We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT SERVICE”
Review of Rome Place Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Rome Place Hotel
Ranked #53 of 90 Hotels in Phuket Town
Reviewed 9 May 2013

we stayed here for a few nights before we went home. When we first arrived the staff were very friendly and willing to do anything for you as well as set up any activities. we had 3 days all planned within an hour. They did not push anything on to us but suggested a lot of things we may be interested. They werent just salesmen! The room although had basic facilities was amazing. Room service was hard to order though as the person on the phone did not have the best english... other than that great stay!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hester g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (106)
There are newer reviews for Rome Place Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

22 - 28 of 106 reviews

Reviewed 12 February 2013

As the other reviews may have mentioned here, this is not the best place to stay when traveling to Phuket Town. However, for a young couple traveling around Thailand and looking for one night's stay before heading out to the islands the following morning, it was simply enough. If you are looking to stay longer, there are certainly better places. However, if you do decide to stay here, a few things you MUST do to avoid any miscommunications before your arrival.

You MUST:
- mention when reserving that you want a room high from the street levels to avoid the noise below, non-smoking room, air-conditioned & with the type of bed(s) you would like.

I had specified when making the reservation and our room did not smell of cigarette smoke and we had an air conditioner that kept us cool during the night.

As for what the other reviews might say, the bed sheets were not the cleanest but not the dirtiest for us either. The bathroom is tiny, but again, this is just good enough for a one night's stay especially if you arrive late like we did into Phuket Town.

Tip: if you are travelling from the airport or from other parts of Phuket, have a print-out of the directions to the place. Our taxi driver had no idea how to get there and had to pull over on the side of the road to buy credit for his mobile to call the hotel for directions. I doubt the print-out will help you get there, as most taxi drivers in this town know how to get anywhere other than the airport. Also, from the airport to the hotel, we caught a taxi-meter and paid 400THB, which could have possibly been negotiable.

Room Tip: High up from the streets below & specify in your booking non-smoking, air condition & bed ty...
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KGarcia0313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2013

Do not come here!! All they want is you're money. Room absolutely stunk of smoke, came out smelling like an ash tray. Geko in room climbing up walls, shower did not work. Generally dirty and sheets were not clean.

Upon arrival we were told that the room we had booked had no air con, which was not stated on hostel world.com. Receptionist told us that it would be 100 baht extra for air con, we accepted. She then said because we had booked online it was an extra 200. We didn't want to pay knowing that the normal room rate was less. We argued for over an hour and finally she gave us the room for 700 baht with air con.

We wanted to book a boat trip to aonang in Krabi, which she was helpful with. She gave us a leaflet and we said we would be back with money to pay for it. We returned to find a different man on reception. He changed the price of the boat trip and said it was 1000. After asking why it had changed he stated that this was 'his own price' and that if we wanted the other price we should have booked with the other lady. He was rude and refused to tell us his name.

We decided to wait till the morning to book the ferry over to aonang rather than do it through this man. Only to find out the the 1 30 boat had been cancelled and the next ferry was 8 30 the next day. Refused to stay here another night!! So having to move hotels as couldn't bare another night there!!

In general, Phuket town is not a nice place to stay. Only one shopping mall and not many nice places to eat.

DO NOT COME HERE!!!!! Terrible

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lovelock15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2013

This place - though cheap - is despicable as are the staff here! After an hour debate with the receptionist over who's fault it was there was no air con in our room - the hotels or the online booking company - we were taken to a room that stunk of stale cigarette smoke, had no hot water, no toilet paper and gekko's climbing the walls. As we were only staying for one night we thought it smart to put it to one side and leave first thing on a ferry we had been told earlier was 700bht. It was only when we returned to the reception desk we realised the receptionist had changed, as had his price for the trip too 1000bht. He stated it was his price and if we wanted it for 700bht we should of taken up the other receptionists proposal. His attitude was absolutely disgusting. The most annoying thing for us was that after looking in the hotel guide the same trip was 700bht set price and he was conning other customers out of their money. We took the guide to him and he responded by saying "that's what I've been charging every other customer" awful. We asked his name which he refused to give to us as we wished to speak to the manager about him. Went down to see the manager first thing but he/she was nowhere to be seen, apparently on holiday.

To put a long story short, pay the extra money. I promise you, it will be worth it.. I certainly won't make the same mistake twice.

P.S I'm positive they run a brothel on the second floor, girls with numbers on them. This is not a Thai massage parlour.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joshhhill10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2012

The rooms are clean and comfortable for the price. I didn't see any bugs except tiny ants in the room. They have a little snack bar in the lobby which is nice for breakfast, drinks, decent thai food. Convenience store across the street for snacks and toiletries. One very nice perk is that they can do your laundry for cheap (Bht 50-70 per kilo), they collect in the morning and return it washed and ironed the same afternoon. at every other hotel in Bangkok, Phuket and Phi Phi I have seen it no earlier than next day return. The front desk sells ferry tickets to Phi Phi but they are expensive. Better to walk around and buy from one of the many travel agents on the streets.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jaxzibit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2012 via mobile

Where do we start :
Located in the middle of nowhere in a dodgy street.
We got the room quite fast. Little did we know that :
1. It was dirty
2. The bathroom ( if you can call it one ) was disgusting black painted. The sink - oh got the sink - just look at the photo. It says it all.
3. AC. - noisy like a tractor
4 even with all the lights on - the room is still dark. ( had to use flash to take a photo of the sink ).
5. Water heater not working.
6. There was no toilet paper or any other bathroom facilities.
7. No one knows what's going on on the second floor.
Conclusion - you make it - I'm just giving facts.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gILisHo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2012

close to the centre of but in very quiet side street. Clean with reasonable amenities. Good for overnight stay or for exploring beautiful under rated Phuket town, close to main bus station and easy walking to the old section of town

Room Tip: higher floors better with great views
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank arco27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Phuket Town hotels
0.6 mi away
Chinotel Phuket
Chinotel Phuket
#12 of 90 in Phuket Town
192 reviews
0.4 mi away
PHUKET TOWN INN
PHUKET TOWN INN
#6 of 9 in Talat Yai
10 reviews
0.4 mi away
Twin Inn Hotel
Twin Inn Hotel
#60 of 90 in Phuket Town
86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
B2 Phuket Boutique & Budget Hotel
0.9 mi away
S.B. Living Place
S.B. Living Place
#66 of 90 in Phuket Town
15 reviews
0.0 mi away
Phuket Crystal Inn
Phuket Crystal Inn
#35 of 90 in Phuket Town
71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rome Place Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rome Place Hotel

Address: 23/8 Soi Hub-Ek, Phuket Road | Taladyai, Muang Phuket, Phuket Town, Phuket 83000, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Phuket Town
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #53 of 90 Hotels in Phuket Town
Price Range: £8 - £15 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Rome Place Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rome Place Hotel is located in the heart of Phuket City. Close to Shopping Center and Marker just 5-10 minutes walk and also close to Rassada Pier just 10 minutes drive. Phuket Bay or SapanHin is 1 kilometre away. Go to beaches is also just 20-30 minutes drive. But guests can walk to Ranong Road to get on local bus (30-40 baht per person) to varieities of beaches. It leave every 20 minutes. We offer Massage on 2nd floor which is very cheap (2 hours traditional massage 320 baht), accommodation and restaurant mainly serve Thai Food. Free internet at the Lobby area and also in the room with a 100 baht per 24 hours. 30 minutes drive from Phuket International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Southall Travel, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Agoda, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Rome Place Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rome Place Hotel Phuket/Phuket Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing