under 49 in Karon - thats a big saving.

One thing the hotel did do for us was organise a trip in one of their cars to go and look at the beaches on the south of the island. It was 1800 baht for the afternoon which was good value as its not easy getting around and tuktuk fares can mount up.

We side stepped the elephant ridding and instead had a wonderful morning at an elephant conservation project calles Siam Safari where we fed and washed the elephants, an amazing experience. They don't avertise it - just google them, phone them up and they wll come and pick you up. Its Mondays only.

Its a pity there is no attention to detail here because it could be a good hotel.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Centara Karon Resort Phuket, responded to this review, 26 June 2012
Dear Ian P,
I am sorry you did not enjoy your stay. Whilst your review is a mix of mis-information and exageration, there is some handy information for readers on your elephant experience, currency exchange and day touring. Ian P, should you stay at a resort again and find a number of issues are not to your satisfaction, I recommend bringing it to the resort managements attention, (prior to check out if you genuinely want it resolved). Again I am sorry we could not deliver per your expectation.
Safe Travels
Darren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2012

On honeymoon they sent us cake and champagne and made sure we were comfortable and the rooms very modern and we had probs with the air conditioning however they called someone in to fix the problem straight away and it was working fine after that all in all a great stay and lovely hotel

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Angelic999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Centara Karon Resort Phuket, responded to this review, 25 June 2012
Sawasdee Angelic999,
Thank you for selecting Centara Karon Phuket as your preferred honeymoon accomodation. Im pleased we were able to deliver per your expectations on such a special occasion. Great to read our team fixed the air conditioning issue promptly.
Thanks for your feedback and I hope we welcome you back to celebrate your first anniversary!!!
Regards
Darren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pearcedale, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2012

We spent 12 nights here during late May and were very pleased with our choice. We had a fantastic room on the ground floor of the Lagoon Wing which was great for our 10 year daughter as she could swim to her hearts content, whilst we could keep an eye on her from the balcony.The house keeping staff were always friendly and did a great job.

The restaurants at the resort were great, we enjoyed the variety each day at breakfast and took advantage of the 99THB Italian Night at the Azure Restaurant. Happy hour for both ice creams in the afternoon and cocktails in the evening were also a hit. The resort is very centrally located and we also enjoyed eating out at the many local restaurants and had no trouble either exchanging money or arranging our tours (Thank - you to Tuk at Adi's Tours).
We would definately love to return here in the future.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank abalucas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Centara Karon Resort Phuket, responded to this review, 25 June 2012
Sawasdee abalucas,
Thank you for taking the time to provide a review on your stay at Centara Karon Resort. Im pleased your 10 year old daughter loved the Lagoon Pool providing you both some relaxing time from the comfort of your Lagoon ground floor room. Pleasing to read you enjoyed so many aspects of your stay at the resort and also the surrounding restaurants and services.
Safe Travels and I hope to welcome you back in the near future.
Darren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Karon
0.7 mi away
Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket
0.4 mi away
Novotel Phuket Karon Beach Resort & Spa
0.4 mi away
Mandarava Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa
3.0 mi away
Katathani Phuket Beach Resort
2.7 mi away
Amari Phuket
Amari Phuket
#2 of 319 in Patong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,022 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Centara Karon Resort Phuket? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Centara Karon Resort Phuket

Property: Centara Karon Resort Phuket
Address: 502/3 Patak Road | Karon Beach, Karon, Phuket 83100, Thailand (Formerly Central Karon Beach Resort)
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Karon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Karon
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Karon
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Karon
#10 Spa Hotel in Karon
#15 Family Hotel in Karon
#16 Luxury Hotel in Karon
#18 Romantic Hotel in Karon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Centara Karon Resort Phuket 4*
Number of rooms: 335
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelbag, Fastbooking, Hotels.com, Holiday Gems, Southall Travel, Booking.com, Agoda and TravelUp so you can book your Centara Karon Resort Phuket reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Centara Karon Resort Phuket Hotel Karon
Centara Karon Hotel Phuket
Centara Hotel Karon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing