We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Returning to past glories perhaps”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
I Pavilion Phuket Hotel
Ranked #64 of 93 Hotels in Phuket Town
Reviewed 7 January 2013

The I-Pavillion was undergoing massive reconstruction work while we were there which meant half of many floors were out of commission altogether during our stay. When the work is finished the hotel has the makings of a first class facility, which it obviously was when it was first opened during the seventies. As many reviewers have pointed out the rooms are perhaps a little tired now but that didn’t prevent them being excellent value and providing a generally very pleasant stay.

The rooms are generally huge with massive picture windows, although the picture tends to be either urban or of the big hill: Khao Rang opposite. Incidentally Khao Rang is worth the walk (take water because it’s hot work) to the top where there is a much better viewpoint of the whole of Phuket town and Chalong Bay and its islands in the distance. The walk takes maybe 30 minutes from the hotel uphill and a fair bit less coming down!.

The surrounding area was criticised by many reviews we read but once you get used to it and find out where things are, it is perfectly adequate and only a ten to 15 minute walk from the night market, where there is an excellent and, by Phuket’s slightly inflated standards, good restaurant with very friendly staff. The restaurant opens all day.

The airport bus will drop you off right outside the I-Pavilion as the route passes the hotel and, it is also interesting to note, acts as a public bus, picking up and setting down at many other places along the route, which can be useful once you get to know the area or if you wish to move to near to one of the more quiet northern beaches.

Morning breakfast in the hotel restaurant is varied and well prepared. We thoroughly enjoyed it on each of the three days we were there.

Internet wifi access is unfortunately not available in the rooms on the eighth floor but is perfectly OK in the lobby, albeit there are only a couple of electrical sockets there.

Some people complained that the staff spoke little English but in my own country, if I go to a hotel in Scarborough, I’m lucky if they all speak English there and certainly none of them speak Thai, so the lesson here is… if you want fluent English spoken by the staff, go on holiday to the USA, England, Australasia or northern Europe, NOT South East Asia.

I think a similar thing applies to standards; if you expect western five star standards, go to western five star hotels … and gauge how many times more it will cost you. Thailand is great value for money, as is most of Asia, and any differences in standards should be regarded as part of the wonderful education that visiting this part of the world provides. The politeness friendliness of the people… even those trying to rip you (as a foreigner) off… is worth so much more than what it costs you to be there. So many parts of the west could learn so much from the attitude of people in Thailand.

Back to the hotel and the fifth floor outdoor swimming pool is currently surrounded by bags of plaster and bare concrete due to the restoration but is still AMAZINGLY clean and offers another unique view of Phuket town. Because it is built on the sunny side and surrounded by the concrete of the hotel it is also very warm and worth a dip, albeit it will obviously be a more pleasant dip… indeed fabulous… when building work has finished.

Overall the hotel is in transition. It was once the grandest place in town, it’s still excellent value for money and, when refurbishment is complete, will again probably be the best value place in town.

We would certainly stay there again, even during reconstruction.

Room Tip: The high rooms have great picture window views but are a long way up if there's a power cut (we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank keithmcghie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (63)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

19 - 25 of 63 reviews

Reviewed 14 August 2012

A taxi driver named Ng recommended this hotel to me. It's lucky he knew where it was because a lot of other taxi drivers couldn't find it. Although the hotel has a fairly drab lobby, the stairway to the dining area reflected the glorious past of this hotel. The food, Thai based was very good. My room included breakfast and a buffet dinner is 180 baht.
Built on grand portions, some of the rooms are extra large. My room measured 8 metres by 6 metres. After I checked in, I had to ask for the manager to fix the air conditioning, the shower tap and the wifi. Yes this hotel is tired and a bit run down but eventually everything got going and it was a quiet and very relaxing place to stay. The views are superb.
It's about one kilometre to the major shopping centre so it a good idea to get the mobile number of a good taxi driver so you can ring. I eventually found a very pleasant motorcycle taxi man who was very obligating. It's about 50 baht to go to Robinson Mall etc.
For me, I would stay again if I needed to chill out and relax indoors for a few days.

Room Tip: The larger room are not much dearer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank YakNgi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2012

This should be a good hotel but there is no effort put into it. The basic building is great but I don't think any maintenance has been done on it since it has been built. We got it at a good price and it is Tsunami safe because of it's location which might explain it's almost 99% Japanese occupancy.

Positives:
Spacious rooms, nice furniture, good drapes, good air-conditioning, good housekeeping, nice views, cheap pricing, tsunami safe.
There is Wi-fi in the lobby (can't get in rooms) and the very old TV did have a large selection of cable channels.

Negatives:
Taxi drivers have no idea where it is, no-one understands the address and it is 28kms (about an hour drive) from the airport.
There are no basic shops within reasonable walking distance of the hotel.
Almost none of the staff speak any English at all.
The common areas are dirty and the windows look as if they have never been cleaned.
The rooms smell musty, much of the decor is tired and there are a host of minor repair issues too long to list but it started with one of the numbers missing off the room's entrance door and continued from there.
Free breakfast was very basic and ok if you like cold food (i.e. eggs etc)

If you look at the pictures of this hotel it doesn't look too bad and it should be great but the reality is it is under-resourced, poorly maintained and not professionally managed.
(ie the pool looks great in the pictures but the reality is it is dirty, poorly maintained and very uninviting).

We like to be a bit adventurous and take a chance on different places a bit out of the mainstream but this experience will make us a little more cautious next time.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MrPeterMrsKaren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2012

The Hotel is in Phuket Town en there is just nothing to do man.
I wanted to get something to eat but couldnt found a seven eleven or just a road restaurant or something.
Everything was closed.

When i came inside the hotel its just smelled bad!
The lobby was dirty, the windows were dirty and the people didnt know anything about a restaurent or a club.

The elevator was so dirty that i just didnt want to touch the buttons.
The room was bad and smelled bad again.
The view was nice because i was 11th floor but still, who cares about the view if everything is dirty.

THERE IS NO WIFI!!!
I left there very fast!
Didnt want to stay not one more minute or second.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Ribas123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2012

The hotel is big but the room bit old.... And wanted to find food is hard....I have to walk around 20minutes then only find seveneleven... The price is value for money but if u come for holiday should go to karon patong or Kara.... Should not phuket town.... U will regret.....

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nap t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2012

It was probably our fault for not reading the small print, but we booked a very large family suite through Late Rooms thinking we'd live it up for a night. What we ended up with was a penthouse suite complete with two bathrooms, two TVs, a dressing room, lounge and kitchen - but only ONE bed! The accommodation was nice, but just a little bit wierd! On the plus side, the staff were lovely and the buffet breakfast wonderful. The hotel made a good stop-over between Phi Phi and the airport and is probably pretty cheap by Phuket standards. Its also well located for the old town.

Room Tip: By all means go for the luxury suite, but ask for an extra bed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank James W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2010

Very poor hotel, this ruined our trip to phuket and if it wasnt for where we ended up staying we would have made a formal complaint. we waited an hour in reception before our room was ready even though we were told we could check in at 1pm. we arrived at 3pm. our room was very dusty, the mirror was broken, the bathroom was green and nasty, there were no towels, no soap, the room stank of cigarettes .... need i go on.

Stay away from this terrible place.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chapterknight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Phuket Town hotels
0 mi away
S.B. Living Place
S.B. Living Place
#69 of 93 in Phuket Town
18 reviews
0 mi away
The Tint At Phuket Town
The Tint At Phuket Town
#4 of 93 in Phuket Town
411 reviews
0 mi away
Baan Suwantawe
Baan Suwantawe
#5 of 93 in Phuket Town
349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Boat Lagoon Resort, Phuket
0 mi away
Palm Garden Resort Phuket
0 mi away
Chinotel Phuket
Chinotel Phuket
#15 of 93 in Phuket Town
194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to I Pavilion Phuket Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about I Pavilion Phuket Hotel

Address: 133 Satoon Road, Phuket Town, Phuket 83000, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Phuket Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #64 of 93 Hotels in Phuket Town
Price Range: £19 - £114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — I Pavilion Phuket Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly renovated hotel in the heart of Phuket Town. Convenient for transfer to-from Phi Phi Island and other excursion. Great location for business trips. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, HotelsClick and Evoline ltd so you can book your I Pavilion Phuket Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
I Pavilion Phuket Hotel Phuket Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing