We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
US$70
View deal
Free cancellation until 03/12/21
Priceline
US$75
View deal
Free cancellation until 03/12/21
ZenHotels.com
US$67
View deal
Hotels.comUS$70
TravelocityUS$70
CheapTicketsUS$70
View all 17 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (5,705)
Filter reviews
5,705 results
Traveller rating
3,195
1,759
512
153
86
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
3,195
1,759
512
153
86
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1,984 - 1,989 of 5,705 reviews
Reviewed 2 September 2016

Our second time at the Centara,still good value,Our stay included the ( in our opinion Unbeatable! ) Breakfast.
Booked the Terraces but was upgraded to a 3rd floor Lagoon room.But transferred back to the Terraces as we didn't want to do the stairs .Still all good,staff friendly and helpful and great value at AU $60 a night for a couple.

Date of stay: August 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AthonyRosemary
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementCKR, Manager at Centara Karon Resort Phuket, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2016

Dear AthonyRosemary

Thank you so much for your kind words and very positive review about our Centara Karon Resort. We are very happy when guest do enjoy their time and take their valued time to write us a detailed review.
We are glad that you liked your terrace room which you have experienced to be very good value.

Thank you for the praise about our lovely and caring staff members and our good location. We truly are proud to share such an unique and special location at the tropical hills of Karon with all its lush greens and the exciting center with all its restaurants, shops and many more. Not to forget the "only" a 5-7 min walk to the beach.

We aim to please all our guests and the quality of service delivery is our utmost goal and our trained team will do all to make each guests stay an enjoyable one.

We would be very happy to welcome you back on your next vacation and remain faithfully,

sincerely yours,
Thomas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2016

We stayed as a group of 3 adults, 2 children for 12 nights. We stayed in 2 Terraces rooms.

Pros
- The hotel reception, lobby and restaurant is nicely decorated and "authentically" Thai looking.
- The staff are generally all very nice and will try to help where they can, in particular, Pam who is one of the managers.
- Rooms and hotel in general is clean.
- There are lots of good facilities on site including numerous pools, bars, gym and tennis courts.
- The hotel happy hour is quite good value.
- Finishing touches such as toiletries and umbrellas were appreciated.
- Breakfast was repetitive as it was a buffet but the choice of food and quality of food was one of the best we've had in a hotel.

Cons
- The Terrace rooms have no Thai style to them and resemble a Travelodge type hotel. It was a shame that the rooms didn't reflect the lobby or in fact Thailand at all.
- Some of the front desk staff do not speak very good English, whilst I do not expect Thai staff to be fluent in English I do think all staff should be able to speak an adequate level in order to assist guests with queries and issues.
- Whilst the rooms were clean, there were issues with the upkeep of decor etc. For example we found many chipped/scratched bits of paint on the walls. The balcony also needed to be painted as it was rusted all over and generally looked worn.
- The linens need to be replaced also, we found more than 1 stain on our bed linen. The sheets were clearly clean but the linen old and stained. The towels provided by the hotel are not consistent as some are clearly new and bright yellow but others are very washed out and a dull yellow as well as some of our towels having bleach stains on them.
- Music needs to be monitored around the Terraces pool, there were children around but still some songs had lots of swearing in it.
- My pyjamas went missing one day and after extensive searching of my room I still could not find it. I reported this to Reception and they called Laundry to check for me, I was told to come back in the morning for an update. In the morning again, Laundry was called again but still no one could locate the pyjamas for me. The language barrier was an issue when I tried to inquire what would be done about this but I was just given an apology and a smile! The pyjamas were purchased brand new before the holiday so I am very upset about this. I don't believe that the housekeeping stole these but more that they may have got mixed up with the bedding when she changed the sheets however still no one in Centara can let me know where they are...?
- Upon check into our rooms, the room for 1 adult, 2 children was given a room with 1 double bed which is not enough space. I reported this to Reception and was told that a camp bed could be provided for 500 THB per night but that was all that could be done - not acceptable as this is not what our travel agent had sold us. Pam was kind enough to look into this for us and liaise with the Asia travel company, in the meantime she offered an extra mattress on the floor. I called our agent in the UK and had the issue rectified immediately and a camp bed put into the room at no extra charge.

All in all, we had a good holiday here but there were many niggles that need ironing out to make this a 4 star hotel. The facilities are there for this to be a fantastic hotel but the maintenance needs to be up-kept properly and the finishing touches consistent across the whole hotel.

We probably wouldn't return here but that is mainly due to the area being way too touristy for us and the fact that an item has gone missing from my room with no effort to rectify...

Date of stay: August 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank Kym B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementCKR, Manager at Centara Karon Resort Phuket, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2016

Dear Kym B

Thank you so much for your positive review about out Centara Karon Resort.
We are happy to see that your overall stay was a good one and rest assured we are continuously working to improve our resort, the rooms and all services by constant training our team.
Thank you also for your improvement comments which I have already shared with the management team to look into and take action.

I am sad to hear about your sleeping clothes and will try to do my best to look into this.
Thank you for mentioning out nice helpful staff and especially for Ms. Pam which I will inform about your positive mention.
Also happy to hear you enjoyed the nice good food.

We hope that we will be able to welcome you back once more to restore your faith in our service and till then remain faithful.

Kind regards

Thomas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2016 via mobile

Venue
Pros: The hotel, with it's spacious grounds, pools, restaurants and numerous accomodation options are great. We stayed for for 14 nights which we split into 2 different accomodation types, a Tropicana Delux room and a 1 bedroom Cabana. We have 2 young children (1&4) and we by far preferred the 1 bedroom Cabana, as not only was it more luxurious, it also had a lot more space for the kids to run around.
Cons: They were renovating the restaurant at the Lagoon pool (the main kids pool) when we were there and there was lots of noise and paint fumes throughout the day.

Location:
Pros:The location is great, in the centre of town, it is surrounded by local shops and some great restaurants, with a 3-5 minute walk to the beach.
Cons: N/A

Food
Pros: Fresh and tasty with a good mix of Thai and European food. The breakfast buffet was also very extensive, providing for everyone's tastes.
Cons: As you would expect at a resort, food and drinks inside the resort were a lot more expensive than what you can find outside the resort.

Customer Service
Pros: The staff were for the most part really great with our young children. We didn't use the kids club as our kids are too young, but often when we interacted with the staff they would get the kids giggling. After the very disappointing start to our stay at the Centara (see below) the customer service improved and was for the most part very good, with the staff very polite, helpful and friendly.

Cons: I had emailed the hotel a few weeks before arrival to confirm requests made (and we thought agreed to) at the time of our original booking and to request a room change due to the building works going on next to the room we had booked in the Lagoon section (we only found out about the building works through friends who had stayed there - we think the hotel should have informed us) . The hotel responded promptly offering a room change and confirming the requests, which included an early check in, as we were arriving at 8am and the normal check in is 2pm. Unfortunately when we arrived after 15+ hours of travel, with a 1 and 4 year old who hadn't slept properly in close to 30 hours, they denied knowing anything about the pre-arranged early check in, or the room change. Even when I showed them the emails from one of their own staff members confirming what we were saying, they refused to provide us with the service the hotel had offered in their email exchanges with both us and our travel company. Unfortunately it took my exhausted 1 year old screaming non-stop for over 35 minutes in the reception area, combined with my husband taking over negotiations with hotel staff (which involved him saying the same things I had said and showing them the same emails I had shown them - just in a deeper voice - patriarchy is very much alive and kicking in Thailand) for them to provide the early check in they had originally agreed to. Unfortunately they couldn't provide the exact room change they had promised, but they did eventually provide us with a room away from the building works.

Date of stay: July 2016
Trip type: Travelled with family
3  Thank reyds
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementCKR, Manager at Centara Karon Resort Phuket, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2016

Dear reyds

Warmest greetings to you and thank you for your kind and positive words about us on TripAdvisor.
It is such a joy to hear how much you enjoyed all we have to offer. We are glad that after the slight rocky start you where given changed to more suitable rooms for your and the kids. Also Thank you for mentioning our Entertainment team which, certainly our Carpe Diem Entertainment team gets a lot of praises in our reviews and is something we are very proud to have here at our hotel. These lively entertainers are always happy to take care of the young ones with our numerous activities all around our resort i.e. water aerobics, bingo, kids' disco and music trivia and their parents with other activities.

Also it is great that you found our location excellent. We can only keep telling our clients continuously that we are very proud to share such an unique and special location at the onset of the tropical hill side of Karon with all its lush greens and the exciting one step away city center streets filled with restaurants, shops, spas, supermarkets, a small temple which features a bi-weekly market with lovely street food and lots of clothes and souvenirs and many many more. Not to forget the only a very short walk way to the beautiful Karon beach.

We would love to see you back on your next trip to Thailand,

remaining with kind regards and wishes,

Thomas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2016 via mobile

Amazing hotel with amazing staff,, 3 pools to choose from, lovely food,, and right in the middle of karon beach,, what a beautiful place,, would recommend to anyone and would be defiantly stay there again

Date of stay: September 2015
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Resort666059
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementCKR, Manager at Centara Karon Resort Phuket, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2016

Dear TripAdvisor Member

Thank you very much for your recent stay with us at Centara Karon Resort and for having taken your valuable time to share your experience on Trip Adviser.

Very happy to hear you have been satisfied with with your service and hotel and are happy that you are recommending us to other travelers.

Thank you again for your feedback. If your future holiday travel plans should bring you back to Thailand, we all would be delighted to have the pleasure of welcoming you back at the Centara Karon Resort.

Kind regards and wishes,
Thomas & the Centara Karon Resort Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2016 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here for 9 nights and had a great time. The resort was central to everything and our ocean view room was lovely. We only ate in the resort twice and that was in the beer garden. The meals were very nice and the live music was absolutely amazing. The only problem we found was the people who put their towels on seats around the pool before breakfast and then don't use them until lunch time. At the terrace pool there is only a small number of seats and it is not fair to all the other guests who would also like to sit around the pool. A special thank you to Fiat at the terrace pool swim up bar for his great cocktails and the Soul Kitchen BreW for their amazing music.

Date of stay: August 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
4  Thank cpdunn
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementCKR, Manager at Centara Karon Resort Phuket, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2016

Dear cpdunn

Thank you very much for your recent stay with us at Centara Karon Resort and for having taken your valuable time to share your experience on Trip Adviser.

Very happy to hear you have been satisfied with the meals you had in our beer garden and that you loved the live band. We get many nice comments about our nice trio.

We are glad that you found our resort to be in a great location which we are very proud to share such an unique and special location at the onset of the tropical hills side of Karon with all its lush greens and the exciting one step away city center streets filled with restaurants, shops, spas, supermarkets, a small temple which features a bi-weekly market with lovely street food and lots of clothes and souvenirs and many many more. Not to forget the only a very short walk way to the beautiful Karon beach.

Also I like to thank you so much for mentioning Fiat in your review, he is a star in the F&B team and we will pass on your praise.

Our apologies that you were disturbed by the fact that some guests are reserving sun chairs. We are doing our best to enforce this not happening and will keep doing so.

I hope that you could relax and enjoy the other 2 large pools with also full equipped pool bars and areas.

Thank you again for your feedback. If your future holiday travel plans should bring you back to Thailand, we all would be delighted to have the pleasure of welcoming you back at the Centara Karon Resort.

Kind regards and wishes,
Thomas & the Centara Karon Resort Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews