We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place to stay and staff give good advice”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Pineapple Guesthouse
Ranked #5 of 151 Karon B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 October 2013

We found The. pineapple Guesthouse to be in a good location (excellent for the price), The room and communal areas were clean and tidy. Breakfast was good and was served in good time. Steve was extremely helpful with everything we asked for and gave us ideas on things to do. Loads of stuff to borrow for free.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GUESStheGUEST
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (239)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

111 - 117 of 239 reviews

Reviewed 3 September 2013

Pineapple Guesthouse was perfect for what we needed in Phuket. We stayed in the 10 person dorm which was very basic but it's really close to Karon Beach and a short tuktuk away from Patong where the night life is. The Thai couple who work there are both so helpful and the lady speaks English really well and helped us out with booking buses, etc. They also have the cutest kid! There was an outside area where you could drink and it was so easy to meet people, the owners didn't mind us bringing our own beer there and even gave us coolers so they wouldn't get warm! No air-conditioning but it's so cheap and definitely really good value for money, would recommend.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Izzy313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PineapplePhuket, Owner at Pineapple Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 17 December 2013

Thanks for the great review.

You'll be pleased to hear that the dorm now has aircon for use at night. We don't open it during the day to keep our costs, and therefore the guests' costs, down.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2013

I booked 2 nights here in the 10 room dorm while meeting up with my friends in Phuket. However I did not end up sleeping here because my friends asked me to stay with them in their villa. I felt comfortable leaving my luggage there and they give you a locker with a padlock. I thought that the room and bathroom was very clean with lots of fans to keep you cool. The wi-fi was also awesome. its a family owned business and when I arrived they were eating dinner and then gave me a ride to meet my friends free of charge. I also liked the area. I think if your on a budget then this is defiantly great value!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank crystalkacowicz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2013

I stayed for a month at this place while I was deciding where I wanted to live in Phuket. The guesthouse is family run and the staff are very friendly and helpful. The rooms are large and comfortable and the wifi is excellent. Overall it is excellent value. They have excellent English breakfasts if you're missing home, and also good Thai food. The highly rated but great value Mama Noi restaurant is practically next door also.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mat1lda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2013 via mobile

Enjoyed our stay, first hostel on our SEA trip. Friendly, helpful, English speaking staff. Good restaurant next door, and amazing $1 pad Thai around the corner (in lonely planet book).
500m walk to the beach. 15 min walk to Kata beach. Organized our transportation from door to Ko phi phi.

10 person bunk bed dorm. Each bed with fan (even top bunks), outlet and light.
All good.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GraduateTraveler2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2013 via mobile

I had a great stay at Pineapple! It's nicely located 5 min from the beach and <5 min from everything else. I stayed in the dorm which had everything that I wanted, from tons of fans to a locker, towel and a good bathroom. It's owned by Steve and Lek, who are both very friendly and helpful. When I was here the prices were a bit lower than normally because of low season. I paid 175 THB for the dorm, which is a lot cheaper than anything else I found. You get a fast wifi connection, a computer free to use for guests, and they also have snorkel and other beach stuff to borrow for free. For the people with a higher budget they also have more luxury rooms. Recommendation for everybody who doesn't want to stay in one of the extremely upscale, expensive Phuket resorts.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leonsmi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2013

We were looking for the cheapest most acceptable place to stay when we booked this place so we weren't looking for much. Looking from the outside that was exactly what we got.
We were however pleasantly surprised once we got in the room. The room was Huge! there was an en suite, fridge, TV, wardrobe, dressing table, drawers, a huge window to outside, A SAFE and air con too.

The location was ideal for us, we weren't in to the loud party scene which is why we chose to stay in Karon. Pineapple was out of the way a little bit more but tucked in just behind the main road so it was there if you wanted it but you could shut yourself away in peace at the same time.

The guys there were fantastic, really helpful. If you need to hire a scooter then do it from them, everyone requires a passport to do it so if you're going to leave yours then it might as well be where you're staying. The bikes are really well looked after too, we hired one for 2 days and drove the hell out of it and it never struggled, never failed.

Just remember to be safe and don't hire one with no experience, the roads take more concentration than back home and the medical bills are insane. I have both a bike license and I got my IDP (international driving permit) before leaving home and we've still been put in some tricky situations by other drivers.

They heard we had booked a trip with a company and explained that they could get the same trip and save us 1000 baht if we wanted, no pressure just there's the offer, if you want it come and see us, if not no worries. Such a friendly approach.

If you're going to Phuket and Don't want to be in the hectic area, stay here. It's that simple.

I hate giving excellent scores all round but I really can't fault anything.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ryan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Karon hotels
0.3 mi away
Andaman Seaview Hotel
Andaman Seaview Hotel
#21 of 135 in Karon
1,258 reviews
0.2 mi away
Phuket Island View
Phuket Island View
#72 of 135 in Karon
445 reviews
1.5 mi away
Chanalai Garden Resort
Chanalai Garden Resort
#12 of 56 in Kata Beach
1,145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Thavorn Palm Beach Resort
0.3 mi away
Hilton Phuket Arcadia Resort & Spa
0.2 mi away
Baan Sailom Hotel
Baan Sailom Hotel
#8 of 151 in Karon
105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pineapple Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pineapple Guesthouse

Address: 291 / 4 Patak Road | Karon Plaza, Karon, Phuket 83100, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Karon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 151 B&Bs / Inns in Karon
Price Range: £11 - £37 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Pineapple Guesthouse 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pineapple Guesthouse caters to visitors from all over the world. Just four minutes walk from Karon Beach, Pineapple offers a variety of accommodation from superior king bedded rooms with balconies, cheaper king, twin and triple rooms at the back of the guesthouse, one fan room and a ten-bed mixed dorm. Rooms all have air-conditioning (except the one fan room, which is also not en suite), cable TV, large fridge, safe and hot shower. There's free wifi throughout plus a computer available for guests.We can arrange airport pickups, assist with tours and onward travel.We try to offer the best value for money. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Pineapple Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pineapple Guesthouse Hotel Karon
Pineapple Guesthouse Phuket/Karon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing