We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weird toilet design and creepy room”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Phuket OldTown Hostel
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Weird toilet design and creepy room”
Reviewed 29 June 2011

Me and my friends booked this hostel online for 4nights stay which requires us to pay via paypal with additional charges.

The floor and walls are made up of wood, so it makes lots of noises and little sound-filter. The corridor and stairs are not properly lighted and the switches are not found anywhere. Is not convenient and easy to walk in d dark, and the stairs are pretty painful to walk on due to the hard and sharp edges on the floor surface.

The toilet is in the room, separated by 2 pieces of wood, no proper ventilation, leaving 2 big gaps between room space and toilet, so whatever smell from the toilet will reach to the whole room. The toilet also has no proper draining system, the water will stuck in toilet and flood the whole area.

Besides the toilet, the room is quite creepy, very dim light and we all hear weird noises at night, like breathing sound from the pathway to bed, but disappear after turning light on, and also knocking on wooden wall sound when there are supposedly no one is in the other side.

The room do not provide drinking water, but do provide kitchen to boil your own water and do not provide drinking water for you to refill. Housekeeping need to be requested or it will not be done.

The staffs are helpful and nice anyway. Is a budget-wise place to stay, do not put high expectation on it though.

Room Tip: Get room at corner to minimize the noises
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mephala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sunanta, Manager at Phuket OldTown Hostel, responded to this review, 28 July 2011
Thank you for your valuable feedback and sorry for your negative impression. Here are our answers. :-)
1. We do provide drinking water. Perhaps, our staff forgot that when you checked in. I'm sorry on their behalf and will put a sign at the counter.

2. We'll make sure that enough lights are on at night for our guests.

3. We'll do something about the stairs so that they won't be sharp.

4. Our walls and bahtrooms are good enough to use, though there could still be some little problems.
We're expanding our guesthouse and the new rooms will have thicker walls and better bathrooms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    9
    12
    14
    7
    3
See reviews for
3
12
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2011

Like a previous reviewer, we really enjoyed the location in "old town" Phuket - close to markets, local buses, good restaurants, etc. The hostel is very clean and airy, free breakfast and free wifi in cafe area (reasonable rates for PCs there too). Staff were really helpful and friendly and we got a good price on a local tour through them as well. I highly recommend this hostel.
The only "downside" for me was the fact that our room opened on to the hallway and we were disturbed at night by noise from other guests. It wasn't a really big problem, however, as most guests were considerate and kept their voices down. All in all, a really nice, friendly and clean hostel.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank greymousie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phuket O, Manager at Phuket OldTown Hostel, responded to this review, 11 January 2013
Thank you very much for your review. We're glad that you've had a good experience here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 May 2010

Hostel is clean with breakfast included, reasonably priced ( double: fan room - 450baht, a/c room 550baht )unfortunately most of rooms have windows facing corridor… anyway you can always check room first before you pay so it is up to you; I stayed there only for one night so I didn’t mind.
There is only one thing I want to warn you: DO NOT BUY any tickets through the reception! (They sell transfer tickets to other island and trips I think). We bought from them transfer: Phuket to Koh Lanta -taxi plus FERRY for 700 Baht each person which we thought was a fair price. Unfortunately our journey turned out to be a long way in a minivan with poor a/c. The average price for transfer Phuket-Koh Lanta by minivan is 250-300 Baht so you can see that we have been seriously overcharged and really disappointed as we wasted most of our day in a van. On Koh-Lanta they left us in the middle of nowhere, they did that obviously for the reason - there were overpriced taxis and tuk-tuks already waiting for you!
Anyway, enjoy your stay in Thailand and remember you will be ripped-off many times so do not let this spoil your holidays :)

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tortuga779
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sunanta, Manager at Phuket OldTown Hostel, responded to this review, 2 July 2010
Making understanding

According to Tortuga77 ' s comment about the overcharging of the trip to Lanta Island. We would like to expain that we get the net price at 550 Baht from the ferry owner. Not 250-300 baht as you understand. Please check to get a correct information. We really concern about your comment. Because to be honest to our customers is very important policy of our hostel.

Thank you for your visit and your comment
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2010

A Phuket Town backpacker / budget no-frills bargain at 400 B a night for a fan room, bathroom and breakfast. The young women who work there are fun and friendly. It's nice and new so beds are great and everything is fresh and clean.

I loved the location as the Old Town is an up and coming old Chinese area with fantastic listed buildings and arty / trendy bars. It's near to local (very reasonably priced) restaurants as well as western style ones. I thought it a much nicer place to stay than the overly developed and in my opinion ugly beach resort areas - there is a bus nearby to the resort beaches for 40 B if you want to go for the day.

I found the local people very friendly and got taken out to dinner twice by locals I met during my stay.

The town has a great weekend night market - not very touristy so cheap. I got an hour foot and shoulder massage for 150 B.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank firexhorse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phuket O, Manager at Phuket OldTown Hostel, responded to this review, 11 January 2013
Thank you very much for your review. We're glad that you've had a good vacation here. :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Phuket Town
0.1 mi away
Chino Town Gallery Guesthouse
0.1 mi away
Ai Phuket Hostel
Ai Phuket Hostel
#6 of 213 in Phuket Town
111 reviews
0.2 mi away
Phuket 346
Phuket 346
#642 of 1,013 in Phuket
44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Fulfill Phuket Hostel
Fulfill Phuket Hostel
#10 of 213 in Phuket Town
67 reviews
0.1 mi away
Gotum Hostel & Restaurant
Gotum Hostel & Restaurant
#34 of 213 in Phuket Town
49 reviews
0.2 mi away
99 Oldtown Boutique Guesthouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Phuket OldTown Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phuket OldTown Hostel

Property: Phuket OldTown Hostel
Address: 42 Krabi Rd, Phuket Town, Phuket 83000, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Phuket Town
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #86 of 213 Speciality Lodging in Phuket Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Phuket OldTown Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Booking.com and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Phuket OldTown Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Phuket OldTown Hostel Phuket Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing