We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok accommodation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Horizon Karon Beach Resort & Spa
Ranked #19 of 135 Hotels in Karon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 November 2013

We stayed here for 6 nights at the privilege area. Was very average - You upgrade for the room size this is it. The pool was very stinky, didn't spend much time at all there. The room was excellent - very spacious. The buffet breakfast was disappointing and the 2 hour drinks each day was a let down. Front house staff were good but concierge was disappointing.
Would not stay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank reedz10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,392)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

667 - 673 of 1,393 reviews

Reviewed 13 November 2013

My wife and I arrived late at night and were really nicely welcomed by the receptionist that greeted us by our names before anything and made sure to take our luggages to the room. We spent 8 nights in a big room with the biggest closet we have ever seen in a hotel room. Staff are fantastic, really attentious and kind, breakfast good, dinner ok, location really good. Yes there are a few stairs but really, are you that lazy to make a complaint about it.. and If you really have a health problem, mention it and stay on the ground floor, simple. It was truely a gorgeous room made more special by the creative house keeping people, walking in to find roses, flowers and rose petals scattered around with a really nice and romantic bed. Very spacious bathroom.
The pool is cleaner than the tap water you guys drink in australia, pool bar with cocktails at around 6 dollars and cheaper in "happy hour" time. The fitness center has the same, if not better, equipments than top gyms in Australia. So, in a general review, the price you pay and what you get, ridiculous good. Totally recommend and we'll be back for sure.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Renato C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2013

Upon arrival at the Horizon we were upgraded to the privilege club wing. We had a spacious room and bathroom overlooking the large pool. As part of our upgrade we had free wifi and access to the privilege club pool. Wifi did not work in the room, but I was able to access wifi in the foyer.
The hotel is located up a rather steep hill about 150 metres from the beach. For those who might struggle with the walk, there is a free shuttle up and down the hill.
The hotel also provides a free shuttle into Patong and back 4 times a day. Otherwise, it's going to cost you 400 baht each way for the trip In a tuk tuk.
One of the best things about this property is the location. The hotel is on the border of Kata and Karon. Turn left at the beach towards plenty of dining options in Kata, or, turn right towards more casual dining options in Karon. There is a very good kiddie-themed restaurant (Dino's) if you take the left hand option. Outside this restaurant every night is a cute baby elephant and you can buy 20 Baht's worth of bananas to feed the elephant. Another good restaurant is Kampong Kata Hill.
Another really good thing about the Horizon is it's staff. The breakfast staff in particular are really friendly and courteous. There are many breakfast options catering to all tastes and cultures.
All on all, I thought the hotel was a good choice for couples of all ages and definitely families. The hotel was central to the action and we had a very relaxing time. Just one note, the beds are hard, but this is a feature of beds throughout Thailand.

Room Tip: Try and get into the privilege wing for a spacious room with big balcony and sun lounges.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kay2210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2013

Have now done 2 additional trips back to Phuket staying here (June 2012 and Sept 2013). Both times we were childless, and brought other adult friends to hang out with. We all upgraded to the Adults Only wing- BLISS!!! Got fat, tanned and lazy hanging around the pool and hogging the pool bar seats, LOL.

Love this place, love the staff, love the country. We WILL be baaaack!!

Room Tip: If you have the choice, upgrade to the Adults Only wing. It's quieter and so much more relaxing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kim L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2013

My husband and I just returned from Horizon Karon and had a wonderful time.Resort grounds were beautiful and staff very friendly.We decided not to pay extra for the privilege club wing and I was glad we didn't as our room was a good size,very clean and only a 15 second walk to pool which only had a few people in it every time.I can't understand the people who have said the beds were very hard,we thought they were very comfy.No problem to get a ride up or down the hill in the tuk tuk and great to have the pancake man at the bottom!
Previously we have always stayed in Patong but this location is better,plenty to do and family friendly.At bottom of hill left is Kata and right is Karon.Would stay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kylie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2013 via mobile

We were a family name of four staying 8 night's. We were probably spoilt by the accommodation we stayed in in Hong Kong as it was palatial in comparison to the Horizon. However we were pretty disappointed with the room and the small size of it. The housekeeping service was good however we had to ask several times for more than two beach towels. We found the "free wifi" advertising quite misleading. We had to pay $30 for a week of wifi and even then only one device can be logged on at a time. The pool was good although a few more pool toys would have been good. The pool bar prices were a little steep and the staff at all bars should be able to communicate the discounting system. The staff were quite friendly and helpful enough. The chefs at breakfast were the friendliest but even they couldn't improve on the food. Breakfast was fine but the evening buffet was pretty terrible. Handy for the evening we arrived (bbq'd night) but wish we had have avoided it for the other two nights we went. Felt sorry for the couple that entertained every night. They were friendly and quite good but must have gotten tired of the sound of there own voices! I think the shame about this place was the type of clientele it attracted . There were several people recovering from plastic surgery and a lot of aussies. I am an aussie but these were the type that made you cringe that you were from the same country. I wouldn't stay here again but having said that I wouldn't rushing back to phuket anytime soon anyway.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank Kmb831
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2013 via mobile

Just checked out today. Really good value hotel. They gave us a free upgrade to the privilege club which was great and they left in a birthday card and plate of fruit for my boyfriend. Really nice touch, they also gave us an oil burner and beach bag!!! Great location, close to beach and mini golf and nice restaurants. Decent breakfast. I'm just giving a 4 because our room had an adjoining door which wasn't locked and was just blocked by a chair. Not very good for security, also we could hear everything our neighbours did even when they weren't being loud. Bring earplugs and you'll be set!

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Puppychips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Karon hotels
1.7 mi away
Novotel Phuket Karon Beach Resort & Spa
0.3 mi away
Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa
1.8 mi away
Mandarava Resort and Spa
Mandarava Resort and Spa
#2 of 9 in Karon Beach
2,045 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Andaman Seaview Hotel
Andaman Seaview Hotel
#21 of 135 in Karon
1,257 reviews
0.2 mi away
Beyond Resort Karon
Beyond Resort Karon
#14 of 135 in Karon
1,165 reviews
1.4 mi away
Centara Karon Resort Phuket
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Horizon Karon Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Horizon Karon Beach Resort & Spa

Address: 3 Soi Karon, Soi 2 | Karon Beach, Karon, Phuket 83100, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Karon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Karon
#12 Spa Hotel in Karon
#18 Luxury Hotel in Karon
#19 Family Hotel in Karon
#23 Romantic Hotel in Karon
Price Range: £32 - £193 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Horizon Karon Beach Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Do you want to enjoy a luxurious, fabulous yet affordable vacation in Phuket by the beach? Indulge yourself in this beautiful, upscale resort with spa facilities at affordable prices. The resort is surrounded by nature and is spread over 16,000 sqm. of land and is like your own private paradise. Shops and restaurants are within easy walking distance, and its more relaxed and quiet setting is the preferred choice of families and couples. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Southall Travel, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotelopia, Agoda, Holiday Gems, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Horizon Karon Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Horizon Karon Beach Resort And Spa
Horizon Karon Beach Hotel Karon
Horizon Karon Beach Resort & Spa Phuket

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing