We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible”
Review of Katina Hotel

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Katina Hotel
Ranked #75 of 93 Hotels in Phuket Town
Reviewed 4 December 2011

First impressions were ok, the lobby looked lovely and modern but that's where it ends. There were stains on the carpets in the hallway and in the bedroom. Stains on my bed sheets and hairs that were not mine! I turned the tap on to wash my hands and the water was brown!

Went to the resturant and after four attempts to order something off the menu I gave up. They have a huge menu but during my stay they seem to not have anything! Decided to walk and find a shop to buy food, foolish mistake! This hotel is in the middle of nowhere! Several blisters later the only redeeming feature is the AC..

For the price it is terrible!

AVOID!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Kbleep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (6)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Reviewed 26 July 2011

This is quite a big hotel with over 200 rooms and lots of facilities such as swimming pool, fitness centre and large restaurant. I had a room on the 12th floor with a fantastic view looking out over the southern part of Phuket. The room was very well decorated with nice furniture and a huge bed and the bathroom was very clean with bathtub and a very powerful hot shower. However, I got an upgrade and not all the rooms may be of the same standard. The room had free Wifi and a TV with over 70 channels including several in English and more in other foreign languages. The hotel staff were very friendly and room service was excellent. Except for the front desk, most of the staff did not speak much English though not a problem for me as I can speak Thai. The breakfast is usually buffet style with a good choice of Western and Thai food though because it was low season when I stayed, sometimes there was no buffet and it was necessary to order food with the restaurant staff. The main drawback for this hotel is the location which is in a quiet local area of Phuket Town and quite far from almost anything that would be of interest to most tourists. No problem if you have a car or motorbike but otherwise taxi costs are very expensive. Overall, a very pleasant place to stay.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank borderlinevictim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2009

I had stayed at the hotel of a total of 9 days. The service from the hotel Manager and staff was excellent. They always asked if there was anything they could help me with and that my stay was comfortable. They were very considered and friendly and very professional.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kohphuket112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2009

Because of the protests shutting down the airport my partner and I were stranded on our honeymoon in Phuket with no place to stay and thus ended up here for free. they were very nice and I like the fact that I am likely the first person to ever use the gym but unless you are really out of options and stuck in phuket city I would not plan on spending a night here!

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Wegman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor China Member
Reviewed 8 July 2013
Google Translation

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank A TripAdvisor China Member
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Phuket Town hotels
0 mi away
The Pago Design Hotel Phuket
0 mi away
The Westin Siray Bay Resort & Spa Phuket
0 mi away
Villa Zolitude Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Crystal Wild Resort Panwa Phuket
0 mi away
The Wide Condotel : Phuket
The Wide Condotel : Phuket
#9 of 9 in Talat Nuea
107 reviews
0 mi away
Blu Monkey Hub and Hotel Phuket
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Katina Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Katina Hotel

Address: 5/61 Sakdidaj Rd, Phuket Town, Phuket 83000, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Phuket Town
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#18 Luxury Hotel in Phuket Town
Hotel Class:4 star — Katina Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK) and Evoline ltd so you can book your Katina Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Katina Hotel Phuket/Phuket Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing