We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good location in between Rawai and Nai Harn”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Happy Elephant Resort
Hanoi
Level Contributor
89 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“A good location in between Rawai and Nai Harn”
Reviewed 16 July 2013

Firstly, its nowhere near Phuket town so I don't know why its listed as such. Kitchenette consists of 2 hot rings and a microwave and a huge fridge and you have to pay for electric and that costs about 10USD per week if you run the AC a bit. The pool is long enough to do laps in and plenty of restaurants and bars are close at hand. The staff were very helpful and I had no complaints and will for sure stay again. In Low season (June /July) I suggest you shop around for the best rate as the hotel site was the most expensive of the few available so its worth negotiating but in high season forget it. All in all very good indeed.

Room Tip: Pool side Villas are the best for o noise, the rooms next to the road are to be avoided.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TeacherHanoi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    31
    18
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
8
18
15
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, UK
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2013

I stayed here while training Muay Thai on the same road, 2 mins away. Value for money is excellent. Very nice rooms, clean and comfortable with a balcony, wifi and cable tv. It can be a little noisy at night as everyone parks there scooters outside the rooms. Earplugs will sort this out though!

It is a small hotel so it seems very private and everyone seemed quite friendly. I got laundry here done here too which was a godsend after 2 weeks on the move, training every day! I was training at Rawaii Muay Thai which is now closed but new owners are taking over. Rawaii itself has moved to Khao Lak.

It is close to cheap cafes, shops and bars but a 200bht taxi ride from Rawaii beach so most people get a scooter.

Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank paulriggers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2013

We stayed at the Happy Elephant in November last year. The staff were really friendly and helped with our onward travel arrangements.

The room was nice and clean. It is a bit far from the beach but the pool is a nice alternative in the heat.

We met some really nice people whilst staying here.

Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surbiton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2013

I stayed here while i was training at Rawai Muay Thai for about a month.

It is very convenient for the gym - has a lovely little restaurant opposite, and a great pool.

It is small enough that even when it is full, it is not too busy. The people were really friendly, and the rooms really clean and perfect for what I wanted.

I do not have a bad word to say about this place at all, and will definitely be returning this year.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andrew W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2013

This is a great place to make as your home base for exploring SE Asia. Andrea has knowledge of the other countries in the area. He will give you advice on your travels. The staff are very friendly and Ten always does her best to accommodate you. If you need something just ask and more often than not you will be taken care of. They have saved me more than once!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suffolk
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2012

My boyfriend and I just returned from a 10 night stay at the Happy Elephant. Andrea and his wife made us feel at home and all staff were friendly. Andrea upgraded our room for free as the holiday company we booked with had arranged for us to stay in a small room, not really comfortable for 2 to stay in for the duration of our holiday. Andrea also sorted out several tours and trips for us at a good rate, including Phi Phi Islands, elephant trekking and Fantasea show.
The hotel has free wi-fi, which we never had any problems accessing. It is only a small hotel, very clean and extremely well looked after with a lovely atmosphere. There is a good sized pool and we never had to fight for a sun bed. We ate breakfast at the hotel a few times. The food was good and a very good price.
We were very well looked after at the Happy Elephant and they couldn't do enough for us. It really was a pleasure staying at the Happy Elephant and I would recommend it to anyone of any age.
There is a lovely restaurant opposite the hotel, the Cashew Nut, which we visited on many occasions, also a taxi service and small shop where you can buy food and other essentials. Andrea's dog, Kapow, was absolutely adorable and very friendly, although he won't bug you if don't talk to him.
I honestly don't have a bad word to say about the Happy Elephant and I would definitely visit again.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ali1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2012

My partner and I dropped in a week before to see whether there was any availability as we were about to embark on 6 weeks of Muay Thai Boxing (just 5 minutes walk away at Rawai Muay Thai). We were met by a lovely lady who assisted us with our query and we booked on the spot. We also met the owner Andre and his wife and felt that we had made a good choice. Initially we had booked a one bedroom apt and we were very happy with how clean and modern the apt was. The only point with this apt was it was across from reception and since we were having naps between training we did find it a little noisy and open to seeing in and outside.
However due to a leaky pipe in the ceiling (as the owners have just renovated the upstairs apts) we had to move from our apt to a pool side villa. Andre and his staff were excellent and very apologetic for the inconvenience but we were very pleased with the result as we ended up in a big and more private accommodation. Andre also said that we didn’t have to move back when the apt was fixed as he wanted us to be comfortable.
Along with the lovely assistant at reception, Andre, his wife and little their little boy Chico we also became very friendly with the other staff who cleaned our villa and the surrounding property. This property is well looked after and the staff are friendly and fun to talk to albeit in broken Thai/English. The rooms are clean and everyday and they even wash up your dishes! We found that 90% of the people that were staying here at the time were also training at Muay Thai schools in the area, this created a peaceful and relaxed atmosphere as we all were training pretty hard and needed to rest at times.
The other side of staying at this property was that we became very close to the most loveliest puppies, Kapow (Andre’s pup) and Stella (Kapow's sister and Andre’s brother’s pup) these two kept us entertained and it actually felt like we were home. There are also two young kittens “Black” and “Grey” that like a snuggle! However, if you don't like animals they won't bother you.
The location of the property is excellent if you’re training at Rawai , its also only a 10 minute scooter ride to some of the most wonderful beaches Nai Harn was my favorite. There are supermarkets, restaurants (Cashew Nut is across the road and the staff there are wonderful), massages and a hairdresser all within close range of the resort and the pool is wonderful. Our time at the Happy Elephant sadly had to end but we’re planning on visiting again next year, we miss everyone. Andre and his team were always willing to assist, nothing was ever a problem. Total customer service, with a smile!

Room Tip: If you want total peace and quiet I would choose one of the villas by the pool. Most of the apts are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sm40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Phuket Town
1.2 mi away
Navatara Phuket Resort
0.4 mi away
Phu NaNa Boutique Hotel
0.7 mi away
Thai Palace Resort
Thai Palace Resort
#13 of 42 in Rawai
114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Vijitt Resort Phuket
1.0 mi away
Rawai Palm Beach Resort
1.2 mi away
Sunsuri Phuket
Sunsuri Phuket
#2 of 6 in Nai Harn
837 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Happy Elephant Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Happy Elephant Resort

Property: The Happy Elephant Resort
Address: 88/17 Moo 7, T. Rawai, A. Muang, Phuket Town, Phuket 83100, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Phuket Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 210 Speciality Lodging in Phuket Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Happy Elephant Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The resort is located between Nai-Harn Beach and Rawai Beach. Swimming pool close to villa pool side. It is a nice place and quiet. So absolutely private. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Happy Elephant Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Happy Elephant Resort Phuket/Phuket Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing