We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sleep Sheep Phuket Hostel
Reviewed 10 November 2013

The hostel itself is nice. The staff are very rude when we asked to move from a double to a triple we were moved into a room with an air mattress on the floor as the third bed, crammed into the corner between the dbl and the wall. I went to ask the 'rude' receptionist if it was possible to have a room with a bed and she said 'if you don't like it go somewhere else'.... also we arrived for breakfast at 10.10am it finishes at 10am. And we were told we couldn't eat even though in the tiny kitchen the bread/cereal were still sitting on the counters !!!

Room Tip: Dont get a triple! !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joanne E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (38)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

13 - 19 of 38 reviews

Reviewed 10 November 2013

We arrived late having not made a prior reservation.

Night staff couldn't speak any English and didn't forewarn us that breakfast was included in the price (so we missed it) and morning staff made no effort to be polite, help with enquiries.

Dorms are 350pp, but have no mosquito nets and open windows so room was buzzing with insects, no bedding (you'll need your own), no AC and shared washroom down the corridor.

For a private double bedroom the price was 860Bath! Our room was damp and musty, had no window, ripped bedding and a TV that couldn't get reception. We also had 3 separate locks on our door, so not sure what that says about security overall. Generally it was clean, but stairwells and reception look like an untidy children's nursery - covered in laundry, toys, boxes etc.

As travellers, we'd be fine with all of the above, but the price for what was on offer is extortionate. The next night, we booked into a very smart hotel 6 minutes away, for the same price with AC, continental breakfast, free minibar, view of the city etc etc.

Look around and try to book somewhere else in advance is my advice.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LettsieLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2013

I stayed a couple of days as high season prices in Patong along with the price of food in that area would have hit my budget before heading to Ko Phi Phi / Ko Lanta (there is VERY GOOD food in old town Phuket). This place filled up on the last night I was there, but guests don't stay long. Otherwise, the hostel would probably be much quieter than one in Patong where you would have drunk people coming and going at all hours of the night and its a good place to stay if you have an early/late bus/boat to take to avoid a 500B cab ride from the beach (the public bus is just 25B to 40B to the major beaches) or a higher price ticket b/c you need a pickup from that area.

There is a laundry machine, wifi and drinking water available. Be aware that "breakfast" (toast), coffee and tea are free in the morning, but not free after that (so grab an extra tea bag or coffee pounce at breakfast for latter in the afternoon!)

Note: There is a good kopitan down the street from the hotel in the heart of old town Phuket where you can get a good Thai meal for as low as 60B or 70B. In addition, the tourism office is around the corner.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EmergingMarketSkptc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SleepSheepPhuket, Manager at Sleep Sheep Phuket Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2014

Thank you for you review

But you should not suggested other to steal food LOL

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2013

Last minute booking, and Phuket town would not have been the first choice of destinations, but it was a decent night's sleep in a nice clean room. There is absolutely nothing to do or see near the hostel, so I don't rate the location! Not even a restaurant or bar (or 7eleven even) open past 9pm (well not that we found anyway).
We arrived late so nobody was on reception, it took us a while to figure out how to get into our room, but after calling the manager we learned that the keys were left in reception for us.
The room are small and cramped, but cosy clean and nicely decorated. There are enough lockers in the room for one each for your belongings, and the shared bathrooms were small but clean.
We only stayed one night, and moved on to Patong, but I would recommend as a quick stopover if you need to go to the port for Koh Phi Phi.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LouN85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2013

My partner and I stayed here 2 nights to bookend a trip we booked to Koh PhiPhi Island. We were originally going to stay at a bungalow place in one of the quieter beaches of Phuket, but it was booked and so we decided to stay in Phuket Town instead because it was cheaper. The place was clean and well maintained. We booked a private room which was spacious and good value for the price. However, the bed was quite hard and you could feel the springs, so we slept just okay. The aircon unit made quite a bit of noise so we would run it until bed time. It was a nice, spacious wet bathroom and we had a nice dresser as well. Were able to use the internet fine. Breakfast was included and it was basic, cereal, toast, and coffee, but it was sufficient. We really only stayed here to sleep as we had the day-long trip in between but it perfectly suited us for that purpose. There are some great, cheap restaurants close by and it's a10 minute walk to the public bus station.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KrisLizzy03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2013 via mobile

I booked this place in advance and was arriving after a late flight so it was about 1am we arrived. Luckily everything went smoothly checking in at that time. The room was clean but boiling hot, way hotter than outside and dogs were barking outside all night so earplugs are a must.
The real trouble started in the morning when we wanted to check out. The staff member was late arriving so we rang her which seemed to annoy her as when she got there we said hello to which she grunted and scowled at us. We paid immediately and she slammed the change down on the desk. We then asked her to call us a taxi to the pier and she made it known that we were causing her quite an inconvenience with all her huffing and puffing. To be fair, we needed one quickly to go to the pier, but I had mentioned it when booking so they could have organised it earlier.
All in all, I'd advise you to go to another place that knows how to treat its customers, as this place certainly doesn't!

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AjarnHayley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2013 via mobile

Nice and clean . this was my second time but this time I found the rooms a bit dusty. But always like it here. Friendly receptionist. Nothing much to do around the hotel. Food is a bit problem as there are no good restaurant.
Free fast WiFi. Overall value for money.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sunny747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Phuket Town hotels
2.1 mi away
The Pago Design Hotel Phuket
2.9 mi away
The Westin Siray Bay Resort & Spa Phuket
4.2 mi away
Villa Zolitude Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Crystal Wild Resort Panwa Phuket
1.2 mi away
The Wide Condotel : Phuket
The Wide Condotel : Phuket
#9 of 9 in Talat Nuea
107 reviews
0.3 mi away
Blu Monkey Hub and Hotel Phuket
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sleep Sheep Phuket Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sleep Sheep Phuket Hostel

Address: 243, 245 Talang Rd | T. Talad-Yai, Muang, Phuket Town, Phuket 83000, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Phuket Town
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #128 of 236 Speciality Lodging in Phuket Town
Price Range: £10 - £19 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Sleep Sheep Phuket Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sleep Sheep Phuket hostel is the first hostel on Thalang - Montri Rd. -- Phuket old town area. Sleep Sheep offer a comy and clean room to satisfied your day and night with the full relax. We serve all guests like you are our close friend. So, we very hope that you will happy to stay with "Sleep Sheep Phuket Hostel" ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Ebookers so you can book your Sleep Sheep Phuket Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sleep Sheep Phuket Hostel Phuket Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing