We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Hidden gem... right in front of your eyes!”
Review of Kata Villa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kata Villa
Ranked #4 of 113 Speciality Lodging in Karon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 August 2014

This place is what you are looking for!!!
Perfect location. It literally is right on the beach!
Totally relaxed atmosphere.
Friendly.. cheap.. delicious!

Outstanding value and service.
We always visit Kata Villa !!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Darren W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (265)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

97 - 103 of 265 reviews

Reviewed 21 August 2014 via mobile

Firstly, no idea why anyone would want to go to Phuket. It's a hole to say the least, but apparently Europeans love it and its dirty beaches! Anyway, we stayed here for one night. Pros: friendly staff, good value restaurant, nice pool. The cons: on first arrival it seemed very pleasant, however we soon discovered ants crawling all over the bed and on the menus they had left on the duvets. Secondly Mosquitos and moths were everywhere. I'm pretty sure they could have avoided this if they just close the doors when the room is not in use, but nope they leave them wide open during the day. The view is not exactly brilliant, and we opened the curtains in the morning to be greeted by topless builders, not exactly great for two girls alone. The place was fine for one night, but not sure I could take any more ants, let alone any more nights in Phuket.

Stayed: August 2014
1  Thank Jamontoast9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014

We stayed here for 2 weeks and couldn't have been happier. For a bargain price, we each had a private double room with an ensuite, air conditioning and wifi. There's a great pool and you're just over the road from the beach. The restaurant is also extremely cheap but the food is outstanding, all times of the day. The staff were also incredible.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Natalie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014 via mobile

Firstly, try and book through their website as rates are cheaper. We visited Early August and paid very little for out four night stay. The pool area is nice, with cold water available free throughout the day. The rooms are of decent size and are cleaned daily. First place we've stayed where towels are provided that are actually of good quality and you can take these to the beach! A great relief, especially for backpackers as most only brig those small micro fibre towels.

The adjacent restaurant is good value and the five item breakfast for 120 BAHT is a steal. However, never in my life have I been charged extra for a small portion of butter to to with my toast ! ?

Apart from that, it's a great place to stay and explore the surrounding beaches, streets and attractions!

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank ScarlettParkinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

We totally enjoy Kata Villa in Karon, travelling with a family, accommodation can be quite expensive if you stay in a good location, with Kata Villa they have 3 star accommodation but staying at an excellent location, with restaurants around you, and across the road is Karon Beach.There room rates are extremely cheap so we can easily afford two rooms.
Food in the restaurant is cheap and they now have an app so prices are even more affordable.
There is 1 bad point and there is a restaurant nearby, that has a loud band so music is loud till about 12 am, unfortunately, otherwise this is an excellent budget hotel.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
Thank OS_here_we_come
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2014

Second time at Kata Villa. The food is cheap and served at your table within 10 minutes, regardless how busy they are. The most appealing thing for me was the friendly, honest staff. I knew that if I did forget to secure something in the safe, it would be in the same spot when I arrived back to the room. These girls work long hours and always have a smile.

However, I stayed for 10 nights but checked out early. The room smelt and was moldy. There was Rat feces in the shower recess. When I pointed this out to one of the house maids, they wiped it down. Day two, three etc more rat feces so I asked one of the girls where this could be coming from and she pointed towards to the toilet. Not very comforting to say the least.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank currahee1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2014

This was our third time that we have stayed at Kata Villa and like the previous two occasions we thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

Kata Villa is great for families or couples and we can highly recommend this hotel to other travelers who are looking for a clean, comfortable and secure hotel close to Karon beach.

The hotel is great value for money and as a repeat customer it is like our home away from home.

As always the staff were very welcoming and will go out of their way to make your stay comfortable and extremely relaxing.

We look forward to returning to Kata Villa again in the near future.

Room Tip: We prefer the upstairs rooms away from the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JPGB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Karon hotels
0.2 mi away
Andaman Seaview Hotel
Andaman Seaview Hotel
#22 of 135 in Karon
1,257 reviews
1.2 mi away
Chanalai Garden Resort
Chanalai Garden Resort
#12 of 56 in Kata Beach
1,138 reviews
0.3 mi away
Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket
0.0 mi away
Beyond Resort Karon
Beyond Resort Karon
#14 of 135 in Karon
1,165 reviews
1.0 mi away
Kata Beach Resort and Spa
Kata Beach Resort and Spa
#27 of 56 in Kata Beach
1,564 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kata Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kata Villa

Address: 100 Karon Rd, Karon, Phuket 83100, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Karon
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 113 Speciality Lodging in Karon
Price Range: £11 - £40 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kata Villa is a small hotel pearl with 20 double rooms, tropical garden, swimming pool, bar and restaurant. With only 20 rooms, Kata Villa creates the homely atmosphere that make you feel just like staying at a good friend's place. Kata Villa is totally renovated with new swimming pool, bar & restaurant. Our Thai staff is well trained, speaks English, will take care of your daily needs and make sure you have a pleasant holiday with us. The owners have one simple policy to make our guest happy: Never stop improving and always give our very best! Kata Villa is set around a tropical garden, swimming pool, bar and restaurant. One of Kata Villas biggest advantages is its location 20 meters from Karon Beach and only 10 min. walk from Kata Beach. Kata Villa is located in the the village of Kata but right in front of the curved southern end of Karon Beach. Kata Villa have 20 double rooms all with garden terrace or balcony, bathroom with hot and cold water, hair dryer, Air-Con, TV with 40 Channels, In-Room Safe, coffee and tea making facilities, minibar. The swimming pool, bar & restaurant is open every day from early morning til late night. One of Phuket's most famous restaurants is Kata Villa Steak & Seafood Restaurant. The restaurant and bar is open every day from 7 am to 11pm. The bar is set around the open kitchen. Have a drink in the bar and follow the cook preparing your food. Enjoy your Breakfast, Lunch or Dinner by the Swimming Pool or at the Terrace overlooking the tropical garden. Kata Villa Restaurant is well known in Phuket for the Island's best prices. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Kata Villa Hotel Karon
Kata Villa Phuket/Karon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing