We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Centara Karon Resort Phuket
Nearby Hotels
US$125
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$110
Movenpick.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$119
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$107
Hilton
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Andaman Seaview Hotel(Karon)(Great Value!)
US$58
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$53
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Katathani Phuket Beach Resort(Kata Noi Beach)(Great Value!)
US$181
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$164
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
US$172
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$157
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$111
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$108
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$242
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$179
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$95
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Chanalai Garden Resort(Kata Beach)(Great Value!)
US$47
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$46
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Pacific Club Resort(Karon Beach)(Great Value!)
US$76
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$74
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (4,267)
Filter reviews
4,267 results
Traveller rating
2,225
1,407
432
133
70
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,225
1,407
432
133
70
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslagoon poollotus restaurantcarpe diem teamcabana roombaht bonanzamix bartropicale roomsred onionpool partybeer gardenirish pubkids clubwater slidestwo chefshappy hourentertainment teamfamily holiday
Filter
Updating list...
2,276 - 2,281 of 4,267 reviews
Reviewed 10 May 2014

Stayed for four nights. Upon arrival we were told the family room we had booked 7 months in advance had been double booked. We were put in an alternate room and given a meal voucher for the Lotus restaurant. The food here was good although it was certainly catered to the tourist tastebud. Our room still not ready by lunchtime the following day. We were given another meal voucher. Finally the room was sorted out and we could begin to enjoy this place. For the duration of our stay all staff members were very polite and helpful. The kids loved the pools here and the location was very central and near to the beach and many good food options. Review would have been excellent if not for room mix up. We would definitely stay here again if we were staying in Karon.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Failbus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management77, Manager at Centara Karon Resort Phuket, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2014

Dear Failbus,
Let me firstly begin by apologising on behalf of Centara Karon Resort, Phuket for your room being double booked. I was however pleased to read that you were compensated by being given meal vouchers for our Lotus restaurant.
I was very happy to hear that during your stay our staff were very polite and helpful, that your kids loved the pools, and you enjoyed our location which is close to all the local amenities.
Thanks for the review and we do look forward to welcoming you back in the future if you do indeed decide to stay in Karon.
Kind Regards,
Mark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2014

This resort is fantastic with its wide range of restaurants,pools bars,fitness centre & day spa.The rooms were spacious,clean & comfortable & the staff were very friendly & helpful.The location is within easy walking distance to the beach & local restaurants as well as shopping.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Heather M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management77, Manager at Centara Karon Resort Phuket, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2014

Dear Heather M,

Thanks for the review. I am happy to read that you really enjoyed our Lotus and Azure restaurants, likewise our beer garden that serves wonderful BBQ food. Yes, our rooms are clean, comfortable and spacious. I was delighted to hear that you found our staff to be very friendly and helpful, and that you really enjoyed the location of our hotel.

We would be more than happy to welcome you back in the future if you do decide to return to Karon, Phuket.

Best Wishes,
Mark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2014

We've just returned from a two week stay at the Centara and had an amazing time!!

We got a very good deal to begin with, pay for 7 nights get 7 free so our two week holiday including flights from the UK cost around £800pp (with Thomson FYI) so were really really happy with that. We arrived very tired after a long flight and check-in was smooth & speedy. We were shown a seat and given a welcome drink while the reception staff ran around compiling all the paperwork for us which was a nice touch. I had alreay read that they would request 5,000bht (about £92) as a deposit for the room and saw that some people in previous reviews had problems with their card being charged 3x so we decided before we went just to hand it over in cash to make life easier and give us a bit of shopping money on the last day.
We also put 10,000bht (about £184) on our hotel account and the hotel add 5,000bht giving you free money to spend in resort effectively. This more than lasted us the 2 weeks, we had drinks round the pool everyday, lunch most days, room service 3 times and ate in the hotel restaurants 3 times in the evening

All the staff throughout our stay were lovely and helpful if you needed any assistance with anything. We only really stayed by the terraces pool but the other two looked really nice as well, we didnt have any "noisy kids" as people keep moaning about around our pool but if that's a problem for you anyway then you should probably go to Sandals! Pool towels were available everyday and we never had a problem getting sun beds - although some are nicer than others and catch the sun for much longer in the afternoon.

Our room was great. We had a room on the third floor of the terraces with the biggest bed you've ever seen - pretty sure it was two doubles pushed together but didn't have problems falling down the gap at all like in some hotels. View from our balcony wasnt much, just the side street but that was fine with us. Bathroom was huge and always cleaned very well. All towels and bedding were replaced everyday

Hotel was great location, hundreds of bars restaurants and shops right on your doorstep and a 5 minute walk up to the beach. We went into Patong one night - the hotel runs a shuttle bus that you have to book on reception but its only one way - a tuktuk back was 800bht so not too bad but then the journey is only about 10-15 mins.
We also got a tuktuk to Tiger Kingdom and back, just flagged it on the main road by the hotel - he charged us 1000bht and waited the 2+hrs while we were in with the tigers which was really nice.
We did a couple of excursions elephant trekking and the phi phi islands by speedboat which we had booked with Phuker Tours Direct before we left (much cheaper than even the stalls on the street!) and they were brilliant! Very professional, no problems, pickup exactly when the stated. Highly recommend!

Oooh sign up for a Centara 1 card before you go and you get free wi-fi throughout your entire stay - if that's important to you?

We really really had the best holiday ever and will be recommending the Centara to everybody we know! Thanks so much for having us! :) :)

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank joooo14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management77, Manager at Centara Karon Resort Phuket, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2014

Dear ginger-jo-14,
Thanks for reviewing us and I am absolutely delighted to hear that you had an amazing time during your stay with us.
Being from the U.K. myself I can appreciate the very long flight. Therefore I am happy to read that our reception staff took great care of you on arrival by finding you a seat, offering you a welcome drink and compiling the necessary paperwork for you, absolutely splendid.
Additionally, I was pleased to hear that you found all our staff throughout your stay to be lovely and helpful and that you really enjoyed our Terrace pool which is peaceful and quiet and your room which was situated in the Terraced building.
Yes, our hotel is located conveniently to all of the local amenities in Karon, we also offer a shuttle bus to Patong at various times throughout the day, at very competitive prices, thus I was happy to read you took advantage of our service, and likewise with the Centara 1 Card which you do indeed have to sign up to before arrival.
We do look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind Regards,
Mark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

What a fantastic 10 days we had. This resort is fantastic, pools, food, staff, everything is brilliant. We had a family deluxe lagoon room right on pool side, beds were very comfortable, room was very spacious. The resort itself is huge but very clean and well maintained. The restaurants were great we ate at the resort every night, as well as had room service, would not fault at all. Breakfast was very nice and we went between the 2 restaurants so we didn't get bored with it. I highly recommend this resort. We Thankyou so much Centara for a fantastic time. We would definitely return!! And just to add it was no problem to housekeeping to come to our room at 1am to change our daughters bedding due to illness. I cannot thank you enough.

Room Tip: Deluxe family lagoon room ground floor.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rachaelmSnug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management77, Manager at Centara Karon Resort Phuket, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2014

Dear rachaelmsnug,
Thank you for taking the time to review us. It is most pleasing to hear that you had a fantastic 10 days with us.
Our Deluxe Lagoon rooms are indeed very spacious and I am glad to read you found our beds very comfortable. Yes, our restaurants are great and offer real value for money, additionally I was happy to read that you thought our breakfast buffet was very nice.
I will pass on your kind comment to housekeeping who helped change your daughter’s bedding due to illness.
We look forward to you returning and we be delighted to welcome you back.
Kind Regards,
Mark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Having been to Thailand on five previous occasions this is the worst hotel I have stayed at and is not at a very high standard at all. We checked in along with 5 other English couples who were on the same flight as us to be told we would have to wait 3 hrs for our room to be ready ( all other couples were allocated there rooms). When we finally got our room it had 2 single beds and a leaking air con unit, so we complained and then had to wait a further 2 hrs for another room ( they put two single beds together and used a large bed sheet to make it look like a double bed.) we stayed in the terraces section which is above the lobby of which the two lifts were not cleaned once in a two week period. The maid was very poor who either had long hair as we kept finding it on the floor of the room or was from the previous occupant of the room?
There are two places to have your breakfast either the Lotus restaurant (main one) or the Azure (next to pool). If you like flies on your food go to either one. If you like waiting for coffee or tea a long while go to either one. If you like your fruit juice to be watered down by ice go to the Azure. If you like very poor service by the workers go to either one. All the workers are always miserable and do not seem to want to help you when you ask for missing cutlery or would like an extra cup of coffee or tea.
The pool with the kids slides are very rowdy with children and if you want peace go to the top pool.
I would not recommend this hotel if you like cleanliness or peace or a decent standard of accommodation . Hence I will never return. On a positive note the lunchtime menu at the Azure is very good but be prepared to wait and the ice cream is very nice for £1.25 per scoop.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank AdrianV414
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management77, Manager at Centara Karon Resort Phuket, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2014

Dear Adrian V,

Firstly, let me begin by apologising for having to wait for your room to be ready; however after checking our records you arrived before the 2 p.m. check-in time thus the reason for your room not being ready. At the time of your visit we were running at 100 per cent occupancy as well, which makes the turnaround for housekeeping very tight. Additionally I apologise for the aircon unit leaking, however due to it running 24/7 we do experience the occasional fault, though our engineering department responds quickly to fix such issues. I was however happy to read that our staff was quick to provide you with another room though you were not happy with the topper.

I can assure you the lifts in the Terraces are cleaned daily by housekeeping, likewise our rooms. Therefore it was very displeasing to hear you say otherwise. Daily procedures are in place to check and ensure housekeeping adhere to and maintain our very high standards.

You are right; there are two places to have our buffet breakfast. However, as you can see from previous guests/reviewers our breakfast is very well received and is considered to be good to excellent in general. In terms of flies, well, Thailand is a tropical country and in open aired restaurants this can occasionally happen.

I cannot agree that all our servers are always miserable and do not want to seem to help when you request something. We aim for exceptionally high standards and training is provided to ensure that our staff are customer service orientated, again this is reflected in past guest’s reviews.

Yes, you are right, our ‘kids pool’ is rowdy with children playing on the slides and enjoying their holiday. Alternatively we have our Tropicale pool which is for adults only, thus ensuring that guests without children can relax and enjoy the peace and quiet.

Our Azure restaurant like our Lotus restaurant and beer garden do serve very good food, like I stated previously you stayed with us when occupancy was at 100 per cent, thus service may take a little longer. I am pleased to read you enjoyed the food and of course our delicious ice cream which is a bargain at one pound twenty-five a scoop.

Thank you for your review.

Kind Regards,
Mark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews