We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worst hotel ever- spoiled our holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Secret Cliff Resort
Ranked #102 of 132 Hotels in Karon
Helsinki
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Worst hotel ever- spoiled our holiday”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014

The hotel manager acts iresresponsible! She doesn't provide us service we payed for (breakfast) and wouldn't reply when we asked what is the problem! We lost our money but she just sayed that we have to double-pay for the breakfast!! Don't spoil your holiday and waste money in this hotel! I warned you.. :(

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Stenbb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

566 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    135
    207
    86
    54
    84
See reviews for
64
231
33
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2014

I submitted my review on booking.com before I went back and compared the room I had to the room I was supposed to have.

At the time my actual room did have a superb view and I mentioned as such in my review. What I failed to realise was that the room I had booked on Booking.com was a MUCH nicer room in their photos than the one I ended up with.

So I will address that misrepresentation here, as it became a sore point this trip with some hotels NOT delivering what they promised, and others over-delivering.

Apart from the above, whatever I said on booking.com remains true. Despite the million dollar view (from my less than promised million dollar room) I can't recommend this place. A) because what you book and what you get are not the same I now know. but mainly because of....
B) the room I had was so DAMN NOISY. It's a concrete building, and the main restaurant is housed above the rooms, so every night starting around 5 and going thru til midnite you hear the sound of chairs and tables being dragged on bare concrete, and that goes STRAIGHT to your room like fingernails on a blackboard. Then it starts again at breakfast.

Also, and to be fair I knew this up front, the hotel is not in easy walking distance to anywhere, and so you pay higher than average prices for what they offer on the menu, and you cant just slip down to Patong or Karon for a taste of the nightlife, unless you are prepared to get ripped off, and I do mean ripped off, by the taxi mafia in both directions. ie Karon is a 40min walk down hill, its a 5 minute drive back up the same hill, for which they want 250baht. 350 if you want to go Patong, which is a little further away.

But if, hypothetically, you had wanted a cheap room with a million dollar view and its your honeymoon, and you have no intention of leaving the room for 3 days, and you have a bag full of pre bought food and drink, then you might find this is the best place you've ever been. So again perhaps to be fair (or fairer than they deserve), the prices on the food when taken into account the price of the room (I paid $49 per night) the value isn't too bad. But what is unforgiveable is the noise, and the fact that they don't give you the room you see on line. That's dishonest, and if I can lose the hotel just one client by telling the truth, that they lie, then I'll rest easier.

I specifically booked a room called the "Deluxe double with Ocean View" on booking.com. So compare the photos of that room with my actual room photo attached and you'll see what I mean

Room Tip: Location in so far as its on a cliff delivering awesome views, gets it a 4. On the other hand, those...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank blisteringbarnacles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2014

The hotel is nicely located on a hillside with nice sea views. It is a bit secluded from the road noise and from the hustle and bustle of the city.
Our room was on the very top of the resort on a very steep road. We have been using our scooters to move within the compound and to go to the breakfast room/restaurant that is located on the other side of the main road. Some days, traffic was so intense that it was difficult to cross the road to go to breakfast.
Rooms are O.K. but very basic. It was relatively clean even if the garden/access roads were not well taken care of.
The worst part of the hotel is the staff who is having a terrible attitude. Almost rude at times and totally not reflecting the Thai legendary hospitality. Receptionists seemed overwhelmed and were simply incompetents. Restaurant staff was just O.K. as long as you do not ask them anything.
Own transportation mean is necessary if you stay at Secret Cliff.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Antoine F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2014

We spent 7 nights @ this hotel in early March and had a very relaxing break. The food was beautiful, although a little pricey but with magnificent views over Karon Bay, it was well worth it.
They have a pianist play most nights while having dinner, which, whilst taking in the night lights of Karon and the fishing boats out working, is a great way to finish off the day.
A shuttle leaves after breakfast for both Karon and Patong which is a simple 5 to 7 minute ride.
The staff were fantastic, as most Thai people are and always with that loveable Thai smile.
Rooms were a bit small where we stayed, but with a big balcony looking out over the Andaman Sea, why would you want to stay in your room?.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the Restaurant side of the road as there are two sides of the highway used for the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SSS1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phuket Town
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2014

helpful friendly staff...great location ...rooms clean and secure..highly recommend a visit..far enough away from the hussle and bussle of patong but still only a 5 minute ride in..great buffett breakfast..cool aircdfon in room.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Robert C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami Fla.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2014

We spent 37 days in Room 129, the room with the spectacular view!!
Our room was perfect, clean, comfortable, big, with all the necessary conveniences.
We found the hotel to be in a great and convenient location...between Karon Beach and Patong Beach. It is not within walking distance of either place...,Tuk Tuk fare about 300 Baht.
The staff was very respectful, friendly and always willing to help.
The Breakfast area has a magnificent view. The breakfast offered a good variety and was well presented.
When booking this hotel, we would suggest you book at the resort.

Room Tip: The rooms with the sea views are great! Rooms 120-129.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SmokingSam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wichita, Kansas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2014

We loved this hotel. WE had a sea view hotel and the view was incredible. The room was huge!!! Breakfast was great and the staff was very friendly and helpful. The only drawback to this hotel was the stairs but when you are on a hillside, that is what you get. We would stay here again. We liked the location because it was right inbetween the two great beaches and shopping. Unfortunately, you had to get a tuk tuk or taxi to go anywhere because of the traffic. However, the staff always got us rides when needed and there was no problem getting a tuk tuk back to the hotel.

Room Tip: The rooms on the lower side of the hotel are better than on the upper side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CarryFArris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Karon hotels
3.3 mi away
The Yama Hotel Phuket
The Yama Hotel Phuket
#9 of 132 in Karon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 561 reviews
0.9 mi away
Chanalai Hillside Resort
3.4 mi away
Chanalai Garden Resort
Chanalai Garden Resort
#13 of 56 in Kata Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 969 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Novotel Phuket Karon Beach Resort & Spa
2.5 mi away
CC's Hideaway
CC's Hideaway
#5 of 132 in Karon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 743 reviews
1.2 mi away
Karon Phunaka Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Secret Cliff Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Secret Cliff Resort

Property: Secret Cliff Resort
Address: 707 Patak Rd. | Karon Cliff, Karon, Phuket 83100, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Karon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#48 Spa Hotel in Karon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Secret Cliff Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 139
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotelopia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Secret Cliff Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Secret Cliff Resort & Restaurant Hotel Karon
Secret Cliff Resort And Restaurant
Secret Cliff Hotel
Secret Cliff Resort Phuket/Karon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing