We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for families”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Centara Karon Resort Phuket
Ranked #18 of 133 Hotels in Karon
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great for families”
Reviewed 15 May 2014

We stayed for 9 nights in April. We had a hiccup at the start, unfortunately they couldn't provide our requested adjoining room. As we travelled with our 2 kids, 11 & 8, we chose to all stay in one room, after 2 nights we were given the 2 adjoining rooms on the 6th floor with the sea facing we paid for. The staff were pretty good about it, we were given free wifi for our stay! After this incident though everything else was fantastic!! Breakfast is amazing, yummy choices. We mainly stayed at the terrace pool, the kids pool was fun, but very busy, lots of families, enjoying their holiday!! Great to be able to choose between pools. All on all we loved it, location was great too! Our kids loved it when their room had been 'made'. They even write a letter to the maid and told her that they appreciated all her hard work so much that they had made their bed and she could have a rest!! Special shout out to DUKE the duty manager!! What a great guy!!Thanks, I'm sure we'll be back

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tenn76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management77, Manager at Centara Karon Resort Phuket, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
Dear Tenn76,
Let me firstly begin by apologising for the initial hiccup, however I am really pleased to read that after 2 nights you were given 2 adjoining rooms and were compensated with complimentary WIFI.
Regarding your comment concerning our international buffet breakfast, I will be sure to pass on your kind comment to our chefs who do a splendid job.
Yes, the Terrace Pool can be a bit noisy with lots of families enjoying their holidays. Those who wish a quieter alternative can use our Tropix Pool which tends to be more quiet.
I was really pleased to hear that your kids were really happy with our housekeeping team when your room was made. Regarding our Duty Manager, Duke, I will be sure to pass on your kind comment.
Thank you for your review, and we look forward to welcoming you back to Centara Karon Resort, Phuket.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,742 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,912
    1,263
    385
    126
    56
See reviews for
1,624
1,317
85
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,021)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014 via mobile

Recently returned from a two week stay in this wonderful resort. From check-in to check-out we found the staff helpful, polite and always smiling. The rooms were lovely, always kept clean by the staff, we had a problem with one of our rooms but a call to reception and someone arrived to sort it out. We had to move rooms because of this problem but we were upgraded to a better rooms for the rest of our stay. 3 lovely swimming pools, they, as were the grounds are beautifully maintained. Walk out of the gate and you are in the centre of Karon with many shops and restaurants. We ate out most nights as the restaurants are so cheap. Do not understand some of the reviews about this hotel as we thought it was wonderful.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Jackie558
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management77, Manager at Centara Karon Resort Phuket, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
Dear Jackie558,
Thanks for taking the time and effort to review us, it is very much appreciated. I am absolutely delighted to read that from check-in to check out our staff were helpful, friendly and always smiling, absolutely wonderful.
I do apologise for any inconvenience caused due to the room change, however it was nice to hear that you were also upgraded to better rooms.
Our grounds and gardens are beautifully maintained, likewise our 3 swimming pools, I will most definitely pass on your kind comment to our maintenance team.
In terms of location we are in the centre of Karon, however just far enough away from the hustle and bustle when Karon comes alive on the night tme.
We do look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Kind Regards,
Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Having gone on trip advisor before to see reviews for the Centara Karon Resort I was hesitant on going as people were saying the food was bad and it was in a noisy location and the staff were rude!!
When we got there all of those doubts were gone it was by far the best holiday we have had and the it was down to hotel staff and the location in which it was set. Our flight having been delayed we were worried our transport which was arranged with the hotel wouldn't be there but when we arrived there was a smiling employee waiting to greet us. Then arriving to the hotel at 2am we were worried that there would be no staff to help us. we were wrong again greeted again by 2 smiling staff members who helped us with all our stuff.

Whilst staying at the hotel we ate in the restaurants where the food was brilliant especially for the price!! We also tried the spa again we were surprised at the service pleasant lady who was polite very good English and brilliant massage!! nothing seemed like too much trouble for anyone there!!

Overall this hotel was in a perfect location as not far to beach at all and there are bars and restaurants incase you didn't want to eat at the hotel. When it came to our last day we didn't want to leave I will happily recommend this hotel to all my friends and family as we had a wonderful stay and are in the process off booking up to go back!!

Thank you to all the staff who made our stay so enjoyable!!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hollie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management77, Manager at Centara Karon Resort Phuket, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
Dear Hollie M,
Thanks for taking the time to submit a review it is very much appreciated. I was thrilled to read that despite your flight being delayed our driver was there waiting for you with a smile, then when getting to our hotel you were warmly greeted by two of our employees who helped with your luggage.
I absolutely concur about our restaurants in terms of price considering the high quality of our food and the wonderful locations of our two restaurants and Beer and BBQ Garden. I will most definitely pass on your kind comment to our chefs who work extremely hard to maintain their very high standards.
Thank you for the kind comment regarding our spa and staff, I will pass on your kind words. Likewise I agree they do a super job with the high quality of massages they offer, in a beautiful tropical and tranquil setting.
Yes, our hotel is in an excellent location, you have all the local amenities close by and the beach is a mere 5 minutes walk away.
Please do recommend us to your friends and family, and please do not hesitate in contacting our hotel if you need any assistance when it comes to booking with us again.

We look forward to inviting you back in the future to Centara Karon Resort, Phuket.

Kind Regards,
Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Came back here for another holiday last year (sorry taken a wee while to write the review!) as an escape from winter in the Southern Hemesphere...
It was worth it.
I love staying in Karon and once again, the quality of service and accommodation is without fault (to us anyway!) We stayed at a premium deluxe room at tropicale and really really enjoyed our stay there. 7 nights. plenty of things to do. lots of relaxation and cocktails... and great spa treatment...
I want to be there now...

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank K-A-C-U_Perth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management77, Manager at Centara Karon Resort Phuket, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Dear K-A-C-U_Perth,
Thank you for the review, it is very much appreciated. I am absolutely delighted to read that you enjoyed the quality of our service and our accommodation at the Tropicale Deluxe room. Yes, indeed we do provide our guests with lots of things to do, including activities for children at our ‘Kids Club’, likewise we offer a relaxing environment and serve wonderful cocktails throughout our resort. Additionally, I was really happy to read that you enjoyed our great spa treatment, I’ll be sure to pass on your kind comment to our spa staff.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Best Wishes,
Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

We were there for 3 nights in April this year. I booked a deluxe family bedroom and it was spacious but far from the reception and the main pool. My friend got upgraded to the cabana room but it was actually a lot smaller than our room.

It was raining every morning that we were there so mosquitoes were every where. The housekeeping staff opened the door every time they made up the room so it was like mosquitoes farm every time we come into our room.

Food at the pool were good, service was a bit slow as there weren't enough staff around. Breakfast was ok, not much variety for an asian buffet breakfast. The staff were lovely and accommodated. Room service were fast when we had to order food for the kids. The hotel location is quite convenient as it's close to everything.

My only recommendation is their spa. I had the best massage there and it was cheap. You have to book in advanced as we booked our session in advanced before we arrived. When we tried to book some more once we were there, they were fully booked. I had massages at a 5 star hotel later and i have to say the spa at Centara Karon was pretty up there if not better.

Room Tip: If you are after space, don't go with the cabana room. The only thing about the cabana room is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Uyenneth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management77, Manager at Centara Karon Resort Phuket, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Dear cict2011,
Thanks for reviewing us. Yes, we are a large resort thus not all our rooms and cabanas are located next to reception. However, I am sure you would agree walking around our resort is most pleasant due to our wonderful tropical gardens that are maintained to a very high standard.
I apologise for housekeeping keeping your room door open when cleaning and mosquitoes entering your room, though you do have to bear in mind that Thailand is a tropical country and as a result we do have mosquitoes especially with the morning rains. We do however provide mosquito repellent in our rooms which is situated by the mini bar, if it is empty then we provide a refill when guests ask.
The food at our Azure restaurant, Lotus restaurant and our beer garden is very good, for example we serve excellent BBQ consisting of prime Australian beef and seafood at the latter. Service would have been a little slow due to us running at one hundred per cent occupancy, therefore I do apologise for any inconvenience caused.
Our breakfast buffet is international, not an Asian buffet. We offer a wide variety of foods that cater to all tastes, which is well reflected in previous reviewer’s comments.
I am delighted to read that our staff were lovely and accommodating, that room service was fast, and yes you are quite right, our hotel is conveniently located to all the local amenities.
Our spa treatments are excellent and I was very happy that you made a comparative with a five star hotel, if not better. I will pass on your kind comment to our spa staff.
Thank you once more for your review.
Kind Regards,
Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014

just returned from the centara karon which was our 3rd visit in 4 years,this place is stunning,very clean and all the staff from the girls on reception, the cleaners,gardeners,waitresses,and the great lads on the front.they are a credit to the management nothing is to much trouble for them.how some people moan about this place and the breakfast is beyond me.my only concern was that when we went to the beach which was every day,apart from when we were on trips,was that on 3 seperate days the beach was filthy.not anything the hotels can do of course its just inconsiderate holidaymakers that cant be bothered to take the rubbish to the bins provided.stayed 16 nights,and the weather for our entire stay was fabulous.thank you centara.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank garryblake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management77, Manager at Centara Karon Resort Phuket, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Dear garryblake,
Thank you for reviewing our resort at Centara Karon Resort, Phuket. It was wonderful to read that your third visit in four years was stunning. We do pride ourselves on exceptionally high standards in terms of cleanliness and customer service whether it is the staff on reception, housekeeping, gardeners, waitresses, chefs and our concierge team. I am more than happy to pass on your kind comments to our staff and our management team.
Yes, unfortunately as a hotel there is little we can do concerning holidaymakers leaving their rubbish on the beach. We all need to be a little greener in our thinking in ensuring we preserve the wonderful nature Karon and Phuket offers. What we do do as a company is have beach clean-up days that involves our staff collecting rubbish and cleaning the beach.
We look forward to welcoming you back for a fourth visit in the future.
Best Wishes,
Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014

We have just returned from 13 days at Centara Karon Resort staying in a Cabana Room (1014). From our experience words such as amazing and fantastic do not do this resort or the staff justice. The facilities and our room were amazing, the food at Lotus and Azure incredible (but we must say Azure was our favourite). From check in to check out everything went so smoothly. But what really made this resort for us was the beautiful, friendly staff. Nothing was to much trouble for them and they did everything with a smile on their face. We cannot recommend this resort highly enough. Thank you for a wonderful holiday. Kop koon ka!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shell622014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management77, Manager at Centara Karon Resort Phuket, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Dear Shell622014,

Thanks for taking the time to review Centara Karon Resort, Phuket. I was absolutely delighted to read that you found your experience at our resort to be ‘amazing’ and ‘fantastic’, though even these wonderful superlatives do not do our ‘staff justice’.
Additionally, I was very happy to read that you found our facilities and rooms to be ‘amazing’, and that the food at Lotus and Azure to be ‘incredible’. Likewise check-in and checkout went smoothly, but what really made your stay special was our super friendly staff, who always had a smile on their face in whatever they were doing.
Please do recommend us highly to your friends and family. We do look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Kind Regards,
Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Karon hotels
0.7 mi away
Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket
2.5 mi away
Chanalai Garden Resort
Chanalai Garden Resort
#13 of 57 in Kata Beach
1,030 reviews
0.4 mi away
Novotel Phuket Karon Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa
0.5 mi away
Mandarava Resort and Spa
2.9 mi away
Katathani Phuket Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Centara Karon Resort Phuket? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Centara Karon Resort Phuket

Property: Centara Karon Resort Phuket
Address: 502/3 Patak Road | Karon Beach, Karon, Phuket 83100, Thailand (Formerly Central Karon Beach Resort)
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Karon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Karon
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Karon
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Karon
#11 Spa Hotel in Karon
#15 Family Hotel in Karon
#17 Luxury Hotel in Karon
#18 Romantic Hotel in Karon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Centara Karon Resort Phuket 4*
Number of rooms: 335
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the heart of Karon Town, with an abundance of eateries and entertainment options at its doorstep and Karon Beach a short stroll away, the resort is perfectly located to experience the many facets of Phuket. As a destination in its own right, Centara Karon Resort Phuket fulfils every holiday aspiration, from pure bliss at Spa Cenvaree to active holidays and family fun with activities galore, yoga sessions, three swimming pools, waterslides and a kids’ club. This four-star resort, laid out within beautiful gardens backed by green hills, is comprised of four very distinctive residential zones. Couples and small families will find the rooms and Honeymoon Suites at the Terraces a comfortable retreat, and enjoy the option of ocean view or a private outdoor Jacuzzi; while families and groups of friends are spoilt for choice with spacious guestrooms set moments away from the waterslide and games of the Lagoon pool. The generously-sized one- and two-bedroom Cabanas feature a private terrace with a plunge Jacuzzi. As a fun place for families, the resort has a kids’ club with daily activities and three expansive swimming pool areas complete with three children’s pools for the younger ones to splash in, two waterslides and pool games. Pool parties are held regularly, and other activities include tennis and football. The resort also has two restaurants, a sports bar, and three swim-up pool bars A scheduled shuttle service takes guests from the resort to Patong, and Phuket International Airport is reached in less than one hour. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Fastbooking, Hotels.com, Priceline, Southall Travel, Travelbag, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Centara Karon Resort Phuket reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Centara Karon Resort Phuket Hotel Karon
Centara Karon Hotel Phuket
Centara Hotel Karon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing