We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic value!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Horizon Karon Beach Resort & Spa
Ranked #24 of 132 Hotels in Karon
Certificate of Excellence
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fantastic value!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2014

We recently stayed 4 nights at the Horizon Karon Beach and booked one of their Club Rooms with pool view. located in their Privilege Club wing (no kids under 18). The Privilege Club offers inclusions such as a separate swimming pool (with swim-up bar), free Wi-Fi and access to the Club Lounge where you can get free coffee/tea all day, plus snacks and drinks between 12 - 2pm. Our room was huge, and the bathroom had a full-size deep bath, plus a balcony overlooking the pool area with 2 lounge chairs.

As we were travelling during low season, we got a fantastic rate that included free buffet breakfast (same as most hotels in Phuket), but also included a free buffet dinner. The menu had a different theme each night, and while some dishes were available each night, there was enough variety and plenty of options to choose from. Breakfast also offered a huge range of choice.

The staff are brilliant. All are super friendly, always greet you with a smile and only too happy to help.

The hotel is within easy walking distance to both Karon and Kata beaches and shops. Like other reviewers have mentioned, this hotel is at the top of a hill and the hotel itself has quite a lot of stairs. While it's a good way to work off breakfast, it might be a bit more difficult for those with mobility issues.

The hotel has a free shuttle service to it's sister hotel in Patong. These run at scheduled times and the Horizon Patong is located a short walking distance to Bangla Road and Phuket Square shopping precinct. Or you can take a tuk-tuk or taxi, which will cost around 400B or around AUD$12 each way.

We loved our stay at the Horizon Karon and hope to visit again!

Room Tip: If you manage it in your budget, and are not travelling with kids, go for a room in the Privilege Cl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank julianfs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,272 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    614
    437
    142
    47
    32
See reviews for
411
524
44
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (368)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

We just returned from 6 nights at Horizon and absolutely loved it. The resort was amazing, the rooms and facilities were great. We stayed in the Privilege Club wing of the resort so we had access to an adults only pool as well as the main pool. They also have complimentary snacks and drinks every day. The location of the resort is good, its close to the kata shops/restaurants but not too far from karon centre. The beach is about a 5 min walk straight down the hill. Walking back up the hill isn't too bad either but they provide a tuk tuk service to take you up and down the hill whenever you want. The buffet breakfast was good with a lot to choose from and the staff are really friendly and helpful. Overall the resort has an amazing and relaxing atmosphere and I would highly recommend it!

Room Tip: I would recommend the Privilege Club wing for travelers without children, its nice and quiet but ove...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Belinda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Launceston, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

We just returned from 6 wonderful nights at this resort, I travelled with my father 72 and Daughter 11yo. The resort itself was amazing beautifully presented gardens, pools, bars, rooms everything. The staff were all wonderful so friendly and helpful. Cannot fault it at all highly recommend a stay here.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank AliGum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

Had a flight & accommodation package for this trip at a great price.
Resort was very nice, staff were fantastic & facilities available were very good.
About a 15min drive out of Patong with plenty of taxis, tuk tuk's & free hotel shuttles on scheduled time frames back & forth. Resort located up high & the beach is located at the bottom of your street & across the road. At the bottom of your street with a small walk there is plenty of shopping & bars to chose from. So happy we stayed here & not in the heart of Patong as it is just a full on tourist area & does not stop with the hustle & bustle. We enjoyed our day & evening trips back & forth & then retired to the Tranquility of our sanctuary. There is even an adults pool that I think you paid extra for as part of your accommodation in another area & a children's pool area. The main pool we used had a few kids but nothing to bother you in the sense of being bombarded with screaming kids.The weather here in Thailand is not for the faint hearted, be warned it is hot & gets hot. So if you are looking for a holiday & cant handle the heat then this place is not for you. Great shopping and the food & drinks are so cheap & the Thai people are so hospitable & friendly. The markets tend to be a tad different as different nationalities run the markets & some not so friendly though can be quite pushy. Been told if you barter & you barter well that they will give you a different coloured plastic shopping bag to warn other market holders of your negotiation skills & vice versa. I used to bargain heaps so I could imagine what they said about me. Oh well as they say you snooze you lose! I used to always halve the price & if they said no, I would walk away & they would call you back & 9 times out of 10 you would get your price. At the resort we had all our meals included which was great, though in saying that breakfast would have been suffice. This way you can head out & enjoy the other food that they have to offer at prices like $5 Australian including a drink. Never eat off the street carts or at the markets as they are used to this food & we aren't. Would consider this resort or area again if we ever ventured back to this part of Thailand.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Jules442014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014

Pros:
1) It is located at the tail end of Karon beach, in between Karon & Kata beach. Once you come down from the hill, Karon beach is just right across the road, turn left and you are at Kata area. Easy access to the beach.
2) The room is clean & spacious for 2 people, 2 queen size beds.

Cons:
1) Too many stairs. The wing that i stayed at have no elevator. Be prepared for a lot of walking if you are stayin here. First, you have to walk uphill back to the hotel, if you stayed at the top floors, you have to walked few flights of stairs to get back to your room. It is quite tiring especially after a long day out.
2) Receptionists are not fluent in English. I have difficulty communicating with them. One staff in particular was very rude, her name is Dao. My flight was scheduled in early morning 5am, hence i need to check out at around 2am. I have informed Dao the day prior that i need someone to help us to bring down the luggage. She failed to tell me that there will only be 1 receptionist working at that hour, i.e. no bell boys. I only found out when i need to check out. My friends & I have to walk back to the hotel rooms & get back our luggage.

I will not return to this place.

Room Tip: Don't choose the higher floors as there are no elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank yannie7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glenmore Park, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2014

This was our first trip to Thailand with our 13 and 15 year old boys and we were a bit apprehensive. We very quickly settled into our comfortable 2 queen bed hotel room with plenty of room to move. The breakfast and dinner package included was of the highest quality. The facilities and grounds beautifully maintained. AND the staff? What can I say other than you couldn't hope to meet the nicest people. The restaurant staff & chefs superb, the housekeeping staff friendly and happy to please. I love Thailand and can't wait to return.

Room Tip: All rooms easily accessible to the pools however if u can't cope with stairs request a ground fl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank tracey b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sydney
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2014

I loved my stay at Horizon Karon Beach. Every single staff member was lovely and polite, the facilities were excellent, and having the Privilege Club was very handy. Location was fine although not overly central to the main part of Karon, but that was fine. The breakfasts and dinners included in my package were awesome - fresh food and good variety in the buffets. I'll definitely stay here again if in Phuket.

Room Tip: If you are not travelling with children then it's definitely worth the bit of extra spend to sta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank missvicsydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Karon hotels
1.7 mi away
Novotel Phuket Karon Beach Resort & Spa
1.8 mi away
Mandarava Resort and Spa
0.3 mi away
Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Andaman Seaview Hotel
Andaman Seaview Hotel
#18 of 132 in Karon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,185 reviews
0.2 mi away
Beyond Resort Karon
Beyond Resort Karon
#15 of 132 in Karon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,089 reviews
1.3 mi away
Centara Karon Resort Phuket
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Horizon Karon Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Horizon Karon Beach Resort & Spa

Property: Horizon Karon Beach Resort & Spa
Address: 3 Soi Karon, Soi 2 | Karon Beach, Karon, Phuket 83100, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Karon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Karon
#16 Spa Hotel in Karon
#19 Family Hotel in Karon
#22 Luxury Hotel in Karon
#23 Romantic Hotel in Karon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Horizon Karon Beach Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Do you want to enjoy a luxurious, fabulous yet affordable vacation in Phuket by the beach? Indulge yourself in this beautiful, upscale resort with spa facilities at affordable prices. The resort is surrounded by nature and is spread over 16,000 sqm. of land and is like your own private paradise. Shops and restaurants are within easy walking distance, and its more relaxed and quiet setting is the preferred choice of families and couples. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Hotel.de, Agoda, Booking.com, Ebookers, TravelUp, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Horizon Karon Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Horizon Karon Beach Resort And Spa
Horizon Karon Beach Hotel Karon
Horizon Karon Beach Resort & Spa Phuket

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing