We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Resort”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Centara Karon Resort Phuket
Ranked #17 of 134 Hotels in Karon
Certificate of Excellence
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Resort”
Reviewed 18 July 2014

We have stayed here for our 4th time now and overall a fantastic resort. Fabulous pools and a very good kids menu for hungry kids that need to eat in 2 minutes. It is a fabulous location and one I will always come back to. The staff are very efficient when something needs to be don and have arrived promptly when anything has needed fixing. There are a couple of minor things that for me would help. First thing is, the main pool in the tropical section has a surface around the edge that both my kids and I got hurt on. Its so rough that you can't even sit on the pools edge. The other is the tv channels. For a resort with such a family focus and so many children, there isn't any kids TV channels. Anther suggestion might be to have a dedicated kids movie channel for kids with movies for children only instead of them being mixed in with movies like Saw or Resident Evil. While waiting for Astro Boy to come on the movie channel, (as there are no timings on the in-house movie guide), my daughter started screaming when she witnessed an extremely graphic piranha attack from a previous movie that hadn't finished yet. Just a thought - would make it a lot easier for us parents :-))

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shelly1609
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management77, Manager at Centara Karon Resort Phuket, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Dear Shelly1609,
I was delighted to read that you enjoyed our fabulous pools, the Lagoon pool is very popular with children due to the kids’ slides.
Additionally I was pleased to hear that your children enjoyed our kids’ menu, we do pride ourselves on being family orientated.
Our location is indeed fabulous; we are located next to all the local amenities that Karon offers, thus I am pleased you thought so.
In terms of the Tropical pool and tv channels, I have forwarded your comments to our management team, who will review these issues.
Thank you very much for your review, it is very much appreciated by our staff and management team here at Centara Karon Resort. We look forward to welcoming you back for a fifth time in the future.
Best Wishes,
Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,841 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,971
    1,290
    393
    128
    59
See reviews for
1,691
1,336
87
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,045)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 July 2014

My husband and I had the best time staying here. The staff are so helpful could not have done anymore for us. Hubby got sick and the resort took us to the Phuket international hospital free of charge. Wish we had a hospital like that here in Australia they were great no waiting seen as soon as we arrived. On our return to the resort there was a fruit platter and card for us from management. We stayed 12 nights traveled July / Aug 2012. We are coming back to stay Sept 2014

Room Tip: Higher floors have better views
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marcelle58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management77, Manager at Centara Karon Resort Phuket, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Dear Marcelle58,
Thank you very much for your kind review, I will be sure to pass on your kind comments to our staff and management team.
We were more than happy to help your husband when he got sick and to take him free of charge to Phuket International Hospital. Our main concern was that he received professional, first class medical treatment and thus could make a speedy recovery; we are delighted he did so.
We look forward to welcoming you back in September 2014 to Centara Karon Resort, Phuket.
Best Wishes,
Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valla, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014

Before I talk about the resort I'd like to mention that we love Thailand for it's Beautiful People and have to say that the Staff at this resort would have to be rated the Happiest out of all the resorts we have stayed at in Thailand. This was noticeable as soon as we arrived at reception and were greeted. The warm fuzzy feeling stayed the whole time we were there during the school holidays. My Family recently returned from our 15 night stay in Lagoon room 2206. The room was very clean and a decent size for a family of 2A and two children aged 12 and 13, very spacious bathroom. We loved how the Green option gave a choice save water and have the linen changed when required and not every day whether it needed it or not. Loved the layout of the pools and the choice of the kids pools or the quieter pools. The grounds have beautiful gardens and are very well maintained. The choice of food at Breakfast was awesome, we ate each morning in the smaller Azure restaurant near the Lagoon pool. The kids loved the chill out room with the pool table with the internet lounge just above.
The resort offers a range of activities nightly, our family enjoyed the layed back pool party.
My husband celebrated his Birthday during our stay and this did not go unnoticed by the staff who signed a Birthday card for him. Lovely touch.
We also bumped into the GM Austin at Breakfast one morning and it's easy to see why the staff are happy.
A Warm Hello to Pooky, Gug, Been, Num, Julee, Aoy, and Khwan.
Honestly will recommend this resort to everyone whether it be family or a couple, it caters for all.
P.S. Congratulations to Philllipe from Craig for your World Cup Victory !!
Kind Regards, Craig and Rach Valla Beach Australia.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rachcraig08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management77, Manager at Centara Karon Resort Phuket, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Dear Rachcraig08,
I was delighted to read that our Lagoon room met yours and your family’s requirements and expectations, and likewise our “Green” option, the layout of the pools, our beautiful gardens, choice of food, our awesome breakfast, and the chill out room. Absolutely splendid.
Additionally I was very pleased to hear that you enjoyed the nightly activities, and that your husband had a great birthday here at the resort.
Our GM, Austin, does an excellent job in ensuring that the resort is managed to very high standards, I will be sure to pass on your kind comment to him. Likewise I will pass on your warm hello to Pooky, Gug, Been, Num, Julee, Aoy, and Khwan.
Our Executive Chef Philippe will most definitely welcome your offer of congratulations regarding Germany winning the World Cup, who had a splendid tournament.
Thank you very much for reviewing us, it is very much appreciated.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Centara Karon Resort in the future.
Best Wishes,
Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chandigarh, India, Asia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 July 2014

i stayed here for 5 nights. its an amazing hotel and the best thing about the hotel was its service. such amazing staff they have. i want to specially thank the guy Kai their at the reception. such a helful guy. beautiful pools, very nice rooms and a very amazing restaurant sums it all. had an amazing time here.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rishisinghreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management77, Manager at Centara Karon Resort Phuket, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Dear rishisinghreen,

Thank you very much for your very nice review.
I was thrilled to read that you found our hotel to be amazing and that the best thing was the excellent service provided by our staff. I will be sure to pass on your kind words to our staff and Khun Kai as well.
Additionally I was delighted you enjoyed our 3 beautiful pools, your rooms, and of course our amazing restaurants, which made for an amazing time.
We look forward to inviting you back to Centara Karon Resort Phuket in the future.

Best Wishes,
Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Centara Karon. We stayed in a Lagoon room, on the 2nd floor. Didn't find noise to be a problem at all. The 2 waterslides and waterfall in the pool was a hit with our 2 daughters of 7 & 10yrs - and even our 15yr old son. We also tried the other 2 pools, which were lovely, quieter and relaxing. Our son enjoyed the gym, and loved his Thai boxing lesson. We found Karon to be more suited to our young family, rather than the hustle of Patong. There was loads of restaurants in the surrounding streets to try, as well as massages/hair braiding, and the Temple markets on Sat & Tues nights were very good. We'll be back.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LeisyLou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management77, Manager at Centara Karon Resort Phuket, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Dear LeisyLou,
I was very pleased to read that you enjoyed our Lagoon rooms, and additionally you did not have any problems with noise.
The water slides are great for the kids, so I was delighted to hear that your daughters enjoyed them, and even your 15 year old son. Yes, our two other pools are more often quieter and thus more relaxing.
Our gym is well equipped and our staff are professionally trained to give Thai boxing lessons, therefore it is very nice to know that your son loved them, I’ll be sure to pass on your kind comment to Khun Bird and his team at the Fitness Centre.
In terms of location, we are perfectly located in Karon. As you stated we are close to an abundance of shops, bars, restaurants, the local temple, the wonderful Karon beach, and a short taxi drive away to the tourist attractions. We do offer a shuttle bus service thrice daily to Patong and a taxi service to all of the tourist attractions around the island, both services provide professional, friendly safe drivers, all our vehicles are equipped with air con as well.
Thank you for the kind review, I am pleased you had a great holiday. We look forward to welcoming you back to Centara Karon Resort in the future.

Best Wishes,
Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014 via mobile

We are currently staying at the centara karon in one of their pool villa rooms. I read a few reviews saying the hotel is in need of renovation and now I am here I say I have to agree. Our room has cracks all over the roof from leaking water. Granted the rain was heavy last night but it seemed the water was leaking through the tiles and onto the gyprock. Many parts of the room look old and worn and are in need of a coat of paint.
Also the service is substandard. We only have 2 bath towels provided but have 4 people in the room. I have tried 3 times to ring housekeeping and they don't answer. I got through to front desk and they said they would send the message down but nothing arrived. Now have tried to call them again and both housekeeping and front desk are not answering. This is more 2 star service not 4 star.
On a positive note the pools and grounds are immaculate and the restaurants seem well staffed and run. The kids also love the pool.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Macfamily2103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management77, Manager at Centara Karon Resort Phuket, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Dear MacDaddy2103,

We will be more than happy to provide more towels and fix anything that needs fixing. Please call our Front Desk Managers who will be more than happy to assist.

Best Wishes,
Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Great place to stay.. very relaxing beautiful and huge resort. The resort is just walking distance from the beach and has very nice street shopping around. The food in the resort is great and they have amazing swimming pools. If you want to just relax and take a break from daily life, this is the place to go..!!!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ShreyaN1408
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management77, Manager at Centara Karon Resort Phuket, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Dear ShreyaN1 408,
Thank you for reviewing us, your review is very much appreciated by our hard working and dedicated staff.
I am very pleased that you found us to be a great place to stay, relaxing, beautiful and huge resort, we do aim to please.
Yes, we are in a great location to all of the local amenities that Karon has to offer.
I concur and also think our food is great, this is well reflected by our dedicated team of chefs who have exceptionally high standards in serving the very best dishes. We have extensive menus in our Azure and Lotus restaurant not forgetting our delightful Beer Garden that serves wonderful BBQ dishes, the real favourites being the seafood, the fabulous Australian beef, and the classic metre long German sausage.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Best Wishes,
Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Karon hotels
0.7 mi away
Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket
2.5 mi away
Chanalai Garden Resort
Chanalai Garden Resort
#12 of 56 in Kata Beach
1,082 reviews
0.4 mi away
Novotel Phuket Karon Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Mandarava Resort and Spa
Mandarava Resort and Spa
#2 of 8 in Karon Beach
1,976 reviews
0.3 mi away
Movenpick Resort & Spa Karon Beach Phuket
0.8 mi away
Hilton Phuket Arcadia Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Centara Karon Resort Phuket? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Centara Karon Resort Phuket

Property: Centara Karon Resort Phuket
Address: 502/3 Patak Road | Karon Beach, Karon, Phuket 83100, Thailand (Formerly Central Karon Beach Resort)
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Karon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Karon
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Karon
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Karon
#10 Spa Hotel in Karon
#15 Family Hotel in Karon
#16 Luxury Hotel in Karon
#18 Romantic Hotel in Karon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Centara Karon Resort Phuket 4*
Number of rooms: 335
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the heart of Karon Town, with an abundance of eateries and entertainment options at its doorstep and Karon Beach a short stroll away, the resort is perfectly located to experience the many facets of Phuket. As a destination in its own right, Centara Karon Resort Phuket fulfils every holiday aspiration, from pure bliss at Spa Cenvaree to active holidays and family fun with activities galore, yoga sessions, three swimming pools, waterslides and a kids’ club. This four-star resort, laid out within beautiful gardens backed by green hills, is comprised of four very distinctive residential zones. Couples and small families will find the rooms and Honeymoon Suites at the Terraces a comfortable retreat, and enjoy the option of ocean view or a private outdoor Jacuzzi; while families and groups of friends are spoilt for choice with spacious guestrooms set moments away from the waterslide and games of the Lagoon pool. The generously-sized one- and two-bedroom Cabanas feature a private terrace with a plunge Jacuzzi. As a fun place for families, the resort has a kids’ club with daily activities and three expansive swimming pool areas complete with three children’s pools for the younger ones to splash in, two waterslides and pool games. Pool parties are held regularly, and other activities include tennis and football. The resort also has two restaurants, a sports bar, and three swim-up pool bars A scheduled shuttle service takes guests from the resort to Patong, and Phuket International Airport is reached in less than one hour. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Southall Travel, Agoda, Travelbag, Fastbooking, Expedia, Prestigia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Centara Karon Resort Phuket reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Centara Karon Resort Phuket Hotel Karon
Centara Karon Hotel Phuket
Centara Hotel Karon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing