We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do not expect too much”
Review of Rattana Mansion

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Rattana Mansion
Ranked #130 of 181 Phuket Town B&B and Inns
Warsaw, Poland
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Do not expect too much”
Reviewed 24 July 2013

We stayed in Rattana Mansion one night. We took a superior room. It was quite big. There was no carpet so you need to have sleepers. The receptionists spoke poor English but possible to communicate.The location was good, close to the old town and bus station. There was free wifi available but not working in our room (the signal was too weak). Durians and mangosteens not allowed in this hotel. Anyway, the price was low and only 2 Euros difference when you wish to upgrate the room.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank othergaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2
    22
    27
    10
    15
See reviews for
10
22
11
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Ko Phi Phi Don, Thailand
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2013

Currently travelling round Thailand on our round the world expedition. We stayed at Rattana Mansion for 600baht a night (£12) for an aircon double room (stayed for 2 nights due to late transfers). The bathroom was a bit dated but the shower was nice and big. Overall a big room and bathroom and a HUGE bed. Unfortunately our view from the window was of other rooms A/C units. The curtains were pretty enough and dense to keep the light out. I woke up at 11am because the curtains stopped that much light! I thought the sun was just rising!

I mention a great stop over mainly because there wasn't much in Phuket town compared to places like Bangkok or Chiang Mai, and the beach was a taxi ride away. The only hidden gem we found here was next door the was an entrance to a multistory shopping center (mainly clothes) which wasted a couple hours. Not sure i agree with other "terrible" reviews, the staff were great (not great English) and the food was tasty (bit too spicy). Very clean hotel all round.

Room Tip: Room 204 faces the A/C units.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sam E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 8 May 2013

Booked with Booking.Com and payment taken by hotel asked for extra day and they demanded payment for the whole lot again avoid at all costs !! The mansion is obsessed with making money at every oppportunity when entering the room you are presented with a menu giving you a detailed break down of how much you will have to pay in the event of anything being damaged incredibly this includes soap dishes cutlery etc etc ..

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trevster1161
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Phuket Town hotels

Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2013 via mobile

If you have to spend time in Phuket Town, this hotel is great for a quick stop over. Staff are friendly, rooms are clean and location is central. We stayed 2 nights and had no complaints! The clothes market is just across the road, restaurants are easy to find and there is a conscience start just a few doors away from the entrance. The reception lady is great - made us laugh for ages! Really pleasant stay.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katelighton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2013

We stayed two nights at the Rattana Mansion. The staff was very helpful, the room large and the AC just powerful enough. Our room was reasonably priced and a step above the usual backpacker guest house. There was a mix of Thais and Foreigners staying at the Mansion.

Pluses: Helpful staff, great morning food (traditional Phuket Thai style) just across the street, wonderful steet food (seafood) at the evening market just south of the hotel, everything you could possibly need is located close to the Mansion (just ask...)

Minuses: Parking was difficult, but thanks to the staff managable. Three flights of stairs with no elevator to get to our room. Finding the place can be a challenge as this part of Phuket has streets running every which way...

Room Tip: Try to get a room away from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank himalayafan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
essex
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2013

Lovely hotel, big clean rooms. comfy bed. onsite resturant with actually reasonably priced food and yummy!
The staff were the best we've had as backpackers in a while, so helpful and full of information. Didnt feel pushed into anything and they advised us to take local bus to patong instead of payong a fortune on taxis etc.
Hotel was right it the middle of town, however i didnt feel there was much to see. A few galleries, street markets, clock tower - thats all. But worth a stop if u have time.
Would definatly stay here again!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sam12370
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2013

WE stayed at this hotel in Jan 2013 for one night. That was the longest night of my life.
We booked this hotel last moment and only wanted a clean place to sleep. We are not a couple who will stay at 5star. We stay at average hotels, backpackers and hostels.
The agent said it is a place to sleep and it is clean.
We arrived at about 2am. We walked up with all our luggage (no lifts).
We were not expecting anything fancy for the price we paid. Just a clean place.
My husband opened the door and walked in and walked straight out. The smell was excruciating.
He asked me not to go in. I still did and I was shocked. It was the smell of pee or something worse.
We went back downstairs and the lady walked back with us to check. She said "oh!!!the smell is from the cleaning agent that we use". WOW!!!!she should start using that in her home and family will be running for their life.
She offered us another room. Better than the previous one but the bathroom was full of mold. The tiles were black with mold instead of white.
The aircon was making huge rattling noise so we had to switch that off to sleep.
Everything was dirty, shabby. The corridor was full of old furniture.

We somehow managed to stay the night. I could not wait to get out.
In the morning instead of refunding our money (because the second room was cheaper then the one we booked originally), they offered us tea, coffee and toast at their restaurant. We politely declined and walked out.

Caution:
The photos shown on tripadvisor are very old and the hotel do not look anywhere near to this.

Not recommended. Stay at a high end backpacker or hostel.

Room Tip: Do not go by the photos uploaded. They are very old. The hotel is a hole.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sudatravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Phuket Town hotels
1.0 mi away
S.B. Living Place
S.B. Living Place
#49 of 89 in Phuket Town
14 reviews
0.1 mi away
Phuket Crystal Inn
Phuket Crystal Inn
#33 of 89 in Phuket Town
70 reviews
0.5 mi away
Bhukitta Hotel & Spa
Bhukitta Hotel & Spa
#56 of 89 in Phuket Town
94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Royal Phuket City Hotel
Royal Phuket City Hotel
#66 of 89 in Phuket Town
231 reviews
0.0 mi away
Phaithong Sotel Resort
Phaithong Sotel Resort
#2 of 45 in Chalong
25 reviews
0.1 mi away
Phuket Center Apartment
Phuket Center Apartment
#46 of 214 in Phuket Town
77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rattana Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rattana Mansion

Property: Rattana Mansion
Address: 18 Chanajaroen Road | A.Muang, Phuket Town, Phuket 83000, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Phuket Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #130 of 181 B&Bs / Inns in Phuket Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Rattana Mansion 3.5*
Number of rooms: 63
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Travel Republic (UK), Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Rattana Mansion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rattana Mansion Hotel Phuket Town
Rattana Mansion Phuket/Phuket Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing