We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“terribly”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Secret Cliff Resort
Ranked #111 of 135 Hotels in Karon
Reviewed 3 August 2014

far from bars and shops; noisy, very small pool (2x4 m.), do not have a beach, the restaurant is expensive, very long made ​​cheek in (1 h), expensive rent bikes and only with a deposit of passport, bad housekeeping

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Aran N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (595)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

176 - 182 of 595 reviews

Reviewed 26 July 2014

This place is peaceful and quiet. You can sit at your balcony and listen to the waves. The rooms are big and nice decorated. Normally I do not use the pool but this one is lovely and has an amazing view there are many sun beds. Golf cars can bring you around the hotel. There is a shuttle bus which can bring you the beach. I cannot recognize what people write about the staff, I think they are nice and helpful. Look forward to eat breakfast our other meals at the restaurant; there is an amazing view. If you want it quiet and amazing view but do not care to stay away from city, Secret Cliff Resort is a perfect place.
 

Room Tip: Take the sae view rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Kirsten1964Denmark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2014 via mobile

The resort itself is nice. Clean rooms and friendly staff.
There are a few negatives but nothing too bad.
The resort is split in 2 by the very busy main road but the resort offers a golf buggy to safely transport you between the 2 sides so no real drama.
The resort itself is on a cliff with beautiful views towards karon but this means that a taxi is needed to get to karon or patong.
The restaurant staff were super friendly and got the chefs to cook us meals 'Thai style and spicy'. The food was great but about 3x pricier than you can find in the towns. But after paying for taxi works out the same in the end.
Pool area in top part of resort small which in peak season could be a problem. The beaches in karon and patong are not nice compared to other islands
Keep an eye on your mini bar usage as I am sure we were overcharged and also make sure all towels are replaced each day as one of our group was nearly charged for a missing towel at check out. I think this is a usual kind of Thai scam but just be aware. We were told the maid would have to pay 1500baht for the 'missing/not replaced' towel and told she only makes 400b a day. Guilt trip to pay up.
There's better and worse places in Phuket but for a week relaxing all was good for us

Stayed: July 2014
1  Thank yellowboxfish10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Positives: Nice hotel lobby and nice restaurant location (views) but expensive for a meal (650thb+ for a main)

NEGATIVES:
Terrible location to stay - 300 baht to get a tuk tuk to patong or karon each way and it's too far to walk.
Terrible shuttle bus service(goes once a day) and only picks up from patong once at 5pm.
Deluxe room with a sea view has a tiny glimpse of ocean and mostly looks at a terracotta roof. Queen size bed is 2 single beds pushed together.
Very small pool.

Overall: There are much better hotels in Patong and Karon at a similar price range. Do not recommend staying here.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Calthoms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Stayed for 3 nights in May 2014 in a twin with sea view. We booked a garden view, but were upgraded when we arrived!

The resort is on a cliff overlooking Karon Beach and the Andaman Sea. It was gorgeous! (The cliff-side location means there are lots of stairs and hills though, so not great for some, but we found it fine)

We had a lovely room. Huge deck outside, spacious bathroom (no shower screen though), lots of natural light and very comfy beds!

We ordered room service a couple of times, and it was always lovely. Not hugely expensive for a 4 star resort, which was a nice surprise!

There is a free shuttle from the hotel to Patong Beach or Karon Beach everyday, and they'll pick you up from Patong in the afternoon but not from Karon. A tuk tuk from patong to the resort is around 150baht.

The pool is tiny and always shaded, due to the foliage! Nowhere to sunbathe really, but with the free shuttle to the beaches nearby, it's not a huge problem.

Gorgeous views from the restaurant, the reception area is lovely and the staff were very helpful - if a little slow to check you out!

Would stay again!! :)

Room Tip: Book a sea view if you can - absolutely amazing views!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pinkgem_gem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

There is a secret cliff VILLA and a RESORT. They are sister resorts but I stayed in the Villa. Reception was good, clean and airy but lots of bugs which is normal considering its a resort. Villa itself was fine but there were really TONNES of insects and lizards each night. Villa/resort is just opposite each other and it is VERY accessible because it is right in the middle of Karon and Patong Beach.

Staff were really friendly. Good swimming pools (at least to us). They were also thoughtful enough to have umbrellas and a bag with towels for us to bring out and use in case we are going island hopping or relaxing at the beach.

Main thing: room itself seemed rundown with the toilet roll holder breaking and the sink almost breaking apart and also the faulty balcony door. However, good service and accessibility made up for it. Also, it was really clean, the floors/beds and all so it was good enough for us :)

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank millydred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014

We arrived here frm Krabi early evening on 12th may & on th same night our room in Secret Cliff Villa hd to b changed as th AC & geyser wasnt workin even aftr the hotel electrician tried to fix it. We were then “so called” upgraded to another room but the amenities in both the rooms & also the room size were no different. Now to our bad luck the AC in the new room was also not cooling sufficiently. The electrician again came n tried to fix it but of no use.
May in Phuket is quite hot n humid & in this we hd to sleep that night without a proper AC. Not to forget we had an infant with us who also cldnt hv a peaceful sleep.

Next day when we tried to report this to the front officer manager, she took us to the room, stood just below th AC & said that it is working properly n on being asked upon how they are going to compensate the previous night's bad experience, said that they hv already upgraded us to a better room. I was little shocked by her rude n uncurtious behaviour.

The 2nd night also became quite unbearable as th AC was still functioning the same way.
Frustrated i called the reception n they send mr. Nadeem n ms. Anna to check the matter. Mr nadeem hd also accompanied the front office manager when she hd come to check th AC in th morning.
To my utter surprise, they first suggested to change the room once again to which i got very angry. They even acknowledged infront of the electrician that th AC is faulty in the room. Then they offered us a brand new table fan to use alongside th AC in the room n appologised for all the inconvenience that we had to bear.

This is a very scenic property but i was very annoyed by the attitude of the front office manager n the way she handled my issue. On top she wasnt even cooperative to let us check out 2-3 hours after the scheduled chk out time as i hd demanded this to compensate fr the inconveniences we had.
The rest of the staffs were quite good n helful especially someone like mr. Nadeem, anna, tak tak n th rest.

When i hd booked this hotel i did see a lot of reviews talking about poor service standards of this place & inspite my wife's suggesstion to cancel this i still went ahead. But while staying there i realised that all these are so true.
I strongly recomend the management to relook at their hotel's service standards n do something to improve it else dissatisfied customers who will never want to return to you.

Room Tip: Villas on the upper deck hv very nice view of the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SujoyGhosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Karon hotels
3.3 mi away
The Yama Hotel Phuket
The Yama Hotel Phuket
#9 of 135 in Karon
632 reviews
0.9 mi away
Chanalai Hillside Resort
3.4 mi away
Chanalai Garden Resort
Chanalai Garden Resort
#12 of 56 in Kata Beach
1,143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Novotel Phuket Karon Beach Resort & Spa
1.8 mi away
Princess Seaview Resort & Spa
3.1 mi away
Chanalai Romantica Resort
Chanalai Romantica Resort
#5 of 56 in Kata Beach
772 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Secret Cliff Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Secret Cliff Resort

Address: 707 Patak Rd. | Karon Cliff, Karon, Phuket 83100, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Karon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#50 Spa Hotel in Karon
#65 Luxury Hotel in Karon
Price Range: £23 - £169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Secret Cliff Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 139
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotelopia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Secret Cliff Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Secret Cliff Resort & Restaurant Hotel Karon
Secret Cliff Resort And Restaurant
Secret Cliff Hotel
Secret Cliff Resort Phuket/Karon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing