We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good one”
Review of Sunwest GuestHouse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sunwest GuestHouse
Ranked #97 of 186 Phuket Town B&B and Inns
Poland
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Good one”
Reviewed 30 October 2010

Sunwest Guesthouse is great place to stay in Phuket. Located in the Phuket city, calm and quiet part of the island (which can be disadvangage if you're looking for partying). It's close to the main bus stop, and the bus from the airport stop. Many food stands around. The dorm rooms are big and clean, there are enough bathrooms for everyone, staff is great, polite and helpful - (they can arrange one day trips for very attractive prices). Definitelly recomended one!

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DashPL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2
    13
    1
    2
    1
See reviews for
1
4
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2010

The building was fine, the rooms were clean and semi comfortable. No aircon, it's dark, and the wifi is very slow. My Macbook could not keep a connection.

The staff spoke almost no English, not even enough to run the place without a lot of confusion. I found myself frustrated to the point of losing my patience, and my friend had to step in and continue the conversation.

The hotel is located in a very dismal part of Phuket. We couldn't even find a pub to watch the football matches in.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kaitiaki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Phuket Town hotels

Gladesville, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
465 reviews
150 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,809 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2010

he Sunwest Guesthouse is a fairly newish building in good clean order which mainly served foreigners from what I saw. At 700 THB for a twin share it is very good value for cheapos & traveler's.

The simple rooms were tiled & included a room safe, mini fridge, air-con, hot water, cable TV on a 51cm unit & had electronic keys & locks. Also as an added bonus was free Wi-Fi, some soft drinks & beer can also be purchased from the fridge at the reception desk. It pretty much covers the gauntlet of desired basics that would make my stay comfortable minus the free breakfast.

This little hotel also features a truly memorable 2 person closet elevator that services the 5 floors pretty well. It would be great sharing the elevator with several beautiful Swedish women if it ever got stuck..I would imagine.

The hotel is situated in a quiet street & just in front of the huge sky scraping Metropole Hotel if looking towards the tall telecommunications hill & is within reasonable walking distance to nearby restaurants & cafes near the city centre. There is a 24 hour 7-Eleven mini-mart about 10 mins walk around the corner past the girlie bar.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank The_Pale_Ridah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chengdu, China
Level 6 Contributor
1,505 reviews
360 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2,288 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2010

The Sunwest is located in the centre of Phuket town, close to the bus station.

This hotel is almost brand new, and the owners have taken the trouble to provide a lot of valuable add on services. These include free internet access and a kitchen for the use of guests.

The rooms all come with air-con, cable tv and a fridge. They are compact but not pokey. At 700 baht, they are alsogood value in expensive Phuket. All in all, the Sunwest is a good choice for budget travellers who don't want to give up all the comforts.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Raymond W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakarta
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed 20 January 2010

The guesthouse is a few minutes walk away from the bus terminal in Phuket Town. Looks new and modern. We stayed 1 night in a twin room with attached bathroom and air conditioning. Clean. Cable tv and free wireless internet. They have electronic key access and had a charming small lift that you have to slide the doors open manually to use. Suprising for a budget guesthouse. Informative people at the reception desk. We stayed here for 1 night because we wanted to catch the 7 pm bus to Bangkok after a day tour to Phi-phi Islands. The location is ok. But not if you're looking to stay on the beach or near nightlife.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chatoyant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Phuket Town hotels
0.1 mi away
Ekkamon Mansion
Ekkamon Mansion
#147 of 219 in Phuket Town
28 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Westin Siray Bay Resort & Spa Phuket
0.6 mi away
Phuket Backpacker
Phuket Backpacker
#49 of 219 in Phuket Town
178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Blu Monkey Hub and Hotel Phuket
2.2 mi away
The Pago Design Hotel Phuket
2.7 mi away
Sansuko Ville Bungalow Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunwest GuestHouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunwest GuestHouse

Property: Sunwest GuestHouse
Address: Phang-Nga Soi 2, Phuket Town, Phuket, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Phuket Town
Hotel Style:
Ranked #97 of 186 B&Bs / Inns in Phuket Town
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Sunwest GuestHouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunwest GuestHouse Phuket/Phuket Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing