We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Centara Karon Resort Phuket
Ranked #17 of 132 Hotels in Karon
Certificate of Excellence
Australia, Gold Coast
Level Contributor
45 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2014

The resort was great - Suits families as there is a kids pool and a games room. The location was also great for Karon Beach. Short ride into Patong Beach. The rooms were small and just ok a little old. The breakfast was good and the New Years Eve dinner was absolutely divine.

Room Tip: Standard rooms are very small but suitable
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bree L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management77, Manager at Centara Karon Resort Phuket, responded to this review, 8 June 2014
Dear tarong,
I was pleased to read that you found our resort suitable for families; we do indeed offer lots of entertainment with our kids’ pool, games room and Kids’ Club.
Additionally I am pleased you enjoyed our location, breakfast and our New Years Eve dinner which you thought was divine.
Thank you for taking the time to review us, we most definitely look forward to inviting you back in the future.
Best Wishes,
Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,654 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,866
    1,237
    375
    122
    54
See reviews for
1,579
1,288
83
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,006)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014

Loved this place! We stayed as a group of 25 for a family members 50th birthday. Staff were polite and very helpful. Its great that they have different pools, so you can get away from kids if you aren't a fan of them. I would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank felicity255100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management77, Manager at Centara Karon Resort Phuket, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Dear felicity255100,
Thanks for taking the time to review us.
I was thrilled to read that your group of 25 had a great time celebrating one of your family member’s 50th birthday. Likewise I am pleased you found our staff polite and helpful, and you enjoyed our different swimming pools.
We look forward to welcoming you back when you do decide to return in the future.
Kind Regards,
Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014

We recently stayed at this resort with our three kids first time visiting Phuket and we loved this resort. Location was great, resort facilities were great. We stayed in an interconnecting room on the third floor. The rooms were nice an spacious only downfall was carrying the pram and all our stuff up all the stairs every time we went somewhere.Every single staff member was very friends and great with the kids.Food was great also. Would highly recommend anyone thinking of staying here.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RobBayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management77, Manager at Centara Karon Resort Phuket, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Dear RobBayne,
Thank you very much for your review, we very much appreciate it.
I am absolutely delighted you had a great holiday with us, that you enjoyed the location, our resort facilities, the interconnecting room, the food and your found our staff to be very friendly and great with your kids.
Centara Karon Resort, Phuket would like to thank you for the recommendation, we also look forward to returning in the future.
Kind Regards,
Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014 via mobile

We just stayed here with our 5 young children and had a great time! The staff were very friendly and helpful and we enjoyed our stay immensely. Plenty of shopping and good eating close by and transport available if you want to venture further. The resort caters for all types of travelers with 3 different pools.

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank pixmcevoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management77, Manager at Centara Karon Resort Phuket, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Dear Pixmcevoy,
I was really pleased to hear that you and your 5 children had a great time here at Centara Karon Resort, Phuket. Yes, our staff are extremely friendly, and they always try to ensure that guests have a super holiday.
Regarding location we are right next to all the amenities that Karon has to offer. We also have shuttle buses that run to Patong three times per day, and you can order taxis as well.
As a result we do cater for all types of travelers whether they be travelling by themselves, as a couple or a family.
I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your kind review, and we look forward to you returning in the future.
Best Wishes,
Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014 via mobile

My wife and I spent 8 nights here from 24th May to the 1st June int the terrace building with ocean view room. We were extremely happy with our stay right from the first minute. We had a great room with a beautiful view. The staff were always smiling and very helpful. The breakfast daily was always fresh and a great start to the day. We also took advantage of the fact that by putting 10,000 baht on our room the hotel gave us an extra 5000 to spend at the hotel which was great for a massage at the spa or a couple of cheeky cocktails by the pool daily ( try the rum nut frozen cocktail ). Great location as a base in phuket and would recommend this hotel to anyone!

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Matt b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management77, Manager at Centara Karon Resort Phuket, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Deae Matt b,
Thanks for taking the time to review us. I was delighted to read that you had an extremely happy stay right from the first minute.
Likewise I was pleased to read that you had a great room with a beautiful view, staff were at all times smiling and helpful, that you enjoyed breakfast, you took advantage of our Baht Bonaza, enjoyed our delightful spa, and of course a couple of cheeky cocktails by the pool, absolutely wonderful.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Best Wishes,
Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

We had a quick stay in Phuket this time and decided to re-visit the Centara because of its central location and our familiarity with the hotel and it's surrounds. This was my third stay at the Centara Karon. Prior to visiting I had some short correspondence with the hotel management who were courteous in their reply. Nothing was too much trouble. I had booked a room in the tower this time. I was pleasantly surprised to be upgraded for free to a Tropicale room up the quiet back corner and right near the Tropicale pool. The room was pleasant and it's location was fantastic. If you don't have children this is the best option for a quiet stay. Probably my favourite location yet. We also got the chance to have the morning tea and afternoon drinks in the club lounge. I always enjoy sitting in the lounge having a glass of chilled wine but don't forget your bug spray as there are some biting insects around which is to be expected with the gardens and water close by. I am undecided on whether it is worth the extra money to pay for the club lounge benefits as I have not recently checked the price difference but if it doesn't stretch your budget too much and you plan to spend a lot of time in the resort then it may be worth it. It is certainly a nice place to meet others and while away some time. I noticed some positive signs of improvement this time although having said this I appreciate that our stay was much shorter than in the past. The check in was smooth and pleasant. English was well spoken (far better than my Thai!) and it was much quicker than I remember on prior occasions. We arrived very early and were able to get into our room which was a bonus. We had our breakfast in the Azure and I thought the cleanliness and service was also better although I was disappointed not to see banana pancakes! They are so good they should be on the menu daily. We easily obtained pool towels which on a prior visit had been a painful experience. The wifi worked without fault. We will hopefully return at the end of the year with our children as in my view this hotel is still a great choice for young children who will love the pool slide and it is good value for a family of 5. It also has a fantastic location close to shops and restaurants provided you are not avid beach goers. We met a couple who were disappointed by the distance to the beach....So a word of caution that it is a hot 5 minute walk to the beach. If we want to go to the beach we will in future split our holiday and go to Khao Lak (an hour and a half north of Karon) which has beautiful beaches and then return to Karon for a change of pace, some shopping, tailored suits and excellent massages at Apple massage (near the hotel - second lane way).

Room Tip: If you can afford a pool cabana I would still prefer this room type to the lagoon or Tropicale as in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank happyforeverafter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management77, Manager at Centara Karon Resort Phuket, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Dear happyforeverafter,
I was really happy to hear that you were pleased with your free upgrade to our Tropicale room; this particular area of our resort is indeed pleasant and tends to be more on the quite side.
Additionally I was pleased to read that you enjoyed our Premium Club Lounge, the package is indeed beneficial if you intend to spend lots of time in our resort.
Likewise I was delighted to read that you noted some positive signs of improvement: check-in was smooth and pleasant, English was well spoken, cleanliness and service was better in the Azure restaurant, pool towels were readily available, and the WIFI worked. Excellent, thank you so much, we are always working extremely hard to improve our customer service standards.
Regarding location, we are right next to the local amenities, and the beach is a 5 to 10 minute walk away.
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel, and all the comments you made. we most definitely look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Best Wishes,
Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
115 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

We spent twenty days at this hotel during May and enjoyed every minute of our holiday. We were allocated a Tropical room on the second floor which was well appointed and serviced most satisfactorily by the housekeeping ladies.
Breakfast in the Lotus restaurant was very substantial and set one up for the day but our favorite eating place was The Azure where we enjoyed some fine lunches and the occasional evening meal.
The choice of three swimming pools was quite a bonus and we preferred the Tropical pool which was the quieter of the three. The Lagoon pool with its waterslides was ideal for families with children. All three pools had swim up bars and with a good variety of drinks and snacks on offer.
We used the hotels Cenvaree Spa for massage on three occasions and found it to be top class. The grounds and public areas of the hotel were kept immaculate by a great team of gardeners and cleaners.
Perhaps one of the greatest attributes of the Centara Karen Resort is the friendliness of its staff. Always a smile and a kind word and, to their credit, unlike some Trip Advisor reviewers, we never had any trouble in being understood. A special mention for Deen on the concierge staff who was forever helpful and always had a smile on his face.
The BAHT Bonanza was a superb idea and turned 20,000 THB into 32,000 THB of spending power in the hotel which was an absolute bargain.
The hotel is wonderfully situated with bars, restaurants etc. right outside the front door and the beach no more than ten minutes stroll away. We would suggest you try Tuk at Adis travel for arranging well priced excursions, Pataya restaurant for cheap but brilliant Thai food, Apple massage for a cheaper massage with pleasant staff and the Oasis Coffee bar for an air conditioned snack.
Would we go back? - you must be kidding! Of course we would!

Room Tip: The Tropical area is quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Petei2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management77, Manager at Centara Karon Resort Phuket, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Dear Petei2,
Thank you very much for writing such a nice review.
I was very happy to read that you enjoyed our Tropical room, the international buffet breakfast, lunches and evening meals at our Azure restaurant, the swimming pools and their swim up bars.
Thank you for writing that one of our greatest attributes is the friendliness of our staff, I will pass on your kind words, additionally I will pass on your special mention to Deen who is part of our concierge team, he does indeed do a sterling job.
Yes, I do agree that the Baht Bonanaza is a superb idea, I am very pleased you took advantage of our offer.
Our hotel is indeed ideally located, we are next to all of the local amenities that Karon has to offer.
Thank you once more for your review, we also look forward to welcoming you back in the future when you return to Centara Karon Resort, Phuket.
Kind Regards,
Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Karon hotels
0.7 mi away
Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket
0.4 mi away
Novotel Phuket Karon Beach Resort & Spa
0.5 mi away
Mandarava Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa
2.5 mi away
Chanalai Garden Resort
Chanalai Garden Resort
#13 of 56 in Kata Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 971 reviews
2.9 mi away
Katathani Phuket Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Centara Karon Resort Phuket? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Centara Karon Resort Phuket

Property: Centara Karon Resort Phuket
Address: 502/3 Patak Road | Karon Beach, Karon, Phuket 83100, Thailand (Formerly Central Karon Beach Resort)
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Karon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Karon
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Karon
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Karon
#10 Spa Hotel in Karon
#15 Family Hotel in Karon
#16 Luxury Hotel in Karon
#18 Romantic Hotel in Karon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Centara Karon Resort Phuket 4*
Number of rooms: 335
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the heart of Karon Town, with an abundance of eateries and entertainment options at its doorstep and Karon Beach a short stroll away, the resort is perfectly located to experience the many facets of Phuket. As a destination in its own right, Centara Karon Resort Phuket fulfils every holiday aspiration, from pure bliss at Spa Cenvaree to active holidays and family fun with activities galore, yoga sessions, three swimming pools, waterslides and a kids’ club. This four-star resort, laid out within beautiful gardens backed by green hills, is comprised of four very distinctive residential zones. Couples and small families will find the rooms and Honeymoon Suites at the Terraces a comfortable retreat, and enjoy the option of ocean view or a private outdoor Jacuzzi; while families and groups of friends are spoilt for choice with spacious guestrooms set moments away from the waterslide and games of the Lagoon pool. The generously-sized one- and two-bedroom Cabanas feature a private terrace with a plunge Jacuzzi. As a fun place for families, the resort has a kids’ club with daily activities and three expansive swimming pool areas complete with three children’s pools for the younger ones to splash in, two waterslides and pool games. Pool parties are held regularly, and other activities include tennis and football. The resort also has two restaurants, a sports bar, and three swim-up pool bars A scheduled shuttle service takes guests from the resort to Patong, and Phuket International Airport is reached in less than one hour. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Southall Travel, Expedia, Ebookers, Travelbag, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Fastbooking, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Centara Karon Resort Phuket reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Centara Karon Resort Phuket Hotel Karon
Centara Karon Hotel Phuket
Centara Hotel Karon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing