We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Horizon Karon Beach Resort & Spa
Ranked #21 of 133 Hotels in Karon
Certificate of Excellence
Akron, Ohio
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Nice rooms”
Reviewed 30 October 2013

We stayed one week at the Horizon. The rooms are nice contemporary and have a balcony overlooking the pool and in the distance the bay. The pool is a good size. You do need to claim early chaise lounges if you want to spend time the pool as it does get crowded. It is not a relaxing hotel though as it is noisy and busy. Food…so-so. It is easy walk to the beach so you can get away from the busy pool area.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keith B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,318 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    633
    462
    144
    47
    32
See reviews for
425
542
48
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (382)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013

Staying for 8 nights, rooms are very basic, beds and pillows need updating, bathroom very tired, poor shower, extremely noisy, we were next to a bogan family would we could hear all day and night, if you want to relax, this is not the place.
Food average, location away from most things, all in all, crap!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Spursboydownunder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013

It was a great location as you can go down to the beach, to the right with shops and to the left for the cool seafood restaurants. The resort was beautiful, and the gym was good, pool great but the spa didn't work.
They gave us vouchers for dinner and for the day spa also, Breakfast was wonderful great selection of food, and clean and fresh. Service was wonderful staff very friendly.
Great for families and couples and would go again.

Room Tip: great for anyone who wants a bit more quiet than Patong but still able to see what Thailand has to o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gorjuzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013

On arrival we were greeted by the lovely Emmy in charge of customer relations and were given a free upgrade to the Privilege Suite. This was a separate wing for adults only which gave access in the Privilege Club Lounge to free internet tea/coffee/juices all day plus a light lunch(mainly finger food) and some items of free alcohol and soft drinks between 12-2pm. A lighter style breakfast was also available. Our room was spacious and well maintained daily. The staff were all friendly and polite The pool area was clean( and very refreshing) with a swim up to bar if you wanted to indulge in drink or food. I'd booked a deal with buffet dinner as well as buffet breakfast both of which had a large variety although towards the end of our 7 day stay I did feel the dinner was a tad monotonous! The grounds and facilities at this resort are well maintained. Location is at the quiet end of Karon Beach, the hill to the beach is a 5 minute walk down but advisable to call for the tuk-tuk to bring you back up! We got our laundry done halfway down the hill as the hotel laundry service was rather expensive. Shops galore if you like shopping! Overall a great place to stay and we will certainly return. Emmy is to be commended for her helpfulness friendliness and efficiency.

Room Tip: Stairs weren't an issue for us in our location but could pose a problem. Maybe request a lower r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Justthe2ofusAdelaide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brisbane
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2013

Very neat and tidy accommodation, excellent value for money. Staff efficient and happy to help - tuk-tuk guys are great. Breakfast good - hot tip - the Indian breakfast chef is excellent - try the dosa or roti for brekkie if you fancy a change. Thoroughly enjoyed the stay with my two kids of 12 and 16. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BrisbaneClaire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Croydon, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2013

We stayed here for our first overseas family holiday and will be returning as soon as we can.
Our kids are 16 yr old girl and 12 yr old boy and both were treated with the utmost kindness and attention by all the staff,including the very hardworking groundskeepers and security guards.
Our connecting rooms overlooked the pool 2102 and 2103 and they were in a perfect location to all the facilities.The buffet breakfast and dinner were included in our 2 week stay and saved us a fortune and were accessible before and after our daytripping.Lots of Australians were staying here and made conversation hanging around the pool very easy and friendly.
The hill is no big deal because waiting at the bottom is banana pancake man who we all stacked on weight with at $1.50 a pancake.
Shops are everywhere to the left and kata beach is the place to swim only 1/2 km up the road.
The Patong shuttle bus 4 times daily is fantastic and another moneysaver.The weather in our time there 12-26 September was exceptional and we saw only one spot of rain in the evening.
We tipped the staff wherever we could because they were always smiling and gracious.
Overall a fantastic experience for our family and Phuket itself is a great place to visit,can`t wait to get back.

Room Tip: Our rooms were superior pool view 2102 and 2103.These are 5 steps up and give a perfect view to the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Brewers2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frankston, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2013

Beautiful Resort located close to both Karon and Kata beaches. Karon beach is a 5 minute walk down the hill and Kata Beach is a 20 minute walk or a short tuk tuk ride for about 200bht. Friendly staff, good buffet breakfasts and dinners and plenty of choice if you order there for lunch. Just a word of warning - there were NO LIFTS in the building we stayed in. So if you get a 4th floor room you have to climb up and down 60 stairs in a non air conditioned stairway. I'm a marathon runner so I can cope with the walk up the hill to the resort and then the stairs to my room, however if you have fitness, knee or hip issues ask for a lower floor. My elderly mum wouldn't have coped at all. The concierge was terrific organising drivers to anywhere you wanted to go. The free bus into Patong was really handy.

Room Tip: Try to avoid the 3rd/4th floor unless you don't mind stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cheryl H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Karon hotels
1.7 mi away
Novotel Phuket Karon Beach Resort & Spa
0.3 mi away
Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa
0.2 mi away
Andaman Seaview Hotel
Andaman Seaview Hotel
#22 of 133 in Karon
1,221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Mandarava Resort and Spa
1.1 mi away
Chanalai Garden Resort
Chanalai Garden Resort
#13 of 56 in Kata Beach
1,030 reviews
0.2 mi away
Beyond Resort Karon
Beyond Resort Karon
#17 of 133 in Karon
1,119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Horizon Karon Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Horizon Karon Beach Resort & Spa

Property: Horizon Karon Beach Resort & Spa
Address: 3 Soi Karon, Soi 2 | Karon Beach, Karon, Phuket 83100, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Karon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Karon
#14 Spa Hotel in Karon
#19 Family Hotel in Karon
#20 Luxury Hotel in Karon
#23 Romantic Hotel in Karon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Horizon Karon Beach Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Do you want to enjoy a luxurious, fabulous yet affordable vacation in Phuket by the beach? Indulge yourself in this beautiful, upscale resort with spa facilities at affordable prices. The resort is surrounded by nature and is spread over 16,000 sqm. of land and is like your own private paradise. Shops and restaurants are within easy walking distance, and its more relaxed and quiet setting is the preferred choice of families and couples. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Agoda, Southall Travel, TravelUp, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Horizon Karon Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Horizon Karon Beach Resort And Spa
Horizon Karon Beach Hotel Karon
Horizon Karon Beach Resort & Spa Phuket

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing