We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you are going to stay in Phuket Town...”
Review of Chinotel Phuket

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Chinotel Phuket
Ranked #13 of 93 Hotels in Phuket Town
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 July 2013

Stay here. This budget hotel is more boutique than not. We only stayed for a night, and were happy with our experience. Its clean and the rooms are comfortable. As others have mentioned, it is noisy at night due to its proximity (right next door) to the market. The location is a little off the beaten path if you are island hoping BUT this turned out to be a nice change of pace from other beach town centers, because you can avoid overly tourist areas and take a step back to enjoy the bubbling, foodie in particular, culture of Phuket Town.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laura D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (193)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

78 - 84 of 193 reviews

Reviewed 17 July 2013 via mobile

Great location next to the market and also the fresh food market. So close to local buses to beaches and piers. Rooms are so clean and showers really strong. Staff really helpful and can borrow bikes directly from hotel which is great to see the viewpoints around town.
'Chino gallery and cafe' is great for a cold drink and 'Natural' restaurant is great for dinner. The next door cafe does great shrimp paste to buy.
Highly recommend for a hotel in Phuket, hire a bike and see what the town has on offer which is a lot more than people think!


  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank clarelv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2013

Stayed at the Chinotel in rainy season. Don't book beforehand in low season as the room rate becomes very cheap.
The rooms are load at night as in such a central area.
Next to day market where the buses leave from to the beaches and other areas of Phuket.
If you come in by boat from Phi Phi or Lanta the minivan (100THB each) or taxi (300THB)
The hotel is 5ish minutes from the part of old Phuket town that is being renovated.

Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
5  Thank Tessa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2013

I recommend this hotel for those who appreciate comfort, however there is a bit of noise at night .. the staff very welcoming and will help you to choose good restaurant in Phuket
you get access to many activities bar and beach right next

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Erwan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2013

Stayed here for one night en route to Phi Phi as our flight into Phuket arrived very late.
This was the pefect place for our stopover: - our room was a good size, immaculately presented, complimentary toiletries and bottled water all for an amazing amazing price.
THis place cannot beaten., if you are looking for a budget place to stay whilst in Phuket Town Stay here !

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rosie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2013

I stayed at the Chinotel for two nights and it was a pleasant stay. I booked online and unfortunately booked a double bed room. It was no problem to upgrade to a twin bed room once I got the hotel. The receptionist was really nice and her english was quite good (she was the only one though who spoke english and wasn't there 24/7). The room we had was quite far away from the wifi router and therefore we had to sit in the hallway if we wanted to go online.

The room was really clean and nicely decorated. The bathroom is spacious enough and clean as well.

The breakfast was probably the worst experience of my trip. You get a coupon for a little Thai restaurant next door and the only thing they offer is rice with toppings. The rice is full garlic and therefor not my kind of breakfast. The good thing is though that there is a seven eleven just around the corner.

The location is not the best in my opinion. It's right in Phuket Town and unfortunately there is not much to do there. If you want to party, you should probably stay at Patong and if you want a nice beach you should probably stay somewhere else as well. We booked the room because we wanted to explore Phuket and then go to the islands so therefore it was pretty close to the pier.

They have a bus station right outside and we paid 30 baht to go to Patong beach.

They also offer all kinds of trips and transfer services to different islands, the airport or for example Phang Nga Bay.

If I have a "stopover" in Phuket again I would probably stay there again. It was worth more than what I paid and therefore I was really happy. I would recommend the hotel if you really want to stay in Phuket Town!

Summary:

+ clean
+ friendly staff
+ bus station/seven eleven just around the corner

- location
- breakfast

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank FrederikU_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2013

very nice modern central city hotel. lovely clean new bathroom and very clean everywhere.

unfortunately your pleasant experience will be ruined if you have the miss fortune off meeting the young female receptionist. i can only presume she is a relative of the owners as she wouldnt last ten minutes in any other work place.i asked for her name so i could complain and she said 'female'?,she was rude and incompetent.

Room Tip: pay up front for anything in thailand, this will help with your travells... trust me.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank andy n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Phuket Town hotels
0.5 mi away
The Tint At Phuket Town
The Tint At Phuket Town
#4 of 93 in Phuket Town
403 reviews
0.6 mi away
Meroom
Meroom
#3 of 9 in Talat Yai
136 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Memory at On On Hotel
The Memory at On On Hotel
#1 of 93 in Phuket Town
492 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Sino House Phuket Hotel and Apartment
1.3 mi away
B2 Phuket Boutique & Budget Hotel
0.5 mi away
Baan Suwantawe
Baan Suwantawe
#5 of 93 in Phuket Town
347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chinotel Phuket? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chinotel Phuket

Address: 133-135 Ranong Rd., Phuket Town, Phuket 83000, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Phuket Town
Amenities:
Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Phuket Town
Price Range: £13 - £19 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Chinotel Phuket 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Chinotel Phuket reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chinotel Phuket Phuket Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing