We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definitely geared for Backpackers on a Budget”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
My Friend's House 1
Ranked #113 of 156 Karon B&B and Inns
Reviewed 6 October 2007

Clean rooms and friendly staff, but not our cup of tea. This type of guesthouse is definitely geared for backpackers who want cheap and clean.

Type Room we had: Seaview Double Room (800 Baht per night, low season)
Number of Nights we stayed: 2 (only because it was too wet outside to look for another place)

The Good:

- Great location basically across the street from Karon Beach and around the corner from Karon Village.
- Great view of ocean. We had a Seaview room with a balcony; only slightly obstructed by powerlines.
- Clean Rooms
- Good hot showers

The Not-So-Good:

- No safes in the room. This was NOT good as the next bullet will explain.
- Key drop-off not very secure at front desk. You basically just drop off and pick up your key in a basket in the lobby when you come and go from the guesthouse. If security is a concern, think twice about this place. Anyone can basically grab your key from the basket if they wanted to.
- Reception area did not look or feel like any hotel or guesthouse reception area, so we were a bit confused when we first arrived. It looked like someone's basement laundry room.
- Towels were worn and did not smell fresh.

  • Stayed: September 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank johnandbilldc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (21)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 9 of 21 reviews

Reviewed 4 November 2006

This hotel is small, run by a family and was newly rebuilt after the tsunami in 2004. We have taken a room with seaview which was quite spacious. Bathroom and room have been perfectly clean. Staff is extraordinary friendly, but will try to sell trips etc.. All rooms have aircondition - and you will need it, because the room have big windows.

The disadvantages of the rooms: quite noisy till 10 p.m. - if you want to sleep before, it would be rather impossible.
I would recommend this room for travelers, who want to get something that is good value for money. There are cheaper places at Karon beach too, but not so close to the beach as this hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Zuckerbussi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank annatabasco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Aksinya K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Stanislav K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Fjxrus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank svetljach0k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Karon hotels
0.5 mi away
Movenpick Resort & Spa Karon Beach Phuket
1.2 mi away
Jinta Andaman
Jinta Andaman
#13 of 53 in Kata Beach
175 reviews
1.9 mi away
Chanalai Garden Resort
Chanalai Garden Resort
#12 of 55 in Kata Beach
1,170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hilton Phuket Arcadia Resort & Spa
1.1 mi away
Mandarava Resort and Spa
Mandarava Resort and Spa
#2 of 10 in Karon Beach
2,085 reviews
0.7 mi away
Paradise Inn Phuket
Paradise Inn Phuket
#2 of 4 in Karon Beach
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to My Friend's House 1? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about My Friend's House 1

Address: 210/2 Karon Road | Karon Beach, Karon, Phuket 83100, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Karon
Hotel Style:
Ranked #113 of 156 B&Bs / Inns in Karon
Price Range: £45 - £81 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — My Friend's House 1 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
My Friend`s House 1 Hotel Karon
My Friend's House 1 Phuket/Karon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing