We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our home away from home!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Centara Karon Resort Phuket
Ranked #18 of 134 Hotels in Karon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 July 2014 via mobile

With our annual visit to Phuket, this is our home away from home. Great value for money. Rooms are spacious and modern. Beautiful resort with a few swimming pools, tennis courts, gym, and themed parties at night. An excellent place for families with lots of activities for kids as well. Excellent location close to the beach and all the surrounding restaurants and shops. We always look forward to the next stay!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WellTravelled360
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management77, Manager at Centara Karon Resort Phuket, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2014

Dear WellTravelled36,

Thanks for the wonderful review, I’ll be sure to pass on your kind words to our staff.
I am pleased we are your home away from home, and as you stated rooms are very spacious and modern. Our resort is beautifully maintained, and yes we have excellent facilities such as our 3 swimming pools, tennis courts and gym. Additionally our themed parties are great, for example the Thursday Pool Party, weather permitting during rainy season.
Thus I agree I think this is what makes us such a great resort for families, there is something for everyone; the kids especially love the pool slides.
Our location is perfect; we are close to the local amenities and to the famous Karon beach.
We will be absolutely delighted to welcome you back in the future, your home from home will be waiting.
Best Wishes,
Mark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,867)
There are newer reviews for Centara Karon Resort Phuket
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,898 - 1,904 of 3,867 reviews

Reviewed 30 June 2014

Whilst the hotel is not on the beach it does offer 3 big pools (one kiddie friendly with slides and two large quieter pools even suitable for lap swimming). The rooms were very clean and of a good size. Though there were lots of little children in the resort, my teens felt it was a very relaxing place for a vacation. Lots of places to eat within a 200M walk from the hotel. The gym was good with 3 treadmills, machines and weights. Breakfast was of the usual high standard expected in Asia and available in a choice of two restaurants. Overall - the hotel was good value for the price paid.

Room Tip: Rooms in the 3 level building overlooking the lagoon pool are accessed via stairs though we didn'...
Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank tropical23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management77, Manager at Centara Karon Resort Phuket, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2014

Dear tropical 123,
Thanks for the kind words, and yes you are quite right we offer very good value for money.
Our pools are great and as you stated kids love the pool slides. I was pleased to read that your teens enjoyed our resort and found it to be relaxing.
Rooms are very clean which is a reflection on our dedicated housekeeping team, they do a magnificent job.
There are many restaurants located nearby, all within walking distance.
Our international buffet is excellent, we cater for all tastes and our produce is fresh, I am delighted you enjoyed it, and yes you can eat at either Lotus or the Azure restaurant.
Yes, our gym is well equipped, thus I was happy to hear you enjoyed it, it’s always nice to keep fit even though you are on holiday.
We look forward to inviting you back to Centara Karon Resort in the future.
Best Wishes,
Mark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

The Centara Karon was absolutely perfect for us, we very much needed this relaxing holiday. We had a lagoon room on the ground floor, which we could see our son in the pool from. The actual room was good not the best we have stayed in but definitely not the worst. In saying that we will stay in the same room/s again, the location was just that good. The location of the resort being tucked away from the noise but only such a short walk to restaurants, shops and beach was great. Food and drink was very reasonable. The day spa was wonderful and the therapists very professional. I did the cooking class which was informative.
Only negatives was I had a few communication issues with the reception staff as we booked for the night we were leaving, as our flight wasn't until 10:30pm. And the Wifi can be slow.
Tip: when checking in ask about the Baht bonanza. We paid 10000 Baht & received 5000 free. There's a scale ie you can buy more than this & receive more free. Though you must ask about the bonanza within 24 hours of arrival.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Jazz72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management77, Manager at Centara Karon Resort Phuket, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Dear Jazz 72,
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel, it is very much appreciated.
I was delighted to read that we were absolutely perfect for you, so you could truly enjoy your much needed relaxing holiday. Yes, I concur, the views surrounding our Lagoon rooms are wonderful, thus I am pleased you and your family enjoyed the surroundings and of course the pool.
Yes, we are perfectly located: far enough away from the noise but in close proximity to the restaurants, shops and beach.
Our food and drinks are very reasonably priced when you consider the fresh ingredients we use and of course our wonderful grounds that food and drink is served in.
The spa is fabulous so likewise I am pleased you enjoyed the experience, our staff are highly trained and do a fabulous job.
Additionally I am pleased you took advantage of our Baht Bonanaza, which is a real give away.
Apologies for the communication issues you had, and for the WIFI being slow at times.
We do look forward to welcoming you back in the future to Centara Karon, Phuket.
Best Wishes,
Mark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014 via mobile

An just back from a weeks stay at this excellent resort.
It's the beginning of the wet season so the heat and humidity particularly, were full on. No problem though, we tended to keep in the cool from noon to after 3 and then have an afternoon swim. An early morning swim was also better than mid morning.
There are several pools to choose from but as I was travelling with my 8 year old daughter, the Lagoon pool with 2 water slides proved very popular.
We also stayed in a room overlooking the pool in the Lagoon wing and had no problems at all with noise.
The water slides are turned off at 7pm and pools close at 8pm.
Being in this central location proved a bonus as it was a moments walk to the pool and also the main restaurant for the excellent buffet breakfast.
Up the hill slightly is a another huge pool and a great place to hang out if you want to escape the children's main action.
All the other points have been well covered by other writers so
I wont repeat the same.
Suffice to say that this is an excellent resort in an area that is not overdeveloped nor crowded like Patong.
The beach is a 6 minutes walk away and needs major development but has a lazy layback feel that will appeal to some. For a family though the resort offers all you need.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Oljon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management77, Manager at Centara Karon Resort Phuket, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2014

Dear Oljon,
Thank you very much for the excellent review; it is very much appreciated by the management team and staff here at Centara Karon Resort.
Yes, we have 3 pools to choose from, the Lagoon pool is really popular with the kids because of the water slides, they have a real blast. The pools also close at 8 p.m., this is so we can do the necessary maintenance that is required.
The Tropicale pool is much quieter; however everybody is entitled to use it, though the kids prefer the Lagoon pool.
Thank you very much for recommending us, we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Best Wishes,
Mark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014 via mobile

Great location, friendly and competent staff, very nice facilities.
The facilities for children were really good. It could be a bit of an issue if you have mobility difficulties.
Some of the restaurant special offers could have been better.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank subbyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management77, Manager at Centara Karon Resort Phuket, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Dear Subbyc,
Thanks for reviewing us. We are indeed in a great location, our staff are most definitely friendly and competent, we also offer very nice facilities, children especially love our pool slides.
I do apologise that our restaurant special offers did not live up to your expectations, however I do think we offer very good value for money.
We look forward to seeing you back at Centara Karon, Resort in the future.
Best Wishes,
Mark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

This review is long overdue! My husband and I travelled with some friends in March 2014 and we stayed at Centara Karon Resort Phuket.

What can I say? This resort was incredible and the service outstanding. For the price we paid, we were all pleasantly surpirsed (approx $100 per night including full buffet brekky for 2 each day). The room was clean, the grounds well maintained and the restaurants were awesome. We spent so much time in the pools, relaxing and shopping. The resort is in a great location with easy access to heaps of delicious restaurants and there is a little 7 eleven type shop at the end of the street where you can purchase bottled water and other goods at a very reasonable price. The resort offers a shuttle bus to Patong each day which is very reasonably priced and cheaper than a tuk tuk. We ate breakfast at the hotel each day and were impressed with the variety and the quality of the food. We also ordered room service one night and ate at the resort restraurant another night. The food was a lot more expensive than the restaurants outside the resort, as were the alcoholic drinks, but that is to be expected. We wanted to try the day spa but again, the prices were a lot higher for massages and manicures and pedicures than the day spas literally within 100 meters of the resort.

The room was clean and basic and had everything we need. I guess it was somewhat on the smaller side, but we didn't spend much time in the room at all so it did not bother us. The bed is a little hard, but we still slept ok. Honestly, overall this resort was amazing. We loved Thailand and are hoping to go back soon and if so, we will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Most adults/couples should ask to stay in the building where reception is. The other buildings are t...
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank travelover209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management77, Manager at Centara Karon Resort Phuket, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Dear Brissie Gal 123,
Thank you very much for writing such a great review; it is very much appreciated by all our staff here at Centara Karon.
I was very pleased to read that you enjoyed your room, our wonderful grounds, restaurants and of course our 3 swimming pools.
Our resort is indeed in an excellent location in Karon, as you stated we also offer a shuttle bus thrice daily to Patong if you are wanting a change of pace, and yes at a cheaper rate than the tuk tuks, and may I add a much safer alternative.
Yes, our food and drinks are more expensive than the local bars and restaurant, but as you stated it is to be expected, we are a hotel set in wonderful grounds, provide room service and only use the finest of ingredients for both food and drinks.
Indeed our spa prices are higher than the massage shops out on the street. However, you have to bear in mind our staff have been properly trained, the spa offers exceptional tranquility, fresh aromas are used and you will feel completely relaxed after our spa experience. This could not be said for the massage shops where you may incur aches and pains due to the masseuse not been properly qualified.
I am delighted you found our resort to be amazing, and we most definitely look forward to welcoming you back to Centara Karon Resort when you return in the future.
Best Wishes,
Mark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

just back from a 17 night stay at this hotel ,the hotel is very well kept with beautiful gardens ,the staff cannot do enough to please. the manager himself Austin even took the time to welcome us and tell us a little bit about the area , we stayed in a tropical room,and it was perfect large clean rooms ,and the best air con ever,,breakfast was excellent with a very good choice ,and the azure restaurant does the best pepper steak i have ever tasted ,the terrace bar was also excellent ,wonderful lobster and ice cold beers served by the lovely knok who served us,she is a credit to this hotel,we loved out time at this hotel and would recommend it . thank you all and hope to see you next year

Room Tip: tropical rooms lovely
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anneCoDown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management77, Manager at Centara Karon Resort Phuket, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Dear anneCoDown,
Thank you very much for the kind review.
Our hotel is very well kept and our gardeners do an outstanding job in maintaining our manicured gardens.
Staff at Centara Karon work to exceptionally high standards, which is well reflected in our General Manager Austin, thus I was very pleased to hear you got an opportunity to meet him and he was able to tell you about the area.
Housekeeping do a fabulous job of maintaining our rooms, so I was pleased to read you enjoyed your Tropical room, and likewise the much needed air con.
The international buffet we offer is splendid; we offer a large variety of food to incorporate all tastes. I concur about the peppered steak; it is to die for, likewise our lobster is devine.
I will be sure to pass on your kind words about Khun Knok, she does an absolutely wonderful job, I am also pleased you enjoyed the cold beers that Khun Knok served you.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Centara Karon Resort next year.
Best Wishes,
Mark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Karon hotels
0.7 mi away
Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket
0.4 mi away
Novotel Phuket Karon Beach Resort & Spa
2.5 mi away
Chanalai Garden Resort
Chanalai Garden Resort
#12 of 56 in Kata Beach
1,114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Mandarava Resort and Spa
Mandarava Resort and Spa
#2 of 8 in Karon Beach
2,019 reviews
0.3 mi away
Movenpick Resort & Spa Karon Beach Phuket
0.8 mi away
Hilton Phuket Arcadia Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Centara Karon Resort Phuket? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Centara Karon Resort Phuket

Address: 502/3 Patak Road | Karon Beach, Karon, Phuket 83100, Thailand (Formerly Central Karon Beach Resort)
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Karon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Karon
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Karon
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Karon
#11 Spa Hotel in Karon
#15 Family Hotel in Karon
#17 Luxury Hotel in Karon
#18 Romantic Hotel in Karon
Price Range: £29 - £171 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Centara Karon Resort Phuket 4*
Number of rooms: 335
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the heart of Karon Town, with an abundance of eateries and entertainment options at its doorstep and Karon Beach a short stroll away, the resort is perfectly located to experience the many facets of Phuket. As a destination in its own right, Centara Karon Resort Phuket fulfils every holiday aspiration, from pure bliss at Spa Cenvaree to active holidays and family fun with activities galore, yoga sessions, three swimming pools, waterslides and a kids’ club. This four-star resort, laid out within beautiful gardens backed by green hills, is comprised of four very distinctive residential zones. Couples and small families will find the rooms and Honeymoon Suites at the Terraces a comfortable retreat, and enjoy the option of ocean view or a private outdoor Jacuzzi; while families and groups of friends are spoilt for choice with spacious guestrooms set moments away from the waterslide and games of the Lagoon pool. The generously-sized one- and two-bedroom Cabanas feature a private terrace with a plunge Jacuzzi. As a fun place for families, the resort has a kids’ club with daily activities and three expansive swimming pool areas complete with three children’s pools for the younger ones to splash in, two waterslides and pool games. Pool parties are held regularly, and other activities include tennis and football. The resort also has two restaurants, a sports bar, and three swim-up pool bars A scheduled shuttle service takes guests from the resort to Patong, and Phuket International Airport is reached in less than one hour. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Southall Travel, Booking.com, Prestigia, Fastbooking, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Centara Karon Resort Phuket reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Centara Karon Resort Phuket Hotel Karon
Centara Karon Hotel Phuket
Centara Hotel Karon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing